We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break in Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astoria to your Saves list
Astoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rybna 680/10, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Addittional 5% off
Ranked #151 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Break in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from 5 day break in Prague. Hotel perfectly situated for accessing all tourist attractions by foot without need for transport. Hotel staff very attentive,friendly and courteous, breakfast good with plenty of choice, room very spacious, clean and comfortable and contributed to a very enjoyable stay in Prague

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    244
    66
    13
    3
See reviews for
66
294
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very good and clean hotel, staff very friendly, great location, but the phone rates are soo expensive, even if it rings you pay crazy money, its really a big problem.... i paid around 70$ for phone calls i didnt talk and it rings for around 5 times and closed the phone,,,weird, really very weird and it is even not mentionned in the room about it....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just come back from 5 nights in Prague, staying at the Astoria Hotel. We were pleasantly delighted with the hotel.

The room was lovely, with plenty of room, although the bathroom was compact! Inside the room we had all the facilities we needed.

Breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice for all guests, with both hot and cold food. The staff kept a close eye and ensured all food was refilled as soon as it started getting lower. Staff were very willing to help and on one occassion when our key would not open the door, within minutes, someone a workman, appeared and came up to sort out the problem. If and when I return to Prague I would be happy to stay at this hotel. If I had to find one negative, it is very minor, and that would be that they need some new pillows for the beds! The ones we had were quiet empty and hollow, otherwise a wonderful stay. Thanks you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in Prague. The hotel was very warm, friendly and the staff were efficient. Breakfast was acceptable and there was plenty of fruit and salads.
The room on the first floor was clean with excellent bathroom and shower. A double bed with 2 single duvets which was the only slight negative.
As it was cold we also had 2 dinners in the hotel and these were very good.
Only a short walk to the Old Square, river and Charles Bridge.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in Hotel Astoria from 13th Jan to 17th Jan 2013 and found this hotel to superb for my needs.
The hotel staff could not be more helpful .Rooms were spotless with fresh towels every day.
I had breakfast every morning of my stay and have to say it was of very good quality and choice.
My bed was very comfortable ,the bathroom was so clean i had a bath every night and this hasnt been the case in so many hotels Ive stayed in .
There is free wifi and the hotel is on the doorstep of the best and biggest shopping centre in Prague and surrounding areas.Save your time going anywhere else .The shops around this hotel are the only ones to visit.
The hotel is also on the doorstep of the old town so your only 5mins walk from Charles bridge .
Although its quite a small hotel Id recommend this friendly place to anyone who visits Prague which i consider to be one of the friendliest Cities in Europe.Enjoy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is with great pleasure I read your review knowing that we have lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Martina Simunkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second trip to Prague, meeting family and friends for New Year's celebrating. We decided to stay at the Astoria this time and were not disappointed. Rooms are very clean, staff wonderful, breakfast more then adequate. We had a couple of issues when we arrived, and the staff were very responsive and helpful. We were on the 7th floor, but alas, had no view....our view was of one side of a large department store, but we were not in Prague to sit in our room and look out the window for six days!. The Astoria is very convenient to the many places to visit. Even though there was smoking within the public areas of the hotel, the smoke was not as dense and invasive as the hotel others in our party were staying and our room did not have any residual smoke smell.

We would recommend The Astoria without hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked for an upper level room but did not think to ask for a balcony room, which I would do given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel is located on excellent area near everything you need in the old town. It's on a very quiet street, rooms are extremely clean, fair size. Breakfast is delicious with many choices. The internet service is great if you don't want to bring your own computer. The concierge is very helpful, especially PETRA and FILIP who do everything to make your stay easy.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a view of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoriahotelprague, General Manager at Astoria, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind appreciation and review. We are delighted that your experience with us was fulfilling and you enjoyed the Hotel.

Our main goal is to deliver excellent services to all our guests and we were very glad to read about your pleasant stay. Our staff is doing their best to help you enjoy every minute of it.
Many regards from Petra and Filip. They both will be happy to be on duty when you come back in 2015.

Yours sincerely
Martina Simunkova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Address: Rybna 680/10, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in Prague
#122 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#127 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#180 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astoria is a modern style hotel in a functionalism building located in a quiet street in the very heart of Prague, round the corner of Powder Tower. Max. 5 Minutes by foot to all major tourist attractions (Old Town Square, Jewish Quarter, Wenceslas Square). 80 Modern and comfortable rooms with shower/bathroom, Sat-TV, FREE Wi-Fi, mini-bar, safe, hairdryer and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.