We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet oasis in Prague!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Loretanska 11 | Hradcany, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Boston
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis in Prague!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This past month (Sept 2011) we spent three nights at the Domus Henrici near the castle in Prague. This is a wonderful charming hotel where you will find very freinely people and a refreshing peaceful atmosphere.

Their driver, Milan, met us at the airport and for a resonable fee brought us to the hotel. He could not have been ncer and the transport was clean and comfortable.

The hotel is on castle hill so you should think about how you will get around. We found that we were quit fine with walking down the hill in the AM, it is about 15 - 20 minutes to the Charles Bridge. On the way back, however, you should take the tram (good old #22) which will go to the bridge, through Malla Straha and into the Noeva Measto. The tram is cheap easy to use and after a long day really worth it.

Our room was quite large and comfortable with a nice bed, plenty of storage and a very nice bathroom. A really nice feature was that it opened out onto a wonderful outdoor terrace which was a perfect place to enjoy our wine at cocktail hour.

The breakfast is very good and includes a nice selection of meats, cheese, yogurt, fruit, bread and pastries. The breakfast room is quaint and comfortable and a friendly place to exchange information about Prague. The desk was able to make several good restaurant reccomendations near by. (If you miss vegetables go to Maly Budha). Most of your dining, however will probably nearer the old town.

We loved the hotel and the friendly and helpful people. If you want to be near the absolute center of the party time this is probably not where to stay. If, however, you want a relaxing charming small hotel this would be perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level down seem like the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    71
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
302
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely 4 night stay at Domus Henrici where we were made to feel most welcome. A beautiful building with some lovely views and very well placed for the city especially the Hradschin. The staff were amongst the friendliest we met on our stay in Prague and ready to help in all matters. All in all a very good spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

If you are looking for a cozy place to call "home" while in Prague, stay at this small, charming hotel. At night I looked forward to returning to this peaceful place. The location is on castle hill, next to many attractions. During the day the area is touristy but at night it very quiet. I have stayed in two different rooms on two different occasions; both were spacious, with many windows and views out over the gardens. Beds and linens were clean and comfortable. On the second stay the staff remembered me, which I appreciated.
The building has two outdoor terraces on different levels, the upper one has nice views. Breakfast was continental.
The staff was friendly, helpful and hospitable, and spoke excellent English.
The overall feeling was of staying in a private villa.
They also offer an excellent car service to/from the airport.
There are a lot of restaurants and cafes nearby, the best was Cowboys, with two large patios that offer views over the city.
Things to note: from the Old Town, it is a walk uphill to the hotel. Once inside there are more steps involved, though the hotel will take care of the luggage. The church bells, which give the atmosphere, start early, so take that into consideration if you want to sleep late. However, this is true of any place on castle hill.
Whenever I go to Prague, this is the first hotel I check.
Highly recommended for those who appreciate hospitality and unique places.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cucugnan, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed in this lovely little hotel between September 15 and September 18, 2011. It is easy to find and to reach by car and very conveniently situated right next to the Hradschin. Everything of interest is within walking distance. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak really good English. The rooms are very calm, there are two very nice terraces that the guests can use. The breakfast buffet is very good, you find everything you want and need. Another plus is that guests can park their cars in a locked yard in the vicinity. ABSOLUTELY RECOMMENDABLE for a visit to Prague.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We loved our stay at Domus Henrici. The room was simple and tasteful and felt so peaceful, and our view of the gardens below in the mornings, and hearing the bells from the monastery... all really wonderful. We stayed for 4 nights while visiting the tourist sites and were so glad each day that we had such a beautiful place to go back to, away from the hustle and bustle but still within walking distance of everything. (We walked everywhere easily from the hotel.) Prague is a busy place, so we felt very lucky that we had lovely countryside views of gardens outside of our room, instead of the throngs of other tourists. This was the perfect place for us. We would love to return to Prague and part of the attraction is Domus Henrici; no question it is where we would stay on future trips. Martina and Milan were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed the breakfast and the nice quiet breakfast room each morning, and we were very happy about the airport service. We had to move to a business hotel for my husband's meetings after our stay at Domus Henrici, and Milan even picked me up there to take me to the airport when I left Prague. How nice! We also booked one of the private tours during our stay and that was very enjoyable, much nicer than a tour bus would have been. We loved Domus Henrici and will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Orginally we had booked one of the regular rooms, then were able to get a deluxe room upon our arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This small hotel was exactly what we wanted for our first time in Prague. We were lucky to be in room 6 which is huge and has windows all round giving excellent views of the city, Petrin and the monastery. But the terraces (available to everyone) give great views too. The hotel is a tranquil haven away from the bustling streets of Prague but at the same time it's handy for all the sights. You can be in the castle complex or the Loreto in 5 minutes. Service was excellent and the breakfasts more than adequate.

We are in our 60s and we had thought we would need to use the tram for going down to Mala Strana and the old town. But the walking was fine; even the walk up was ok in 35C heat! We did use the funicular on Petrin.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will certainly stay here again if we visit Prague again.

PS I agree U Cisaru is expensive but the food is very good. It's a mere step down from the hotel. The crepe place next door is much cheaper and has fine views from its terrace.

Room Tip: Ask for room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Celle Saint Cloud
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We booked this hotel for its location and size. It proved to be everything we wanted. Size of the room was great, very quiet location on top of Hradcany. Great views of the City. Staff extremely helpful and welcoming. Probably the only missing part was availability of warm breakfast. However, thats not a major discomfort. This hotel is still our choice for its location if you value peaceful and charming surroundings. Proximity of good restaurants nearby provide possibility of late evening drink without crowds of the City centre. Warning: avoid the nearby U Cisaru restaurant with its waaay overblown prices.

Room Tip: room 6 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#14 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Pod Vezi
Pod Vezi
#3 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,375 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#7 of 662 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Louren Hotel
Louren Hotel
#33 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel

Address: Loretanska 11 | Hradcany, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
#45 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Henrici Boutique Prague
Hotel Domus Henrici Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus Henrici Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.