We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Design Hotel Neruda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Design Hotel Neruda to your Saves list
Design Hotel Neruda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surprise upon arrival
Ranked #220 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very good hotel at the good adress right in the heart of the beautiful city of Prague. Walk to the historical Charles bridge or prague castle, takes only a few minutes. Friendly and kind stuff. highly recomended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review and recommending our hotel. Also as mentioning our spectacular location and friendly staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at hotel Neruda.

Best Regards

Helena Bubnikova
GM
Hotel Neruda Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    173
    79
    27
    22
See reviews for
39
272
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boras, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in August in a superior room with glassed space for bath and sink. Room was big and felt even bigger due to the glass walls. Service was outstanding. Breakfast was not too bad.

The days we stayed it was very hot outside and the AC was not working perfectly so it got kinda hot inside but otherwise everything was good. Private time in sauna and jacuzzi, free wifi, good service, beautiful room, good neighborhood.

15min walk to Old town, 1 minute to the Prague Castle, Observatorium just a few minutes away and so was another castle.

A big shopping center where the locals go not to far away and much much cheaper if your into shopping. When we go back we will most likely stay in the same area and probably in the same hotel.

I did not see any children in this hotel so maybe this is not so much for families?!

Room Tip: Superior rooms, 001 for ex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Janne P,
Thank you very much for taking time to write such a great feedback as this one. We really appreciate everything you wrote down. We are also very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Prague. Our superior rooms have special design and we are pleased you appreciated it. About your family point we have to tell that this hotel is not very adapted for children but sometimes even families with children stay at our hotel. Children are always welcome.

We wish you all the best from Prague and we look forward to see you again.
With kind regards

Helena Bubnikova
GM
Hotel NERUDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I picked this hotel based on the reviews I read on Tripadvisor, and I am happy to say that it didn't disappoint! From the time I made my booking to when we got there, my experience was outstanding. I communicated with staff via Skype messaging, they arranged for a taxi pick up for us, so we felt safe and secure and didnt have to scramble to kronas when we arrived. The best things about this hotel are the location and value for the money. The castle was right behind us, and every major attraction was walking distance. The room and amenities were good and more than adequate - appropriate for the price of room and perfect for travellers who are looking for a budget friendly accommodations - but expect more than the average. The staff at reception was very helpful and friendly. There are no bellboys so dont expect someone to help with your luggage (although the receptionist was very quick and willing to offer her assistance!)

I do want to make a note that if you're walking back from old town/charles bridge, you have to walk uphill so keep this in mind and save some strength! Better yet, stop for a treat and enjoy the traditional baked donut rotisserie style (trdelink) on the way up (or down) - dont worry about the calories - you will walk it off!

I would defintiely stay at this hotel again when I get the chance to travel back to Prague.

The only negative worth mentioniong about this hotel from my perspective was the room lock - you have use a key to lock the door when leaving, and when inside your room. The key was hard to turn almost every time have to try more than once to lock the door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking time to write such a great review mentioning all the great things you have enjoyed about Hotel Neruda. We really appreciate your feedback and i am delighted to hear of your positive experience with us.
I am pleased to hear our staff was helpful and you have enjoyed your room. Some people might not be pleased with our big hill but it is a part of the experience of visiting Prague.
We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Neruda!
Best wishes

Helena Bubníková
General Manager
N Hotels Group

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The occasion for our trip to Prague was a romantic vacation. Already before having decided for a hotel close to the historic center, we had received excellent assistance by the friendly front desk ladies of Hotel Neruda. During our stay, my girlfriend and I enjoyed nicely designed superior rooms as well as excellent service. Summarized, I recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to go for a romantic stay to Prague. Excellent in all categories.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are nicely designed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

I would like to thank you for writing this amazing feedback. I am very glad you liked our design of superior rooms and thank you for mentioning our service. It is very nice of you. I am very happy you and your girlfriend have enjoyed your romantic vacation in Prague and have enjoyed your stay at our hotel Neruda.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in hotel Neruda!

Best regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager
N Hotels Group

Hotel NOIR
Legerova 35
120 00 Praha 2
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

What is seen on the website for this hotel and what is seen on the ground are vastly different. The best thing going for this hotel is the professional competence and friendliness of the front desk staff. We stayed here twice within two weeks, one room in the old part of the hotel and one room in the new. Both rooms were ultra-small and the so-called air conditioning was a joke. Our "new" room had a trendy, but totally dysfunctional bathroom. We had a very deep bath tub with no non-slip mat for the inside, a hand held shower head but no shower curtain. For elderly people like us, it was an accident waiting to happen. The location of the hotel was OK if you were young and in good physical shape. The walk from the nearest public transportation stop to the hotel was totally up a steep hill and not for the faint of heart!. The area around the hotel was charming, with lots of interesting shops and restaurants. While I would give this hotel a qualified recommendation to members of the younger generation, I would not recommend for seniors.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neruda1, General Manager at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to write a review about hotel Neruda. I am really sorry you were not satisfied with your rooms on your double stay. We are a design hotel and some of our rooms have a special design. Sometimes some might find particular rooms not as practical as standard hotels may have, however many senior customers have stayed and we do try to help our clients as much as we can and offer them the best comfort we can. I am truly sorry your stay was not comfortable as you would have wished for. Hopefully next time we can provide you with more suitable room. Thank you for mentioning our positive staff.

