We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel King David Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel King David Prague to your Saves list
Hotel King David Prague
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hybernska 42 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Terminus Prague)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #307 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Besides being a close to the city centre hotel, and a very fine comfort and cleanness, it did a really kind favour to me. I accidentally forgot my jacket at the hotel and they were so kind to mail it to me to Denmark. This is a kind effort on their part. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina V, Manager at Hotel King David Prague, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Lenco,

We are glad to hear that you have received the jacket we've posted to you and we thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with us.
We very much hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

With love from Prague,

Katarina and the entire Terminus team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    166
    78
    22
    13
See reviews for
57
162
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently had an 8-day stay We have recently had an 8-day stay at the terminus. It was a very good experience. We arrived early from a long flight from the US and were accommodated with a room on the lobby floor. It was very nice. Even though the street was busy and the hotel is next to the Wilsonova expressway, we couldn’t hear anything through the thick walls and the double windows. The bed was very comfortable. There was a refrigerator, which was great. There is a tea and cakes at five pm. Breakfast is included and not bad.
The staff was very helpful and always quite friendly.
The neighborhood is nothing to brag about as another reviewer suggested, but it is only a ten minute walk from old town and two blocks from the main train station. So, it’s very convenient and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina V, Manager at Hotel King David Prague, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Jackisimo,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a good time whilst staying with us.

We thank you for selecting the Hotel Terminus for your stay in Prague and we very much hope to welcome you back again in the future.

With love,
Katarina Vlkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We arrived in Prague by train and booked the room through the TouristPoint in the main train station. I was a little concerned when we first arrived, as the hotel is on a busy corner and the area looked like it could be less-than-savory by night (there is a XXX-rated shop just a few doors down, though we never saw anyone there, outside or going in). However, it turned out that we felt perfectly safe and comfortable walking back to the hotel in the late evenings, and the stroll was just far enough to be pleasant, perhaps 10-15 minutes. There are many people, tourists and locals alike, walking in the area, and once inside the hotel it was nice and quiet. The location was particularly convenient for catching the trains for a day trip to Kutna Hora and to Cesky Krumlov when we left Prague.

The breakfast was great- very filling, buffet style with breads, cheeses, meats, veggies, cereals, yogurt, eggs, sausages, coffee/tea/juice. There is WiFi, and also a computer station in the lobby/lounge area which is available at all hours at no charge.

The front desk staff spoke English, and all were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The attic room had great ventilation through the skylight, keeping the room a very pleasant temperat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina V, Manager at Hotel King David Prague, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Heather,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with other travellers. We were glad to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and that you felt comfortable and safe.
We wish you a lovely summer and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Katarina Vlkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I'm coming back to Prague for a week almost every year. It's because I love this city. And everytime I take this hotel. Why? Because it's excellent!
I'm assured of a clean room, a clean bathroom, new sheets and towels every day.The people of Hotel Terminus are very nice and helpful (and some of them speak excellent English).
Breakfast is superb.

Some people think the hotel is not nearby the center. Well it depends: To the Old Town it's about a 10 minute walk (I love walking. So for me this isn't far). But if you think it's too far out of the center, why not take the tram. The public transport in Prague is also superb. If you plan to stay a couple of days, just buy a 3-day ticket.

All I can say further about Terminus is, that when I come back next year, I will again make a reservation for this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina V, Manager at Hotel King David Prague, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

We were delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you are planning to return.
We also thank you for sharing your tips for transport with other travellers. We already look forward to your next visit and please don’t forget to contact us directly in order to get the best rate available.

With regards from sunny Prague,
Katarina Vlkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Background:
My 4 friends and I stayed here for 5 days.

Room:
The room was moderately sized with clean sheets, clean bathroom, and clean room overall. The room we had consisted of 4 beds total (1 queen bed and 2 cots), which was accommodating, but slightly cramped as expected. The bathroom and shower was recently renovated and extremely nice. The shower was spacious and had plenty of consistent hot water, although it was only protected by a half piece of glass so expect lots of water on the tile floor. Bed is firm but comfortable. Curtains were dark to keep out the early sunrise in Prague summers. This room DOES HAVE air conditioning - very nice compared to lots of hotels in Prague that don't. We stayed on the 5th floor and traffic noise was not noticeable.

