We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Brewery Hotel U Medvidku to your Saves list
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 100 01, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #203 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

We spent 3 nights in Pension U Medvidku (from 11 till 14 August 2005) and here are our comments:
> Location: could not be better! Easy walking distance from all main attractions (Charles Bridge, Wenceslas and Old Town squares, Castle). Prague is such a great city to enjoy by foot.
> Staff/reception: the first day, not quiet helpful nor well-informed; the rest of the stay, there were much more friendly people in charge of the reception.
> Room #3: nice, large, clean & authentic room. But… the beds were really hard, the bathroom was rather dark (a tiny spot to light a too big bathroom) and the windows didn’t close properly (bad soundproofing – we could hear the people in the restaurant downstairs – and bad insulation – in the summer, it’s not a problem but beware staying in this room during the winter!)
> Breakfast: rather small but this a 3 star pension. There were a plate of meats & cheese, bread, sausages, eggs, cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea, chemical juice, croissants, chocolate-filled pastries and Czech specialties. The second and third day, no croissants and chocolate-filled pastries at all. We asked the waiter and he told us that there was nothing left. We had breakfast at 8 and they were yet short of these! The waiter kept coming in the dining room but just to have a look, no to bring more food.

General feeling: as city trip lovers, our main concern is the location. For the rest, Prague has so many wonders to offer that we easily forget the “weaknesses” of Pension U Medvidku…

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    128
    45
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
96
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

I visited Prague solo in June and loved U Med! It was a nice comfortable hotel- the room I had was a single under the rafters and the exposed beams and space was welcoming. The attached restaurant served me wonderful food and always had a table for hotel guests- even if you were by yourself and they were packed. Walking distance to everything. Tesco supermarket right on the corner and a tram stop if you want to ride. Loved the "Bears" and will stay again if I am back in Prague!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2005

I stayed at the hotel may 2004 and writing this a year later.
Singleroom 2.200 CZK per night, stayed 3 nights.
Room okay, TV with CNN and Eurosport.
Bed a bit squeaky, very thin walls, narrow shower, but fantastic location close to everything.
The room and bathroom was clean.
Breakfast just OK.
There is a restaurant and a bar in connection with the pension.
I did get one diner at the restaurant, nice and affordable.
And the bar got Budvar beer and it's cheap, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2005

MY third visit to Prague finally saw me managing to book a room in my first choice of guest house.
U Medvidku is located next door to the famous beer hall of the same name, also wel worth a visit for the beer, the food and the atmosphere (O.K. it's a BIT touristy, but far less so than other inferior places in Prague.)
The pension is located in a great spot, only a couple of minutes walk from Old Town Square in one direction, and the Charles Bridge & River Vltava in the other.
I was happy to be able to book a spacy single room with en suite facilities (Strangely there was no shower curtain, nor a rail for it). There was not much of a view from my room, and it was at the top of four flights of stairs, which some people may not like. However, it was kept clean, warm (in December) and had a comfortable bed.
The room prices were excellent value, especially considering the central location
There is a breakfast room on the first floor, where a good variety of foods is served - from (several types of) sausages and bacon, to cereals, and fresh fruit. Not a common occurence in smaller Czech hotels in my experience.
There is also a computer with free internet access in the lobby.
The staff were all very helpful, and spoke good English - the night staff were particularly tolerant of people arriving back from a music club at 2 am!
This will certainly be my first choice of Prague hotel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2004

we spent 2 nights in Prague in July this year - first night at a less than desirable place, but found U Medvidku for second night. Close to Wenceslaus Square and even closer to the magnificent Charles Bridge. If I am ever lucky enough to get back to beautiful Prague, I know where I will be staying. MM , Australia.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2004

Just spent 3 nights at the hotel in July 2004 and did not hear any building noise, considering the location (City centre in Stag night location) we heard very little noise. Staff were friendly and efficient, in a czech way. We travelled with two small children and can only recommend it to families, esp. as restaurant is cheap and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2004

OK, positive points first, the accommodation is in a great location, within a short walking distance of all the main tourist attractions, with a free flowing bar next door and the rooms were clean. On the negative side contrary to earlier reviews staff were neither friendly nor helpful, especially when we complained about constant noise caused by building work (when someone is drilling from 7:30 am, you complain!). We asked if they could move us to a different room and were told someone would get back to us. This didn't happen and 3 hours later I asked again and this time we were moved to a room outside which was a communal area (more noise), the drilling noise was still loud and clear (definitely heard by many other visitors). This continued for the full duration of our stay. On leaving no apology was offered for any inconvenience suffered. One staff member informed me Euros were acceptable for bill payment, yet when we did pay, only Czech currency was accepted, causing some difficulty. PS breakfast was just OK, we decided to eat out after the first morning. Price for 4 nights was 12000 CzKr in July 2004.
However loved Prague and will definitely go back - just to different accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague Hotel
Old Prague Hotel
#230 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#199 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#200 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Palac U Kocku
Palac U Kocku
#138 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#201 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brewery Hotel U Medvidku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Address: Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 100 01, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewery Hotel U Medvidku 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is the only hotel with a brewery in Prague. A former medieval brewery was converted into a three-star hotel with 43 unique rooms. The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is situated in a 15th century house, and original historical components, such as Gothic trusses and painted timber ceilings, have been preserved in some rooms. The hotel includes a traditional Prague pub with typical Czech cuisine, a beer bar with a wide selection of Czech beer, shop offering beer and brewery souvenirs and a congress hall. The mini-brewery is biggest attraction for our guests. It makes the STRONGEST BEER in the world, XBEER-33, using historical technology. Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is located directly in the city centre of Prague, close to the Old Town Square and National Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brewery Hotel U Medvidku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Medvidku
u Medvidku Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewery Hotel U Medvidku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.