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back in hotel Neruda.

Kind Regards

Helena Bubníková
General Manager
N Hotels Group

Hotel Neruda
Nerudova 44
118 00 Praha 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

On arrival we was greeted at the desk by a very friendly helpful young lady who spoke excellent English, she told us because we were stopping for 9 night's we had been upgraded, all I can say is I wouldn't want 2 see the room we had been upgraded from, our room looked un finished with plastered wall's not painted, concrete floor not carpeted, a large piece of wood leaning against the wall with no apparent use ? The bath was lovely but not practical, the taps on the sink was loose, the window in the room was tiny and looked into the room opposite , the breakfast at best was average, Prague is a beautiful city with many wonderful places to eat, but on the one occasion we decided to eat in the hotel we was shocked to be told the restaurant was shut, it was only 8.20 pm, on the plus side the hotel has many hard working polite and friendly staff, nicole, tanja and michaela to name 3 who made our stay a memorable one

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in the historic center of Prague, and I thank you for your feedback.
Sorry that hotel has not meet your expectations. We are new management company and invest a lot for the hotel. We have new luxury pillows, new sheets and towels, new flat screen TV in all rooms ... and we will continue in this effort. We try our best to satisfy all our customers.
We are always looking forward welcoming you back!
Best Regards

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My review lies somewhere between average and good. The beds were fine. The pillows are HUGE and very full. For us, that was not comfortable. Two regular size pillows would have worked better. We are not pillow snobs by any means, but these just didn't work for us.
It was warm there, and we were supposed to have air conditioning. It wasn't working, I guess. The room was humid. In all fairness to the hotel, we did not complain so they had no way of fixing it. we also had a shower drain that was filling up with water, but again we did not say anything.
The TV was old and we did not get good reception, but that really wasn't that big of an issue as we only wanted a bit of news. It would have been nice to get WiFi in our rooms, which they said we could with a cable, but again, we didn't bother. Their lobby is miniscule so one felt a little dumb sitting down there with an Iphone.
but again, that isn't huge. The view out of the window was lovely as you looked out on the street, and it wasn't noisy, for the most part, because we were so far up the hill close to the castle. that being said, I am not sure I would return, because getting up the steep hill every day was a bit of a trek.
I thought the breakfast was very nice. They had a huge variety of things. The usual meats, cheeses, breads etc. and then red cabbage slaw and macaroni and sausages and neat Czech items. I did really enjoy the breakfast. The area isn't that big, but we were generally down earlier than most, so we didn't have any problems with finding a seat.
The front desk was very nice and helpful. This hotel is non smoking, I believe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSmelhaus, Generální ředitel at Design Hotel Neruda, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Design Hotel Neruda for your recent stay in Prague
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in Hotel Neruda.
Kind Regards,

Dipl. Ing. Petr Smelhaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda)
Hradcany & Letna
Residence Green Lobster
Residence Green Lobster
#149 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
#65 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#80 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#35 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Neruda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Neruda

Address: Nerudova 225/44 | Lesser Town, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Prague
#68 Business Hotel in Prague
#164 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#230 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Neruda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design Hotel Neruda Prague - Hotel next to Prague CastleThe luxurious Prague Design Hotel Neruda settled in a 14th-century building is located in the Nerudova street in the Lesser Town (Malá Strana) next to Prague Castle and near by Charles bridge which are one of the most popular tourist attractions which you must see when you visit Prague. Once it used to be a part of the King’s Road leading from the Powder Tower up to the Prague Castle. The hotel features a modern Baroque interior designed by Bořek Šípek and a spa area with jacuzzi and sauna.The stylish rooms in the Design Hotel Neruda have warm-colored walls and designed carpeted floors. Some rooms have high-quality parquet flooring, oriental carpets and bathrooms with standalone bathtubs, painted tiles on the floor and glass walls.Other rooms have thoughtful touches, such as extracts of Jan Neruda’s most famous poems written on the walls. Every room is equipped with satellite TV, air conditioning, minibars and safety deposit boxes. All rooms have Free Wi-FiThe Design Neruda restaurant, located in the hotel’s atrium, serves a combination of international and Czech cuisine under glass ceiling. There is a summer terrace and a smoking room.As there is a lot of thing what to do in Prague our 24-hour reception staff is pleased to help you with anything – tell you and show you on the map which places you should visit, ensure a transport for you, book a tour, a recommend you the best Prague restaurants, give advice how to spend your nightlife atc.If you are looking for where to stay in Prague during your holidays Design Hotel Neruda is a perfect place for city breaks as well as for romantic stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Design Hotel Neruda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neruda Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Hotel Neruda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.