We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Platan

Save Saved
You added Pension Platan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Platan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Revolucni 24 | Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 259 Prague B&B and Inns
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

Just got back from 4 nights here. Very pleased with the stay. The location is great with a 5 minute walk to all the tourist attractions. The breakfast is good (we stayed in the studio apartment) the fridge was kept well stocked. The rooms are clean and simple. All appliances worked. The only downside is the long haul to the room with there being no lift. We would return again. :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

my friends and I (thee were 3 of us) stayed here for a couple of nights. Got the apartment at the backyard with 2 rooms, 2bathrooms. Fridge, sink, washing machine available. We were supposed to be checked into a triple room. When we emailed the owner asking about any laundry service available or any nearby laundry place, the owner quickly moved us into the apartment, thinking the washing machine would help as we would need todo laundry. that's very nice of her to arrange it for us. The apartment area was very quite at night. Worried of our safety as all of us were girls travelling together. Free wifi when staying there. But very weak signal at the apartment, we had to go to the office (where other rooms were located) to get better Wifi connection. Overall OK experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the hotel over a weekend. It is very centrally located with the old town center just a 20 minute walk. However, the hotel is definitively a functional budget hotel and at 50 euros a night one cant expect much more. The room we stayed in was decently spacious and clean. There is no housekeeping (at least no one cleaned our room when we were out). Breakfast is included and is basically bread with preserves, butter, cheese etc with coffee and juice, nothing spectacular but is filling. The staff was friendly and helpful but the so called reception is open only between 9:00 and 13:00 so there is no one available at odd hours. Check out is promptly at 10:00 since they need to clean the room for the next guest since they have only a limited number of rooms. So it wont be possible to leave your baggage there if you are leaving the city in the evening and want to spend the day in town. The hotel has free wi-fi though which is a definite plus.
This is a decent budget hotel and good if you plan to sight see all day and come back to your hotel just to crash.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

My husband, brother and myself stayed here in June 2011. We had the "art deco apartment" with two double beds (there were 2 cots and a crib - but it was broken). We were not able to attach the shower head so we had to hold it or rig up a hanger to hold it up. Only one VERY small towel each. There was no air conditioning and it was on the 3rd floor. Check in was relatively easy (can only check in between 8-11 and if after keys left in safebox out front). The decor was dated. The beds were relatively comfortable. The kitchen was decent and there was plenty of space in the rooms (one bedroom with double bed separate from other room with double bed/couches/kitchen).
Close to the city center and the sights.
Was not a four star hotel by any means but not a total dive either. For the price it was reasonable. The elevator works although it is very old and only holds 3 people.
You pay for the room after the first night (between 8-11). All in all not a bad place and if you are young and on the go most of the time it would be just fine. Perhaps not the best location if limited mobility.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My dad and I are staying at Pension Platan for our 5 night stayin Prague. I still have one more night to stay but am ready to review this place. Let's break it down:

Location: SUPERB! Its in Old Town Prague, just off of Namesti Republicky (but just a couple blocks away to keep all noises out). It's on the 5th floor of a building that also houses a car rental place across the courtyard. Be warned, the place was difficult to find the first time ONLY because I had no idea what street was in which direction once I got off the metro stop. Stand so you are facing the Palladium, and walk to the left of that (on the same side) and it'll be Revoluci Street (keep walking past a couple of lights, and when you pass Himalaya (indian restaurant), look out for the car rental sign, its that same building.

Price: Awesome. I paid about $38 USD for both of us with a room that included breakfast (basic, more on that below). For Old Town, that's perfect.

Room: We stayed at room 4, it has two double beds put together and then a single separated bed. A single seat couch, table with three chairs (for eating), armoir, three night stands, safe, microwave, TV, bathroom with a wooden stand for towels, personal belongings, etc. It has a full length mirror, towels, sheets, blankets are all provided. Our room had windows on the roof (kind of like an attic/slanted roof). It was really quite pretty as the light came in each morning. Oh and best of all, FREE WIFI (secured)!

Breakfast: served in the room every morning between 8-11am (up to you when you want it).Its VERY basic but then its food so its fine! You get rolls with (butter, honey, chocolate spread, pate, jam), wedge of laughing cow cheese, yogurt and choice of coffee or tea.

Service: The two people I have seen work here are very friendly. They are only at the pension from 8am - 12pm. The keys to your room will open both the main pension door and the fob opens the main bldg door after hours. It's quite secure which is nice. The rooms are not cleaned nor are beds made each day like in a hotel. It's basically you renting out a room, the trash is taken care of as needed, and towels are also replaced as needed. Maps provided upon request (there's also a small one in the room upon arrival). In addition, there is a fridge in the corridor where each room has a designated shelf.
A couple of things to keep in mind, you'll have to pay your balance the day after you arrive (not at the end of your stay like most places), credit cards are not accepted in person (so CZK or Euro only), check in is between 12-1, we arrived at 10am, left our luggage at the pension and back before 1pm to check in, and if you check out outside of the hours of 8am-12pm then you can leave the room key in your room or at a drop box on the main bldg floor).

Overall, I would definitely stay here again. The area is safe. The tram is literally outside the door should you need to use it. The service is good. The price is great. The rooms are cute. If you're not high maintenance and are just looking for a place to spend the nights, this is it. There is NO luxury, so don't expect it. I highly recommend this for budget travelers.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Platan Pension is situated nearby Namesti Republiky. It takes around 5-10 minutes from airport mini-bus stop or Namesti Republiky metro station. This pension is in a 5-storey building and is located on the 5th floor. You can access by elevator or stairs. My single stuido room is well-equired with private bathroom. There is a ceiling window, too!
Also, there is free WIFI internet access in my room. The room was clean and comfortable, and the location was safe and good. Tram stop is just in front of the entrance of the builiding. It is easy to access to metro station and coach station. Last but not least, every morning I had in-room breakfast, which was big and could brighten every morning during my stay. It is really good for value. I will recommend this pension to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Well organised with the details for the combo safe containing te key for arriving after hours. We stayed in the Studio which took a bit of finding. You must go through the courtyard, up 156 steps (difficult with backpacks) to the 5th floor. But it is worth it. Balcony, seperate large bathroom, small kitchen and a fridge filled with enough food for breakfast for our 3 night stay.
Very little personal contact with management, except to pay. But that suited us fine.
Highly recommended if staying in Prague for a few nights

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Platan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Platan

Address: Revolucni 24 | Prague 1, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Platan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Platan pension is situated in the historic centre of Prague - in the Old town. 0ffers rooms, apartments and a studios. Each room has private shower and WC, safe box, satellite TV, full mirror, el. kettle, ventilator, hairdryer, radio and FREE WIFI. Iron and fridge are in the main corridor. Continental breakfast is included. Pension Platan is the best choice for tourists who are looking for pleasant accommodation in the center of Prague for a good price. Children are for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Pension Platan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Platan Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Platan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.