We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pension 44

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension 44
Save
You added Pension 44 to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rimska 44 | Praha 2 Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Vinohrady & Vrsovice)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #545 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very basic but good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

My partner & I stayed at Pension 44 for about 5 nights in March 2009. The hotel is very basic, but you get what you pay for. We had nothing to complain about as it is what you need if your out touring all day and need somewhere to sleep and shower which suited us perfectly. Its in a great location can quite easily walk into Wenceslas Square and about a 5 min walk to trams and trains (but in all honesty Prague is easy enough to walk around). The front reception staff were more than friendly showing us maps on daytrips outside of Prague overall it was good enough for our needs. One reccomendation is to pack your own towel if you can as the bath mats are bigger than the towels they supply (which are about the size of a teatowel-not being sarcastic)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Very basic accommodation, warm room, generous size, NO Tv set in the room (although it’s said it’s available by request), room not very nice decorated, extremely clean and quiet.
Very friendly reception staff. The pillows are very thin, you need to ask for more if you sleep on your side .
Breakfast very poor, I won't recommend including breakfast in your booking, it’s just not worth it. Try restaurants near by.
Very convenient location, 4 min walking to underground station Namesti Miru from where you can go anywhere in Prague by public transportation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

This place is very close to the metro and tram station. The metro station is 'Namesti Miru' (5 minutes walk from this place). The tram stop is just opposite to the metro station and in front of Ludmila church. We stayed here for two nights in a Category B double room and we were happy with the amenities provided. The room was big, clean and well lit. Though the view from window was not the kind one will experience staying at Praha 1 but you you dont go to Praha to confide yourself in a room. This place is getting a makeover. Staff were kind and always helpful. Breakfast was included in the price in a restaturant around the corner which included milk,coffee, tea, breads, jam, cheese, slices of cold ham/salami and eggs. Not bad for a morning diet. There are quite a few bars/pubs around this place. You may try Sahara Cafe. So overall a decent bargain.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

Good location, with lots of bars nearby, though very quiet.
The building is rather communist but the rooms are ok, very big with comfortable beds. Bathroom is ok, but not very clean.
Towels were dirty, but we had our own.
If you are a clean-freak maybe you shouldn't come.

There is no parking place but the staff will show you a cheap parking some 20mins walking distance by foot. A bit scary looking, but had no problems whatsoever. 5E/day.

Generally, perfect for short stays for backpackers, and not only.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Some cleanlines problems, but not too scary. No parking space
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

I'd give it a 7/10 - above average: very clean/new bathroom, clean bed, not very new rooms but very spacious with huge windows. The pension is about 15-20 mins walk to the centre of old town (but you can EASILY catch a tram). Value for money!

  • Liked — The bathroom - so clean and new!
  • Disliked — The location - which wasn't THAT bad!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

What Pension 44 lacks in amenities (who knew shower curtains were a privilege, not a right?) it makes up for in reliable service, friendly receptionists and cleanliness. I actually stayed at this pension on two separate occasions and enjoyed myself both times. The rooms are spacious, yet minimal - perfect for the young traveler looking for privacy and a modicum of comfort without the unnecessary frills and distractions (e.g. TVs) of more expensive hotels. Also, when looking at a map keep in mind that the pension is a block away from a subway stop and, therefore, minutes away from Starometska and other huge tourist destinations. Bottom line: I would stay here again if I went back to Prague.

  • Liked — Simple, Comfortable
  • Disliked — Old lift
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

I stayed there for four days in May 2008. The deal was very good for Prague, it included breakfast and it is located very conveniently, so if you want to save money it is basically ok.

The rooms are reasonably clean (at least where it matters, bed and bathroom) and quite large, but very run down, the curtains were not really white anymore. In contrast to some of the information you might find online, there is no internet access.

You should bring your own towel. The provided towel is small and very worn out and not pleasant at all.

Breakfast is in a cellar pub around the corner, it is OK and includes all basic things, but is not exactly a buffet, which on the other hand is to be expected for the price.

Things I found annoying were (1) the staff being extremely unfriendly, I had to wait five minutes at arrival until they even bothered to look up, though they clearly didn't have anything important to do. (2) my room facing to the east and having no light-blocking curtains, so sun on my bed from 6 am, and (3) the noise level on the street being very high from around 7 am, so I couldn't basically sleep any longer than that.

If you are out to save money, it is a good choice, it's reasonably clean and includes breakfast. But if you are looking for some comfort (or sleep in the morning) I would advise you to cough up some more money, or move a little bit further away from the city centre.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Impossibility to sleep in the morning
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#67 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#88 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
ApartHotel Susa
ApartHotel Susa
#161 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Apart-Karee Residence
Apart-Karee Residence
#565 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#138 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
EA Hotel Tosca
EA Hotel Tosca
#193 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension 44

Address: Rimska 44 | Praha 2 Vinohrady, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #545 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pension 44 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
44 Hotel Prague
Pension 44 Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension 44, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.