We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be Better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brewery Hotel U Medvidku to your Saves list
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Lunch Branch
Ranked #214 of 661 Hotels in Prague
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Could Be Better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only, basic but clean, no coffee or tea making facilities in room, think it is overpriced for what you get, I think it goes on its reputation with the beer and food it serves in the bars/restaurant, watch your change in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    109
    43
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
80
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its location which is near the old town. The rooms are basic and there is a minimal of toiletries in them. Breakfast was reasonable but tables were not cleaned up....You can get a better hotel in Prague for the price we paid for this one. Also we picked it because of it being a brewery too. If you drink in the Budweiser bar watch your change...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel in an excellent location. We had 4 rooms in the hotel for our group of friends.

Pros:

Breakfast-unlimited coffee! Breads, eggs, sausages, cereal, yogurt/granola, pastries, fruit.

Location-U Medvidku is not in the center of the action (so less noisy) but is very close to everything! 20 minute walk to main train station, 2 minute walk to Tram #22, 10 minute walk to Old Town Square and Wenceslas Square.

Price-US$130/night. 10% discount if paying cash with Rick Steve's guidebook. You can pay in Euros or CZK.

24 hour reception, English speaking staff, very helpful. They made reservations for the beer spa for us.

Microbrewery in the hotel with "the strongest beer in Prague- X33." Meals under US$10.

Room are huge with large bathrooms. The showers are just a handheld nozzle, but most European showers are very tiny and this one was quite large.

Free wifi, but mainly only available in the lobby. There is a desktop that you can use in the lobby.

Taxi to airport was 600 CZK for up to 4 people. It was on time.

To go breakfasts if your flight left before breakfast was served. Included 2 sandwiches, 2 small apple strudel pieces, and an orange.

Cons:

No parking-but I wouldn't dream of renting a car in Prague!

Safe in room with 500 CZK deposit.

Our friends thought the beds were too hard.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT above the bar. We were on the 2nd floor (really the 3rd floor by American standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is location. However, I will give them extra points for their service. I had made a mistake on the dates of our reservation and they were able to accommodate the change. But everything else was a disappointment...our friends had workers erecting scaffolding outside their room at 7am. A warning about the work would have been made the situation more tolerable. One day our room was never made up or towels replaced, we had to ask for fresh towels. Too expensive for what you receive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

First disappointment is lack of parking lot. The nearest parking is at National Theater (just 400 m from the hotel - no problem) fo rwhich you have to pay additional 30 Euro per 24 hrs. Costly.
Reception is efficient, quick. Room was a disappointment. Badly needing refurbishment (or reconstruction), facing loud street. The door the the bathroom looked as if they were installe temoprarily waiting for the refurbishment. I have not seen this room on the pictures provided on the web site of the hotel.
Breakfast - more then limited choice. you may leave the breakfast room hungry. And you may have to que as the room is just tiny.
for the quality ot offers - the hotel is highly overpriced.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms advertised on their web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel is a bit pricey for a 3 star in Prague, but we booked it mainly because of it's excellent location which is close to the center, but not in the middle of the tourist bustle. Very close to the Venceslas square, to a metro station (Mustek) and you can walk in 10-15 minutes to the other side of the river! Also the adjacent brewery-restaurant was very good.

The staff was helpful and the room clean and spacious (1st floor).

The breakfast is nice but don't expect anything extraordinary. Please note it has no elevator, which was not a problem for us, but it will be problematic for older and disabled people. The wifi was very weak and the rooms do not have air-conditioning, which can be frustrating in the summer.

Overall, we are very happy with our stay at this hotel, and if you are looking for a good location for walking the city and basic (but spacious) room, it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here at the end of August and the hotel completely lived up to the months of excited anticipation I had since booking it.

The staff are lovely, SIlvie on reception in particular being a star.

The brewery bar is very fun, the bar staff quciker than many other bars I went to in the city, and after the bar shut the hotel let a small group of us drink in reception for a couple more hours until we decided to call it a night.

The rooms are great, old styled and ideal for staying with mates or a romantic trip.

Location is great, so close to the old town and the river, yet far on a quiet side street so away from the groups of drunken tourists around.

Really can't recommend this hotel enough, thank you U Medvidku for such a wonderful and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brewery Hotel U Medvidku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brewery Hotel U Medvidku

Address: Na Perstyne 7 | Old Town, Prague 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is the only hotel with a brewery in Prague. A former medieval brewery was converted into a three-star hotel with 43 unique rooms. The Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is situated in a 15th century house, and original historical components, such as Gothic trusses and painted timber ceilings, have been preserved in some rooms. The hotel includes a traditional Prague pub with typical Czech cuisine, a beer bar with a wide selection of Czech beer, shop offering beer and brewery souvenirs and a congress hall. The mini-brewery is biggest attraction for our guests. It makes the STRONGEST BEER in the world, XBEER-33, using historical technology. Hotel U Medvidku Brewery is located directly in the city centre of Prague, close to the Old Town Square and National Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Brewery Hotel U Medvidku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Medvidku
u Medvidku Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewery Hotel U Medvidku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.