We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay in the 4-bed mixed dorm” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arpacay Backpackers Hostel Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arpacay Backpackers Hostel Prague to your Saves list
Arpacay Backpackers Hostel Prague
Nerudova 40, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
dorm beds from 13 €
Ranked #74 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Do not stay in the 4-bed mixed dorm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Booked the 4-bed mixed dorm thinking it would be quieter than the larger dorms. Unfortunately this dorm (at least the attic version) is just a step ladder up from another 10-12 bed mixed dorm. This ends up being quite a busy dorm sharing a single bathroom and quite noisy.

The location is reasonable with a few good restaurants nearby. Old town is about a 15-20 min walk.

If you do decide to stay here I suggest avoiding the attic room!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    64
    20
    10
    10
See reviews for
3
11
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I loved this hostel. The rooms and beds are very big, the bedding is comfortable, and the lockers are very secure. The kitchen and breakfast was great and everything was incredibly clean. My only complaint is one of the girls at the desk, she was not helpful at all... but I gather she was doing a 24 hour shift so I don't blame her.

Room Tip: Pretty sure all the rooms are awesome, I enjoyed my all-female dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very clean and well fitted, stylish and spacious. This hostel appears to attract a quieter more mature traveller than some of the more lively hostels in Old Town. so more likely to get a quiet night. Love the single sex rooms and not all the beds are bunks.

Room Tip: Smaller dons are nicer. Some face the castle, although the street is really quiet at night. Note it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great hostel in a good location. Staff were pleasant and answered any questions we had.
Situated up a hill, I'm not the fittest of folk but didnt find it a problem, Prague can be hilly! It's near the castle, lots if cheap eateries, mini markets, trams etc. Doesn't take long to walk to the city centre either.
Wifi is great and there are free computers to use and a decent book exchange. There's a big tv and DVDs to watch.
Breakfast is about €3 for tea/coffee, cereal, bread, cold meat and cheese. The kitchen can be used all day except 6am-12 as they are serving breakfast. Found it a bit of a let down that we couldn't even get a bit if hot water in the morning as we had our own tea bags and milk. Lady working in the kitchen wasn't too friendly.
Dorm rooms were very spacious, plenty of plugs and each bed has a reading light.
Only other small problem is that the lights are on a timer and you often find yourself halfway up/down the stairs plunged in darkness.
All in all a pleasant stay, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hostel had a great feel to it with it's very large, airy rooms. Situated brilliantly up the lovely Nerudova Street, the hostel provided all we wanted for great value. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were clean, the breakfast was cheap and we could take as much from the buffet as we wanted (say, enough for lunch too...). We stayed in on of the large dorms on the 3rd floor and met some great people. Staying in a room with lots of people, you are bound to get some rowdy people returning late but you can't help that. My only complaint would be that the toilet wasn't the best at flushing but there were other toilets up the hall to use instead. Another point which can't be helped is that the hostel is quite the way up a hill- not the nicest for heavy backpack bearers! Regarding the hostel though, I would definitely stay there again- quite impressed!

Room Tip: Lowest floor got a lot of traffic to the bathrooms from common room users
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best hostel we have stopped in whilst travelling. We was meant to be in little town hostel but got moved, so we went mad at them. We was then expecting it to be bad, due to the borrow of our hostel in Amsterdam (amigos). However, when we got there, it was a really nice surprise. The only downside was the walk up the hill with our bags on! We didn't notice any noise on the first night (we was on floor 4), only a little bit the second night with people coming and going. The location is amazing. Not far from the Charles bridge, and there are nice cheap restaurants in the area! Cheapest we found beer for was about 96p! Overall it was a great hostel and we really enjoyed our time there, plus it has an amazing view from the window.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Arpacay had all the marks of a superior hostel. Free towels, friendly staff, good breakfasts (about £3), no bunk-beds and excellent wifi.

The only problem we had was that, despite the fact that we were in a private 4 man room (sharing good shower and toilet facilities), the doors seemed to be made of one sheet of plywood. We could hear the noisy (and drunken) conversations at 4am of the next door dorm. On top of that, the inward facing courtyard structure of the building exacerbated the problem.

The location was pretty good. The hostel was on the quieter bank of Prague, near the castle. It wasn't a long walk to the Charles Bridge.

Overall, I would recommend Arpacay but remember to pack ear plugs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#66 of 565 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hostel Santini Prague
Hostel Santini Prague
#50 of 565 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel & Hotel Little Quarter Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#34 of 565 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Hole
Art Hole
#48 of 565 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Praha 3
Hostel Lipa
Hostel Lipa
#17 of 565 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arpacay Backpackers Hostel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arpacay Backpackers Hostel Prague

Address: Nerudova 40, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque Nerudova street right below Prague Castle.Sleep in a unique historical building from the 16th century and enjoy an amazing view over the Lesser Town from your bedroom window. Start your day with our buffet-style breakfast or make your own home-cooked meal in our fully equipped self-catering kitchen during the day. Chill out in our cosy stylish lounge, have a cold beer on the courtyard balcony or just relax from the tourist crowds on our comfy couches in a common room where you will meet a lot of travellers at any time during the day or night. A charming restaurant Valoria is located in the same building as our hostel. You can enjoy some great food in their cellar restaurant, or on their fantastic rooftop garden with a panoramic view over the whole of Prague.At the hostel you can find also a large LCD TV with international channels and a DVD player with a wide range of DVDs. You will be able to make your next travel plans thanks to our Wi-Fi and 3 computers with free internet. Our reception desk is open 24 hours a day and we store your luggage any time you need.AccommodationThe hostel offers a variety of rooms from a deluxe private twin/triple room to large dormitories. All dorms are equipped with personal lockers and wooden beds with comfy mattresses and big pillows. 2 Small 4bed attic dorms offer the best view towards the Old Town and Prague Castle but be ready to climb 4 flights of stairs! 2 Female only dorms with wooden ceilings are specially designed for women-travellers. The dorms share 2 toilets and 2 showers equipped with a hair dryer. The bright and spacious 12bed dorm has a stunning view, an originally painted wooden ceiling, and is probably our nicest room in general.The large 16bed dorm with private bathroom is a great deal for travellers on a budget. At 56 square meters, it is large enough to be comfortable and the beds are situated in 3 distinct rooms that offer sufficient levels of privacy. LocationArpacay Backpackers Hostel is situated in one of the most picturesque streets of the city that leads up to Prague Castle (120 m), and is part of the so-called Royal Road. It is within walking distance of all the major attractions, such as the Old Town Square and the well-known Charles bridge (just a 10 minutes walk). In the Lesser Town you can also find the Kafka Museum, the John Lennon Wall, the baroque St. Nicolas Church and Church of Our Lady Victorious. You are just few steps from Petrin Hill, a wonderfully peaceful park with a 60 metres high Observation Tower offering a magnificent panorama of Prague. You will be surrounded by plenty of czech pubs, jazz clubs and Valoria restaurant is right underneath our hostel. The hostel is only a 15 minutes walk from the famous music club Karlovy Lazne. Mini-market is conveniently situated across the street and is open daily 6 a.M - 23 p.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Arpacay Backpackers Hostel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arpacay Backpackers Hostel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.