We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Questenberk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Questenberk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Questenberk Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uvoz 15 | Prague Castle Area, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 668 hotels in Prague
Mönchengladbach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Friends of us had recommended this hotel to us, and they were absolutly right:
It's a very old house, like a small castle, but phantastic restored with a wonderful atmosphere. Very comfortable, everything clean, the stuff very kind, helpful and competent.
Beautiful sight from the breakfast room to the historic center below and to the old castle, on the other side to Strahov monastery nearby. All this we got for a very low price in February.
We surely come back, if we visit Prague sometimes again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest of the Questenberk hotel,

thank you very much for your time to give this wonderful review of our hotel. Months are still passing since we took over hotel Questenberk and we are doing our best to turn into not only hotel, but a place from where you will bring great memories. Views from our rooms and restaurant or breakfast in our consecrated chapel where the breakfast room is located also gives a lot of nice experience while you are exploring Prague. We are very glad that you enjoy stay with us and we will be more than happy to welcome you soon again at our hotel.

With warmest regards,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    36
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
118
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tannay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent hotel. Very well located, close to the castel and a wonderful monastery.
Very comfortable, nice service, kindness and helpful.
Very well organised to recommand some fine restaurants, competent guides and taxis.

We have a great pleasure to recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

It would be sure we will come back if we have the opportunity to return to Pragua.
Congratulations to the team and thank you again for the nie trip we had there.

Room Tip: Rooms on the superior floors are large and with a beutiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest of the Questenberk hotel,

our whole team wants to thank you for your wonderful review that you share here with other travelers who are maybe right now deciding where to stay in Prague. Spending Christmas and New Year's Eve in this beautiful city always leaves nice experience and makes you think about it for next couple of days after you return home. We all hope that your trip was safe and that your next journey to Prague will take you back to our hotel where you will be always welcome. The whole team does its best to provide tailor-made service that you deserve and are here for you with any wish or request that comes to your mind. Together with great location which is only minutes away from the main attractions brings you holidays that you wouldn't spend anywhere else. Once more I want to thank you for our hotel staff and we are all waiting impatiently to see you again with your family or friends.

With warm regards,

Robert Šafařík
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

It would be difficult to imagine a better hotel in Prague. The architecture is delightful and seems true to the period, 1600s, well preserved and restored, UNESCO protected. Huge wooden beams can be seen throughout, great wooden entry door with formidable ironwork and 12 foot velvet curtains. But no draughty castle this, Questenberk is snug and warm. Quality linens, generous beds, puffy pillows. Plenty of cable, hot water, heat, and free Wi-Fi. Complimentary bottled water in the room, and the tap water seemed very good. Breakfast included is very enjoyable. Hard boiled eggs, scrambled, poached, excellent grilled vegetable mix, home made yogurt a MUST try, great variety of salami, meats, and cheese. If the moist spice cake with citron and chocolate icing is there, make room for it, it is unusually good. The view is spectacular from the dining area and the location is right near the monastery.

Saving the best for last, the service is impeccable. These folks cannot do enough for you. From the reasonably priced professional transportation, to the perfect welcome mulled hot wine they offer, to the friendly check in, and arrangement for transport or tours, every other Prague hotel has its work cut out for themselves if they want to compete. No wonder they embassies are quick to recommend it! Well done, Questenberk!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the back side of the hotel on higher floors. Request a higher room for the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest of the Questenberk,

personally I don't know where to start, because I keep reading your wonderful comment over and over again. The whole team of the Questenberk hotel is truly happy that they made your stay in Prague special and you felt great while enjoying the city and its potential. We manage to take care of our guests individually and give them the best care that they deserve. Hotel Questenberk isn't great only because of its best position only few steps from the main sites you should see, but also because the building is originally decorated and you can really see and feel the history that this architectural masterpiece went through. Actually the breakfast is one thing that we changed recently as we had only hot buffet breakfast, but now you can enjoy a la carte breakfast with everything that you like to eat in the morning to start your day together with breathtaking view from our breakfast room.

I am truly glad that we made your holiday here so beautiful and we all hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon again. I wish you only safe and nice experience from your travelling and all the best in year 2013.

With warm regards,

Robert Šafařík
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A lovely, gem of a hotel! We spent Christmas in Prague and must say that going back to Questenberk after a long day of walking and fighting off the cold, was truly a treat. The room was warm and inviting, their lounge was comfortable and well-equipped, and there was a lovely Christmas smell (I think it was the mulled wine) that just warmed us up as soon as we entered and put us in a holiday mood. To me though, the true stars of the hotel was the staff. Efficient, thoughtful, very accommodating, and always with a friendly smile or greeting. I've been in places where either the facilities were bad and the staff was good, or the services were impersonal but the facilities were exceptional. I feel that at Hotel Questernberk, you get the best of both.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest of the Questenberk hotel,

we are truly happy that you have enjoyed the nicest part of the year with us in Prague which is even more beautiful during winter time than during hot summer days. The Christmas smell that you mentioned was as you said mulled wine which is typical for Czech republic during Christmas and I believe that this warm welcome for you made your days even more pleasant. I would like to also thank you for the comment about our staff as they are always very glad to take care of all our guests that come to enjoy the area of Golden Prague with breathtaking view from the windows of our quiet located hotel. We hope that we will see you again soon, maybe next year again for Christmas or New Year's Eve.