Location:
This is where I disagree with many reviews here saying it is close to city center and is an easy walk. This place IS far. I'd estimate a good 15 minute walk to get to Old Town Square area. Doing this round trip and it's a half an hour. Go back to your room a couple times and you've spent a few hours walking out of your day. This is especially painful when considering there is so much to see in Old Town, and Lesser Town where Prague Castle is. Prague is already a walking city, and you don't want to waste your time walking off the beaten path to Hotel Terminus. I recommend something in the heart of city center, as close to Old Town Square as possible. This was a deal killer for me and my friends - I don't want to take the station in Prague where it's so enjoyable to walk. -2 Stars.

Service:
A gentleman working the front desk was especially helpful, cheerful, and spoke excellent English.

Food:
The hotel serves breakfast. It's decent and will fill you up, but it's nothing exquisite. Expect basic cereals, fruits in heavy syrup, small salad bar, a few fresh fruits, bread, and an edible meat platter. They serve cooked eggs, bacon, sausages. A big common complaint here: hotel staff, please, please cook the scrambled eggs, they were so runny you could eat them with a straw. Bacon quality is quite low and has excessive fat. Yuck. Clean dining room area. -1 Star.

CLIFF NOTES:
In conclusion, I would NOT STAY here again. It was pretty cheap for 4 of us staying there so the value was there and I couldn't expect more than I received. Customer service was good overall, and food selection was mediocre to sub-par. However the length of the walk will most certainly annoying you - promise. Find something else a little closer, but keep in mind there is some value in AC in Prague summers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina V, Manager at Hotel King David Prague, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Craig,

Thank you for your time taken to provide us with such valuable feedback. We thank you for your suggestion about improving the breakfast quality. I have already passed your comments onto our chef who will take remedial action.

With reference to the hotel location - the hotel is within 8 minutes walking distance from the Old Town and all major landmarks are within 10-15 min walk not longer. The entire Old Town is covered with the cobble stone so I strongly recommend putting on comfortable shoes. For those who are not big fans of walking, there is a tram stop within 100m from the hotel entrance; the tram will take you to the Old Town centre within 3 minutes.

We regret that you found the hotel location inconvenient where in fact, we consider the location to be very convenient.
We however thank you for your opinion and we wish you great summer full of memories for life.

With sincere regards,

Katarina Vlkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was a good hotel with a central location to Prague. The rooms were ok and the breakfast good. Maybe I should have given it 4 "dots" but I recieved some poor advice about money exchange that takes down the rating. I asked were I could get a good rate and was told that the Hotel hade very good rates which turned out to be untrue. Other than that personnel was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina V, Manager at Hotel King David Prague, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Lars,

We value your feedback as it enables us to monitor and improve our services where needed.
Please note that the rate in the hotel is indeed a good deal however we do not claim that you won't find an exchange with a better rate in Prague. We thank you for your comments, we will be careful when advising again in the future.

We very much hope that this minor mishap will not deter you from staying with us again and please do contact me directly in order to get a preferential rate on your next stay with us.

With sincere regards,

Katarina Vlkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nothing glamorous but a perfectly serviceable hotel right next to the main railway station, easily walkable from attaractions, though not central.

I didn't use the spa or pool (there was a pool?) so I've marked them as avaerage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katarina V, Manager at Hotel King David Prague, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment. We don’t have a pool or sauna in the hotel but our guests are welcome to use the SPA in our sister hotel KINGS COURT.

I appreciate your honesty when you mentioned we are not glamorous, and I would like to challenge you to come back to us in a couple of months and I am confident that you will change your mind. We are due to a hotel refurbishment and big changes can be observed in our services. We proudly announce that we have taken on board all our guests’ feedback and we are now investing money in the hotel improvement.

We thank you and all other guests who took the time to provide us with such valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Katarina Vlkova
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel King David Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel King David Prague

Address: Hybernska 42 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Terminus Prague)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in Prague
#187 Family Hotel in Prague
#187 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel King David Prague 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a five-star boutique hotel that has recently refurbished all bedrooms and public areas. We offer comfortable accomodation in 3 different room types. Breakfast buffet is included for all guests and is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel King David Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Prague Terminus Hotel Prague
Prague Golden Tulip
Tulip Inn Prague
Tulip Terminus Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel King David Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.