We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dizzy Daisy Hostel Praha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dizzy Daisy Hostel Praha to your Saves list
Dizzy Daisy Hostel Praha
Dittrichova 330/15 | Praha 2, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Rooseveltova Hostel) (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 566 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I've spent two days in Dizzy Daisy and it certainly was a good choice. It feels like home from the very first moment, fast check-in, friendly reception and good common area, where you can hang out with other backpackers.
There is a shop nearby and they have their own kitchen so you don't have to eat out and can spend more money in the evenings drinking beer :)

It's a pity it's only opened during the summer, but still it's very good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
13
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

It feels like this used to be a sanatorium from the 30's. A big building with a gigantic hallway, with doors to all the rooms, on each floor. Probably about 3,50 meters to the ceiling. I booked, through Hostel World.com, one single private with bathroom en suite, but the room has two beds, two cupboards, two bedside lockers, two closets and a table with two chairs, so I presume I actually am in a double. CZK 789 per night including some kind of tourist tax of CZK 15 (per person and night). It's very simple and very clean. Everything is in good shape, no busted furniture or blinds. No stained sheets and no carpets. It's so simple you don't even have bedside lamps, though there is an over head light, but it is a harsh florescent light. The sheets are properly washed and ironed and are placed in a small pile on each bed for you to make yourself. At checkout you're supposed to bring them with you down to the reception. You are also supposed to sort your own trash into bigger bins in the hallway. The hostel tries to be as environmentally friendly as possible and are not including towels in the rooms. Though for guests like me who did check before arriving for sheets to be included, but not towels, they have towels for sale for CZK 100. I got an orange one they though suited me. The pillows are the only thing I'm not happy with. They are huge pillows stuffed in a small pillowcase and it makes the pillow hard and thick as a log. You might like that. I don't.
The bathroom has toilet paper. That's it. But it's clean and everything is in good shape. No cracks, holes or any pipes sticking out where they shouldn't. The water gets warm quickly and the pressure is perfect. The water is drinkable in Prague, but it tastes a lot of chlorine so I would recommend you to buy some bottled water for drinking.
The room I got, No 21 on the fourth floor, is facing the street, right above the entrance. I was sleeping with the window opened a bit, but was woken by the traffic on the bigger road passing the end of this street, pretty early in the morning. So for that reason I'm glad I brought some ear plugs. The guests of this hostel are quiet and respectful, and I haven't been disturbed by any neighboring rooms or from the hallway, so far. It is a mix of twenty-something's from all five continents, and some a bit older southern European men in groups of two or three. For some reason it feels like there are more male guests here, or it might just be me being so curious of them. There's always a small crowd hanging out on the sidewalk outside the entrance, drinking beer and talking in a very orderly manner, which I thought was surprising. I thought young adults hanging out at hostels in Prague would be somewhat more annoying. Maybe this is the week when all the well behaved people take their vacation. There are good prized beer available in the reception.
The common room is as small as the room I'm staying in. It's attached to the kitchen, which is even smaller. It's for the guest's use and you're allowed to use it at any time. There are free coffee and tea available too. So far I've just been in the common room in the morning for use of the free WiFi, at that time there has been a few people preparing and eating their breakfasts. There are two computers available also, and you just have to wait for you turn to use it. Very simple and practical.
The reception is always attended, 24-7, by service minded and friendly people. They can help you with, I believe, anything. Even closing that single hook at the back of the dress. They are tentative and really know what they are doing. Everything is in order and they always buzz you into the staircase and elevator which leads to the rooms. You leave your key at the reception every time you leave the hostel, and even though this is a big hostel, the people at the reception seems to remember your room No almost all the time. Maybe I'm just that "odd looking woman in room No 21". I don't know.
I highly recommend this place. I think it's a really reasonable price, though I'm just starting to use hostels on my travels. For the amount I pay I feel safe and welcomed. It's clean and have everything I need, except for a bedside lamps and thinner pillows.

