We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, versatile gallery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery in Prague

National Gallery in Prague
Staromestske Namesti 12, Prague 110 15, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)
+420 220 514 634
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 1,345 things to do in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great, versatile gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Visited in March 2013, spent over 4 hours in the galleries alone and that was me looking quickly! Really great range of art and pieces on show. Interesting layout and displays. Like the design of the gallery and how the exhibitions flow. Had to pay to enter but it was value for money because there was so much to see. Small shop selling books. Would come back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting but Boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We found the artwork interesting and are glad we went but found the whole experience a bit boring. The building itself while modern feels uninspired. Maybe because it was a Wednesday but the place was empty. We were one of maybe 5 families there. The staff was not helpful and had these solemn looks on their faces almost like they were working in a morgue instead of an art gallery. A few did point us to important works of art which we appreciated but other than that it wasn't memorable. No museum cafe which I found appropriate given our overall experience. If you have time and are an art lover go otherwise skip it, not worth the time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“National Gallery - Almost missed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

You can spend almost a whole day here - opens at 10:00am - No cafe inside, but you can break away to a wonderfull little cafe opposite that does a lovely apple studdel. Refreshed

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
167 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mucha's Slavic Epic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This museum houses the enormous Slavic Epic paintings by Alfonso Mucha and will be here for
a year before they move it elsewhere. Although he was well known for his Art Nouvveau illustrations, most are not aware of his gift of 22 paintings to the city of Prague which depicts its
dark history. The paintings are amazing with incredible detail and shades of color. He painted one or two each year before they were all completed. We were happy we found out about them via our visit to the Mucha Museum the day before. There is a video that deals mostly with the conflict surrounding his gift, where to display the art and ongoing dealings with family members rather than the life of Mucha and his accomplishments. That part was a disappointment and went on far too long for a video. The video at the other museum was much more interesting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A total surprise, deserves more recognition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Its an 8-10 minute tram ride from old town but completely worth a visit. The museum is large and filled with modern art treasures from Slavic artists to Picasso and Monet. Was not expecting to see this. Only allotted an hour and a half when I went but you could easily spend a few hours here.

The concierges at the hotels dont give this attraction high priority but definitely go....
The fee is not expensive...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery in Prague also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery in Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery in Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.