I wish you all the best to the upcoming year 2013 and many pleasant travelling experience.

With friendly regards,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novosibirsk, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

we spent a night before our wedding in Questenberk, because for us it is a place of very good memories. Those who visited this hotel more than 2 years ago will be pleasantly surprised, due to the management change, service got much better.
This is a former monastery, so the outside and inside interior may surprize you. It is located in a quite and peaceful place just 3 or 4 stops on a tram from Karl's bridge, you can also take a walk there, this will not be hard, as you will walk down the hill. The view on Prague from the park near the hotel is outstanding and is the best in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear guest of the Questenberk hotel,

we have enjoyed taking care of you during your stay same as you did. We took over hotel Questenberk from the previous management several months ago and since then we have changed many things such as complete reconstruction of the Reception area, opening new Guest lounge or our inside Restaurant which also went through many changes. It is always great to welcome guests who can compare the changes with such a nice commentary and share it with other people who are deciding where to stay in Prague. In this historical area you can enjoy everything at one place: calm and peacefull neighborhood, all the main attractions reachable in few minutes, as you mentioned the best view of the whole city and comfort that we are more than pleased to prepare for you.

Thank you once more for your great feedback and we will be more than happy to welcome you again together with your wife in the future.

With warm regards,

Robert Safarik
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddderfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Having previously stayed @ the Questenberk Hotel in approx 2005 with a group of friends,i found myself booking this wonderfull hotel yet again.After all this time the hotel has upgraded quite abit (Albeit for the better) the service & attention to detail from the staff make this a now fantastic choice in a very peaceful area away from the rabble of town but so close to the castle & a short walk to everything else

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are just the right amount of comfort/convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear guest of the Questenberk hotel,

it is always great to welcome returning customers back at our hotel. From the last time you were here, we have changed and improved many things. As you mentioned when you arrived the Reception was completely rebuilt same as we have opened Business center and Guest lounge which brings more comfort for our clients. I believe that you spent with your wife a wonderful time in this pleasant area of Golden Prague. We will be more than happy to welcome you here during next year together with your family or friends as you are our valued guests.

I wish you only nice moments spent with your closest during Christmas and all the best in upcoming year 2013.

With warm regards,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel! The staff was friendly and very accomodating to our needs. The hotel was very clean throughout. Upon arrival I got a tour of the hotel and it's amenities. I had a huge room with a comfortable bed and good sized bathroom, towel warmer included. It serves a full breakfast in a room with a spectacular view. The cook was happy to make any omelet or crepe for you as well and the waitstaff was always trying to please you. The hotel offers a pick up service for you to and from the airport. Close to the tram (22) to take you downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, Manager at Questenberk Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear client of the Questenberk hotel,

I believe that your stay was not only pleasant from the side of our hotel, but that you also enjoyed the beauty of this city with its wonderful monuments and historical places to visit. The whole team of our hotel would like to express how they are flattered with such a nice review, because doing their best for you is our priority. It's a pity that you couldn't stay with us longer and spend couple of days in Prague covered with snow, because when you take a look from our breakfast room to the entire city, the view is simply breathtaking. Especially in the evening when you have a dinner for example or you just come for a drink to our restaurant, the night view won't let you think about anything else for next several days. I am glad that you were happy with your room and we are already looking forward to welcome you either during these last few days of year 2012 or in the upcoming year.

I wish you merry Christmas which I believe you will spend with your closest and all the best in year 2013.

With warm regards,

Robert Safarik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Questenberk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Questenberk Hotel

Also Known As:
Questenberk Hotel Prague
Address: Uvoz 15 | Prague Castle Area, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#73 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Questenberk Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location of Questenberk hotel is special for its breathtaking view on the entire city of Prague. Within moments you are able to reach Prague Castle (approximately 5 minutes) and other most visited Prague's sites such as Charles Bridge, Lesser Town and Old Town square. Its unique placement gives you infinite options how to plan your journey in Prague. Only steps from our hotel you can enjoy the calm of Petrin park which is the biggest park in Prague and it is a pleasant place where to spend end of your day with an evening walk from the town. The building was built in 17th century and it served as a formal private palace to Sir Caspar Von Questenberg who was a German priest, Abbot of Strahov Premonstratensian Monastery. Sometimes the building is misinterpreted as a church, because the architecture is very similar to the one found in Strahov Monastery which is located only 2 minutes of walking through our terrace restaurant. Our hotel is suitable for clients of all ages, families with children, couples, wedding occassions or business trips. Staying in hotel Questenberk will give you unforgetable memories and will definitely make your stay in Prague even more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Questenberk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Questenberk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.