We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mala Strana attraction.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Our Lady Victorious - Holy Child of Prague

Church of Our Lady Victorious - Holy Child of Prague
Praha 1, Karmelitska 9 | Malá Strana, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
257 53 36 46
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 277 Attractions in Prague
Type: Religious Sites, Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Mala Strana attraction.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's not the main attraction in Mala Strana, but if you will be close to the church-go inside. They have a wax-covered wooden figure of a infant Jesus, which they believe have miraculous power.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    72
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The baby Jesus statues are sold here - at a premium - but the inside is quite gorgeous. Infant Jesus is on the right side as you enter and when we came, they had just started mass. No pictures are allowed but I did manage to snap some with my iphone. It is beautiful church and quite lovely.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Small church but with ornate altars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It may seem small outside compared to other well known churches in Europe, but the many altas inside all looked ornate. It is special because it is here that the miraculous Infant of Prague is enshrined. There is a museum upstairs that showcase all the gowns that the Holy Infant has recieved from all over the world and that He's dressed up with on differerent occasions. Be sure to visit the museum.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Where the famous Infant Jesus of Prague is located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is an average size Church but it's well known as a pilgrimage site due to the miraculous Infant Jesus of Prague. Location is accessible. WIll recommend this place to fellow catholic devotees like us and everyone else. THey have souvenir shops and the pastors and staff were very accomodating and friendly

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bit of a strange one...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Have visited many churches before in various countries but this one was a bit strange. There was a service going on while tourists walked in and out and took photos etc - made me feel a bit odd. The Infant Jesus is worth a look and the monks around the back will keep you talking for hours. Definitely worth a visit but a bit strange and eerie...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Lady Victorious - Holy Child of Prague also viewed

 

Been to Church of Our Lady Victorious - Holy Child of Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of Our Lady Victorious - Holy Child of Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.