We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, stimulating walk with spectacular views of River and City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vysehrad National Cultural Monument

Vysehrad National Cultural Monument
V Pevnosti 159 / 5b, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
4202 4141 0348
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 277 Attractions in Prague
Type: Historic Sites, Lookouts, Cultural
Attraction details
Leeds, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A relaxing, stimulating walk with spectacular views of River and City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We got off Metro at Vysehrad, walked 10 mins towards the river and this brings you out on top of the old fort battlements with cliffs that drop to the river below, a camera is a must for great view photos. Then visit the old church and the cemetery for interest and atmosphere. Exit the park and there are a couple of nice cafe bars as you enter the sloping street. Then walk a few blocks downhill to the river where you can walk back to the old town along the river banks, popping onto one of the islands along the way. You will also go right past the Fred and Ginger building. The walk back takes about an hour. Just lovely.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    276
    47
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“well worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Well worth going. Slightly off the center of town but just hop on the #3 tram. Church is great and has great bells.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved Vysehrad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We heard about Vysehrad on our tour of the Town Hall. Vyšehrad is a historical fort located in the city of Prague only 15 minutes away from the town centre via the Metro. It was probably built in the 10th century, on a hill over the Vltava River. Situated within the castle is the Basilica of St Peter and St Paul, as well as the Vyšehrad Cemetery, containing the remains of many famous people from Czech history. It also contains Prague's oldest surviving building, the Rotunda of St Martin from the 11th century. It was the site of the first Prague Castle. Local legend holds that Vyšehrad was the location of the first settlement which later became Prague.

We loved the church and thought it had the most beautiful interior we had seen and that's saying something considering Prague is full of beautiful churches. The grounds are so peaceful and the views over the river just lovely. When we visited everything was covered in snow but I bet the gardens and grounds are even more beautiful in summer. It's well worth a trip to.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice stroll around the city wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had no expectations when visiting Vysehrad. We know nothing about it. It was a nice way to spend 2-3 hours, walking around the city wall, looking and the church and cemetary and other monuments. Also the view of the Vltava is great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome view and amazing cemetary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A bit out of the way but well worth it.
Very old part of Prague with an amazing cemetary.
Very small fee and awesome park area.
Used to be a castle.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vysehrad National Cultural Monument also viewed

 

Been to Vysehrad National Cultural Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vysehrad National Cultural Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.