We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ritchie's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ritchie's Hostel to your Saves list
Ritchie's Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Karlova 13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Perfect location for everything! Nice and close to Charles bridge, close to the pub crawl and other nightlife attractions! Fun and clean environment with great window views! A fun place to stay, but lots of stairs if youre at the top like we were!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    64
    35
    12
    16
See reviews for
5
31
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've spent a couple of nights there in May and it was a very pleasant experience. I stayed in a 10-person dorm yet it was very convenient, quiet and comfortable, plus, I met some nice people from all over the world which added some value to the stay. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and the location - just perfect. Right next to Karlovy Most and a nice walking distance away from the Market Square. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

On the positive side, everything was nice and clean. The staff is nice. The location couldn't be better. They leave clean towels and candy on each bed which is nice. On the other side, they don't have wifi in the rooms, only at the reception. The building is not modern, so on sunny days the rooms get a little too hot and the acoustic isolation is also not so good, but it was tolerable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Amazing location, good value for money and the facilities were as they needed to be.

The only downsides I thought were the large staircase to get in the hostel, that the breakfast was not up to much considering the additional cost and i really had to close the room door hard in order to make sure it locked.

Beyond that considering how inexpensive this place was i cant fault it at all.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Alright, here's my beef. They nickel and dime you for everything (like tea bags and 10CZK for 7 min of computer time), their washing and drying machines are impossible to understand and they don't know how to use them either, the towels are more like shammies, their WiFi is absolutely horrible (which makes planning difficult) hostel staff helpfulness varies widely by person, and they all act a little irritated when you talk to them. On the other hand, awesome location. The only reason I didn't give them one star is that the only useful staff member went out of his way to help me. Use Ritchie's if you want a good location, that is just about it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The ground was made with wood chipboard and we haven't even where unpack!

There was a big hole on the roof, unbelievable !

The bathroom and restroom were in the same place, so cold and not practical at all.

Room Tip: D9 is a horrible room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is in the center of Praha 1.

The emplacement is perfect near everything bars/clubs/shops/museum.
However, we were at horrible room, with big hole on the rouf.

The ground was made with wood chipboard and we haven't even where unpack!

The bathroom and restroom were in the same place, so cold and not praticical at all.

Conclusion, I don't know about other rooms, but never accept to go to room D9. For, 106 euro/4 nights, is not worth it at all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Homer
Homer
#99 of 565 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Royal Road
Royal Road
#108 of 565 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ahoy! Hostel
Ahoy! Hostel
#31 of 565 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Franz Kafka
Franz Kafka
#103 of 565 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Orange
Hostel Orange
#98 of 565 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hostel Mango
Hostel Mango
#66 of 565 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritchie's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritchie's Hostel

Address: Karlova 13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 565 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ritchie's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ritchie's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritchie's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.