We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful when you take funicular back down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petrin Hill

Petrin Hill
Ujezd St, Prague, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$42*
and up
Small-Group Guided Prague Electric Bike Tour
Ranked #38 of 1,345 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be careful when you take funicular back down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We bought tickets to go up the hill. They were validated for 30 min only. We never watched time so nobody did tell us that to go back down you need to buy another tickets.when we got down in funicular there were security guys checking tickets. They told us we have to pay fine which was just ridiculous:800 crowns for each person and note that ticket itself costs 24 crowns. We were just pissed off. Why nobody checks tickets then when you enter funicular up there? There were other tourists like us being fined as well. So guess we are not the only one caught.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    601
    143
    26
    17
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
212 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Eiffel Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Amazing location, the best views of Prague are experienced on the top of Petrín tower. The park itself is also very beautiful, and going up the funicular you can sight the city above the trees - marvellous sights...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice place. The views from the top of the tower are amazing, Prague city with the river and the bridges. On the other side, the castle with the old town.. The gardens around are nice and well maintained, segway is a great way to explore the place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We rode the funicular up the hill to the Petrin Lookout Tower. The view from the top was the best in Prague. The park below was abloom with tulips and breathtaking in its beauty. What a treat for the senses!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Walk and Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Started the day with a communist memorial dedicated to victims, walked up the hill to a great beer and nice view, reached the tower and again gorgeous views and went to a Monastery for food and drinks. Loved Petrin Hill!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrin Hill also viewed

 

Been to Petrin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petrin Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.