We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Certovka Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Certovka Hotel to your Saves list
Certovka Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U Luzickeho Seminare 2 / 85 | Praha 1, Prague 11800, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel locates in the best place for observing Prague - just under the Charles bridge. It takes no more than 10 minutes to the Prague Castle or Staromestska square and only 5 minutes to the nearest metro station (green line from the airport).
Breakfest was good. Nice view from the appartment windows - on the Charles bridge (even from WC :)) Appartment is clean, rather big.
Also we were allowed to check in earlier (at 10 AM) that was a big plus for us as we had a night flight.
Definitely will recommend this hotel as this is a perfect combination of pice and quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    48
    16
    9
    0
See reviews for
12
74
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days, the room was clean and tidy with a clean and tidy bathroom. The room and bathroom were not huge but adequate for a 4 day break. Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking Charles Bridge. We found the staff to be warm and pleasant, and spoke good English. The breakfast was buffet style but you did have a choice of hot scrambled eggs or omelette. Considering the location of this hotel it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here in June 2013, just as the national flood disaster was announced!
Hotel was quiet but we were still given a poky double with the smallest bathroom I've ever seen.
Reception staff varied from helpful and pleasant to downright rude, standing outside rather than manning the desk.
Breakfast fine - great omelettes.
Best thing is the location - unless the weather is appalling and the Charles Bridge totally closed to the public..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located near the "Karlův most" (Charles bridge). Excellent location for a walk to the downtown historic center, as well as for a walk up to the Prague castle, or a nice evening walk alongside the Moldau river. The rooms are small but nice. The breakfast buffet is sufficient, with a few local danish pastry specials.
Don't order a taxi at the hotel desk to get to the airport, it costs more then a regular taxi (normal taxi fare: 550 Czk, hotel rate: 700 Czk).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay at this wonderful hotel. From check in to check out everything was wonderful. The breakfast was plentiful, the room immaculate, ours overlooked the small loch and the bridge. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who likes to be well looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Certovka is an excellent four star hotel at the Western end of Charles Bridge. The rooms are well cleaned and a decent size, with views of either the Castle or Bridge/river. Its under five minutes walk from the nearest tram stop, ten minutes to the subway, and close to lots of great restaurants. Breakfast is buffet and cooked. Staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. If I went back to Prague, I'd definitely stay again. We got a good price on last minute.com

Room Tip: Third floor has good views, especially on the castle side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed with my sisters for five days in Hotel Certovka. It is a perfect hotel for a pleasant stay in Prague. It is located next to the Charlesbridge with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. A short walk over the bridge brings you to the vibrant heart of Prague. The hotel is in walking distance of all the major cultural sites in Malá Strana, Hradčany, Old Town, Josefov and New Town. We never had to use the public transport. The hotel is beautiful and quite small. Our room was very spacious and looked very nice. Beside a bed and desk we also had a table with chairs next to the window (overlooking the Charlesbridge). It can be a bit noisy, especially on Friday and Saturday night. The beds were ok, but the pillows are very thin. The major downside of the hotel was in my opinion the room cleaning. The room was during our stay not vacuumed, a plastic bag of previous guests next to the heater was never removed, and the shelf above the washstand was not cleaned despite clearly visible stains. It is such a beautiful hotel, which made the poor quality of the cleaning more disappointing. The room is quite warm, despite of the air-conditioning. While we were in Prague, temperatures varied between 26-30 degrees. The breakfast was excellent, with for example different kinds of bread. One warm meal during breakfast (mainly different types of omelettes) is included in the room price. The breakfast room has only six tables, but it was usually very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. Certovka has an excellent price-quality ratio. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Certovka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Certovka Hotel

Address: U Luzickeho Seminare 2 / 85 | Praha 1, Prague 11800, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#161 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Certovka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Certovka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Certovka Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Certovka Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.