We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AVOID AVOID AT ALL COSTS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jednota

Jednota
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jednota to your Saves list
Jednota
Opletalova 38 | Nove Mesto, Prague, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“AVOID AVOID AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Arrived at this hostel (2 adults 1 child) for a 3 bedroom ensuit private. Check in was barely understandable and looked like a bank and had a currency exchange. Noticed that everything was in Czech language with nothing in English. Room was filthy with dirty curtains, dirt around pipes, bathroom and toilet. Paint peeling off the walls and ceiling. graffiti everywhere. no shower, only a hose (if thats what it is) in the bath. no plugs in the bathroom. lock in room made my grandson very uncomfortable. By what we've seen young people living here for a long period told us that they had to supply their own crockery and cutlery aswell as kettle and pots and pans. We were not informed of this by reception as we checked in. Wifi is only available at reception, which is the most uncomfortable place you could find. WOULD NOT ADVISE ANYONE TO STAY HERE UNLESS MAJOR IMPROVEMENTS TO HOSTEL JEDNOTA IN PRAGUE.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    12
    9
    15
See reviews for
3
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked this place thinking it looked like an economical option for a stay with my daughter. Looked at the room first and fled. It was dirty, paint peeling off the walls, shared communal bathrooms, no curtains on windows, less than savory clientele. Only saving grace was tht the owner agreed not to charge any cancellation fee

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

For two nights I was charged 1800 ks (about £80). Even if it was £8 for two nights I wouldn't return. It's as nasty a place as I've ever experienced. It has the look and feel of a sanatorium.

First of all the smell; it smelled like an old age pensioners home, cleaning is obviously not a priority. This carries on into your room - filthy. It's like a hostel from a 3rd world country. The beds seem to have been made from wood left over from broken pallets and the mattress was basically a 2 inch piece of foam that offered no support. It was marginally better than sleeping on the floor. On the first night a towel was not provided, on the second night a dish towel (I'm not joking) was provided to dry myself after a shower. The showers themselves offered no privacy, it was like being back at school after a PE lesson. The staff were either blase or actively obnoxious and people ran through the corridors at night drunk as hell while the staff looked on.

AVOID!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We had a room just below street level and stayed there for 3 days. We got more and more bites but did not suspect anything. Only when we got home from our tour we noticed that we had fleas on us. It was difficult to detain them and get all our clothes washed. We put non-washable items into the freezer.

They did not handle the case well. An E-Mail notifying them of the case remained unanswered.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This place was the weirdest place I have ever stayed. My friend and I wandered in here one day after leaving our previous hostel. We asked for a room with private en-suite which we got. The bizarre thing was, we were the only people on our floor.... It was as if something had happened there. There was no curtain in our room and the toilet smelt bad. BUT we slept ok and it was a funny experience!
There was no noise which meant we were able to sleep well and it was also good no one else was on our floor because it never mattered when we went back to our hostel after a big night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

This is ultimately a very cheap place to stay. The rooms were clean enough, though the bathrooms were not. The security seemed to be relatively good , though I wouldn't trust all of the other travelers (I had some pretty awkward encounters). I loved the breakfast and the staff! While they could hardly speak English (and I tried desperately to speak Czech), they would try their best to communicate with me and were always very friendly. I have such fond memories of Prague that I'm sure I don't remember some of the more negative aspects of this hostel.
You should be aware that it has a prison feel to it, and this may explain why: I was informed by my Czech professor that this hostel was, actually, a prison at one point during WWII, used by the Nazis during their occupation of Prague. Actually, if you venture around the building, some of the rooms on the lower floors still have prison doors. I'm not sure if this is true but, after staying there, I would believe it!

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

my girlfriend and me spent 4 nights in this hostel and it was absolutely fine.From the ratings on this site we were expecting something much more dirty and ugly.. but it is NOT that way at all.

Price:
We paid about 900 kronas per night for a double room which is a fair price for the location and the service.

Style:
i mean sure most of the hostel is making you feel like you would be back in the old UDSSR.. but yeah.. that's character, isn't it?

Bathroom and Shower:
The bathroom and shower was really quite clean and the water was warm.. which was one of the great things.also the heating in the room was extremely warm what helped us a lot to "survive" in these cold days in praha ;).

Room:
The room was small and a bit smelly but the bed linen was clean and we were quite satisfied with it :)..especially notable was the heating (as already mentioned) because it was able to make a great warm place place out of it, and in the night we were feeling like in mother's womb :D

24-hours-reception:
The clerks at the 24-hours-office were all very friendly and having a 24-hours office is really great when you come home totally drunk and some friendly smiling clerk opens up the door to the hostel and wishes a good night :D

Location:
The location is simply perfect. It is located right next to the praha main station (hlavni nadrazi) and in a 10 minutes walk you are in the middle of old center of prague. the whole stay we didnt have to use public transport one time.

Conclusion:
We had a great stay in the Hostel Jednota and the next time it is definately the hostel of our choice again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jednota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jednota

Address: Opletalova 38 | Nove Mesto, Prague, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 550 Specialty Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Jednota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jednota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.