Room Tip: A room not facing the street might be less disturbed by traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The hostel was really easy to find and we could easily walk there from the train station. The service was good and the rooms were clean and spacious. We stayed in a 3 bed room. There was no air conditioning which I personally didnt mind but the two boys travelling with me struggled to sleep. There was a supermarket just round the corner and all the sights were within walking distance. The kitchen was very small and not practical for the amount of people staying in the hostel. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here, it was comfortable and cheap. I would recommend staying here completely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I Stayed at this hostel for 16 days in prague it was by far one of the cleanest and friendliest hostels i stayed in with a great kitchen area and large very clean 3 bed dorms the bathrooms are also excellent with great hot showers ...The hostel was cool with a great atmosphere promoted by the staff not much of a common room but theres nothing wrong with a few cold beers out the front .... Id reccomend this hostel to anyone that wants to have a great stay in prague and give a big congratulations to all the staff as my stay with you guys has been amazing ill be back for sure great work ....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed in a twin room on the top floor which was quiet and clean. The shower pressure and temperature was good, and the beds were reasonably comfortable, but narrower than a normal single bed - it was a bit like sleeping on a couch. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who is larger or just likes a lot of space when they sleep. (However the dorm beds may be completely different.)

The hostel didn't have wifi in the bedrooms, just in the common lounge space. The lounge and kitchen were both very small given the size of the hostel. The kitchen, also, was unpleasant - as far as I can tell they just left it to guests to clean up after themselves most of the time. It's a backpacker hostel and as you can imagine not everyone is going to do that. The surfaces were grimy, dirty dishes were strewn around, the fridge had old food in it, etc. Also, we were planning to have our cereal in there and discovered that there was a total of two bowls for a five-storey hostel.

The pamphlet also says the hostel has laundry facilities but apparently that was an error and it actually doesn't. Prague doesn't have many laundromats but there is one that's walking distance away - ask the staff.

Despite all these complaints, the staff were very friendly, and we were basically happy with our room. It's in a nice, low-key area about 20 minutes' walk from the Old Town Square, right by the river and close to the metro.

Oh and one more thing - don't go to the restaurant across the street from the hostel. For some reason they recommend it on the info sheet they give you, but we thought it was distinctly average and there are several better ones nearby!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The staff were incredibly helpful and had plenty of useful tips and advice for us. The hostel is in the centre but in very quiet district and the surrounding is not crowded. Rooms are cosy and spacious.
We had a great time there. Thank you :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The place is close to Karlovo Namesti, which is really close to the center, with walking distance to the Old Town Square and Charles Bridge. the rooms are spacious and clean, and the bathrooms quite nice also. The staff is very friendly and helpful and even includes a 24 hours reception. There is free wifi in the lobby, and a common area with kitchen where you can cook your meal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merlin
Hotel Merlin
#428 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#57 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Arpacay Backpackers Hostel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hostel Centre Prague
Hostel Centre Prague
#183 of 566 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#34 of 566 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hostel Downtown
Hostel Downtown
#12 of 566 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dizzy Daisy Hostel Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dizzy Daisy Hostel Praha

Address: Dittrichova 330/15 | Praha 2, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Rooseveltova Hostel)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 566 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpacking trought Europe or just visiting Prague for the weekend? Either way we’re perfect for you! Easily reachable from both railway station and the airport, Dizzy Daisy Hostel is perfectly located inside the city center. Single rooms, twins and triples as well as small dorms make it a great choice both for the party animals and those who need their sleep. Guest kitchen, common room right by reception, Internet access that is free of charge, travel desk and the reception round-the-clock…we simply have it all! Our young yet experienced staff really know their city. Go ahead, ask them. Whether you look for the fancy wining & dining experience or the best club in town they know it. And they happen to really enjoy their work so there's always a receptionist to hang out with when you don't feel like going out. Staying with us places you directly in the heart of Prague where you will find yourself only few minutes walk away from all the main attractions that the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dizzy Daisy Hostel Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dizzy Daisy Hostel Praha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.