We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria to your Saves list
Astoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 680/10, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special deal 5-20% OFF
Ranked #154 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Mulhouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent few days in Prague during cold spring and I stayed in Astoria hotel. It was amazing stay for me, the hotel is so well located just few minutes by walk to the Old town square and all other important points in Prague.

We arranged the upgrade for Castle view and it definitely worthed it. The view is just breathtaking! Our room was new, very nice and clean. We slept very well.

Breakfast was tasty with planty of choice, fresh fruit, hot meal, pastry...

The staff was helpful and friendly. We had no problem.

We really ejoyed our stay, thanks to Hotel Astoria.

Room Tip: Castle view really worths it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    275
    75
    14
    3
See reviews for
78
323
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. The rooms are small, but clean, the shower is good powerful. We couldnt get the heating right so at 6am in the morning had to open the window, and it was -4. Views aint so great in anydirection, but I think this is the the case anywhere. It is located just at the back of the Old Town square, at the back of st James chuch, and the Metro is just 5 mins walk at the next square. There are plenty of bars to eat and drink near to the hotel which are a lot cheaper than those on the squres. Breakfast is fair/good, bacon, sausage, eggs, chips? or wedges? cerials and old meats cheese, salad and breads and toast, so Im sure you will find something to eat.

Room Tip: Corner would likely be best, but we could see the chuch from the back, top floor would give best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Breakfast was pretty pathetic. Staff relatively indifferent. Location great. Most rooms were pretty awful. I saw mine and then paid 30 euros per night extra to upgrade to a top floor room with an amazing balcony with view of old town. For this room it's a great deal and a great hotel. Otherwise it's really just the location that makes it something to recommend. You also have to pay for internet if you're not in a superior room, and the staff don't care what it says on Expedia.

Room Tip: Only book this hotel if you do a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, it is 2-3mins from the Old Town Square along some lovely cobbled streets.

The service was generally good, however on my first nights stay I decided to split up my credit cards (in case anything happened). I left my Amex card in my hotel room (in my suit trouser back pocket) which I thought would be safe. (around 10pm we arrived)

Let's be clear - This was NOT the Card used to PAY or to Block my Bill - Iused a Visa for that! - I am referring to a card, never disclosed to anyone, and hidden in my hotel room.

The next day, I got a call from Amex to say an 'unusual transaction' of £1 for a foreign groupon was put through my account, and they wanted to make sure it was genuine (before allowing my card to be used further). I told them about the card, etc, and they said it was clearly a case of my details being stolen, and that a small purchase is often put through to see if it works first, before larger transactions. So, I had to cancel my card, there and then, which left a real bitter taste in my mouth really, as this was the only place it had been (the hotel room).
(I cannot prove it was a staff member clearly, but who else has access to the room, also a transaction in prague, via the american groupon site, less than 3hours after landing)

Breakfast was fine, and plentiful, and staff when generally were helpful. (you always get one cold unhelpful eastern european, over my travels)

Organizing Taxis etc was helpful as well, just my card experience killed it for me. I would have given this hotel a very good, but due to the card it is fortunate only to get a poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Our room was the one on the Tripadvisor photo for the hotel - Superior with balcony and great views across the city towards the castle et al. Definitely worth the upgrade price.

A few very minor gripes - beds not the comfortablist I've ever slept in and hot water did run out one morning!

Great things:

Staff excellent, room and hotel very clean, excellent location and free wi-fi. Good breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

this is a lovely hotel the rooms are very spacious and clean the shower was the best weve ever had powerful and always piping hot water great when youve been out all day in the freezing cold .The staff are very helpful and friendly ,the breakfast was buffet style there was plenty of choice from hot food to cold meats, fruit yougurt and plenty of bread and cakes. The hotel is very near the old town square and just out the back of the pavillion shopping mall which has plenty of shops and places to eat, the hotel is within easy walking distance of the old town square,Wencelas square and also charles bridge. we walked to the castle but it is also easy to get to by tram.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A great place! Our first positive impression lasted up until the moment of check-out. With a long and exhausting flight behind, it is so pleasing to be greeted by a friendly and welcoming receptionist. When we asked to make changes to our initial booking, he was quick to fulfill our request. The room turned out to be clean and tidy. Everything was functioning properly.
The location of the hotel is a great advantage! It is within a walking distance from a famous Old Town Square. The breakfast was fabulous - a wide choice of fresh and delicious food.
Only shortcomings - no free wifi in the room and a slight noise because of the construction work across the road. But these are minor issues compared to what an enjoyable stay we had!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#124 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Metropol Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#103 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#77 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#60 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Address: Rybna 680/10, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#126 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#131 Business Hotel in Prague
#143 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria is a modern style hotel in a functionalism building located in a quiet street in the very heart of Prague, round the corner of Powder Tower. Max. 5 Minutes by foot to all major tourist attractions (Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter, Wenceslas Square). 80 Modern and comfortable rooms with shower/bathroom, Sat-TV, FREE Wi-Fi, mini-bar, safe, hairdryer and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.