We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House at the Big Boot

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House at the Big Boot
Save
You added House at the Big Boot to your Saves list
Vlasska 333/30, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 353 Prague B&B and Inns
Schweinfurt, Germany
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I along with our 2 little girls stayed here for two nights the end of Dec and it was great. The people who run the place were all so nice and helpful. Breakfast was always yummy, room was comfortable (there was no tv but we didn't need one anyway) =) Shower was good and I loved the fact that the building was so old but restored nicely. It was a perfect location!!! It was a safe location, same area as some Embassy's and we were able to walk to everything! I would stay there again for sure! =)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    17
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
103
187
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful little guest house. We stayed over Christmas and were touched by the hospitality of Jakub and his extended family. The guesthouse was very well located close to Charles Bridge and Prague Castle. We had a great room with a wonderful rain shower. They served great breakfast and wi-fi was free. Definitely the place to stay!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our neighbors recommended that we stay at House at the Big Boot because they were so in love with the hospitality of its owners and staff. They were right! This place has been our favorite guest house, and if we visit Prague again, we won't stay anywhere else. The location of the House at the Big Boot is within easy walking distance to all the must-sees and the owners and staff there will be sure that you are taken care of, whether it's tickets to a show or dinner reservations. Really, we could not have asked for a better stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boylston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just got back from an incredible 3 day stay here. One of my high school pals and I had done a "mom" vacation and had taken a river cruise and finished with 3 days here. We arrived early on a Mon. morning and were met with coffee and cake while waiting for our room to be ready. It wasn't even 11 am before we were in. Our room looked out the front with a view of the street and the German embassy. It was quiet and not alot of street noise. The room was decorated in lovely antiques and had a large armoire and large chest of drawers. The windows were able to be opened and we could see the tower that looked like the Eiffel tower from our room. We were able to walk all over, especially to the castle and across the Charles bridge. This BnB is in a very safe neighborhood. we were out most nights till around 11. After 11 you will need your key to get in the main door. Breakfast each morning was a treat. Eggs were made to order as well as homemade jam. There was plenty enough to eat. On our last morning, Tomas, one of the son's of the owner, took us to the airport at 5:15 am. This was marvelous. They charge for this but the convenience of not having to rely on a taxi at that hour was great. It was a great way to end our vacation

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in December for four nights and would highly recommend staying here. A family run B&B in a beautiful location in Prague, we loved the quiet location but yet were still a short walk from the heart of the city. The B&B is in a beautiful old family house, the rooms are welcoming and beautifully furnished with antique furniture and lovely art work.
What made it a really great place to stay was the friendly and very helpful family who run the B&B. We were picked up from the airport and welcomed when we arrived Jakub gave us a very helpful overview of what to do in Prague during our stay. His recommendations on restaurants were excellent. Throughout our stay Jakub and his family were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome.
We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to come back, we would definitely recommend staying here to any friends or family coming to Prague.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This family hotel deserves more than we can give it. Yes, of course: the bathrooms are spotless, the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and impeccably maintained. Yes it is charming and in a quiet location central to everything you have on your itinerary. Yes they pamper you during breakfast and will feed you more than you can want if you let them.

But I've never stayed at hotel with a staff (in this case family) that shows so much love for serving their guests. Here's our brief narrative: Jan picked us up in the late hours of the night, lovingly recounting the history of Prague (which I lovingly listened to), gave us a free upgrade when we arrived, and took every opportunity to chat with us during our stay. Where he left off, his family picked up. We loved chatting with both of his sons. Our ride to the airport with his older son included one of my favorite conversations of our three week trip.

A few notes from our stay on the first floor: it was quiet and clean--to alleviate any awkwardness, the room had three consecutive doors to the lobby: a large ancient wooden one connected to a modern locked door, a foyer, and another door. The two large windows had a set of blinds and set of drapes. In short, we never lacked privacy.

Another brief anecdote: I reread reviews after our trip and started to feel jealous. Most of the other guests shared the same experience as we did. Others shared our best stay in Europe with Jan's family which only further confirms how wonderful this family hotel is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this wonderful B&B in Prague. Location couldn't get any better - on a quiet residential street within walking distance of all the sights in the city. Rooms were extremely clean, quiet and very comfortable, one of the best rooms I've ever stayed at in a large European city. Breakfast was lovely and delicious, especially when prepared by the friendly owner Jan's lovely granddaughter! We will certainly stay again at the charming and romantic Big Boot! Thank you to Jan and his family for a great first impression of Prague!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the German Embassy have a lovely view, bathrooms are modern and all rooms are large in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Pod Vezi
Pod Vezi
#3 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House at the Big Boot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House at the Big Boot

Address: Vlasska 333/30, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
House At The Big Boot (Dum u Velke Boty) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House at the Big Boot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.