We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Break in Prague” 5 of 5 stars
Review of pentahotel Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added pentahotel Prague to your Saves list
pentahotel Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sokolovska 112 | Praha 8, Karlin, Prague 18600, Czech Republic (Formerly Ibis Praha Karlin) (Praha 8)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #75 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Broseley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great City Break in Prague”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and I very much enjoyed our 4 night stay.
Although not in the centre of Prague the Hotel was very conveniently situated for the tram and metro with stations/stops very close to the Hotel.
Very comfortable beds, good bathroom with amazing shower.
Excellent breakfast and friendly and attentive staff especially Vera, the Human Resources Manager, who provided directions to places of interest, restaurants etc and organised tickets and transportation, a real gem who helped make our stay wonderful.
Looking forward to a return visit

Room Tip: As long as windows are kept closed then well insulated from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    182
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
54
281
15
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Everyone has raved about this hotel and on the whole I agree with them so you don't need more of that from me. I have 3 suggested improvements.
1. Breakfast- whatever time you arrive for breakfast the hotel struggles to keep the hot section filled eggs etc. Wait time can be 10 to 15 minutes- so be patient or have cold option. The selection is fantastic although it doesn't change across the days.
2. More importantly we had booked through secret escapes and had a pentaplus room which was huge and supposedly had free wi-fi for the duration of our stay. Indeed when we were given the wifi code and password the charge of 598CK had been crossed out on the piece of paper, however when we paid our bill we had been charged for this and it seems that although Secret Escape had upgraded the room to Pentaplus they did not get us free wi-fi and it was 15 minutes of persuading the reception staff that this really was not our fault, that they themselves had crossed out the charge ( we were told that that particular member of staff does not know what they are doing). This left a bit of a sad note at the end of our break as although they eventually cancelled the charge we were left feeling we were cheating them in some way.
3. Check in and Check out is very slow so don't leave check out until its time to leave. Reception is at the bar rather than in a seperate place and keep all your paperwork because although we were told when we arrived they just needed our name and passport, when we tried to check out we had to find and present all the original paperwork so they could then deal with the admin of transaction ids etc.

Room Tip: We had to ask for teas coffees and loo rolls in the room to be replenished. It seems we had our star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed for three nights, the staff were lovely especially Luca, the reception/bar/restaurant area was really special low lighting trendy atmosphere, the music was perfect for the ambience! The food was amazing especially the ribeye steak easily the best I've ever tasted! And the breakfast was lovely a real wide choice! I opted for smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and prosseco! The rooms were clean and tidy but a bit of a disappointment compared with downstairs, they lacked warmth and were in need of a move about everything was in one corner of the room! Plus the only English speaking channel on the tv was the news channel! Boring! The bathroom was nice! Would recommend x

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Hi dear people! My grandmother and I spent 8 days at! The rooms are amazing! Very clean! The beds are comfortable! The ratio of the amazing staff! Breakfast was perfect! The hotel location is very close to the metro and tram is across the street. The hotel is very accessible to the center. 5 minute drive. I recommend! We'll be back to this hotel in Prague!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is a newly remodeled facility thus providing a clean, new environment. The room was minimalist but provided the necessities. The bathroom was modern and tubes of shampoo and lotion were provided. There was an electric teapot to provide in room coffee, but there was not a choice of pillows. Each bed provided one small flat pillow.

The unusual approach of the hotel was the lack of a hotel reception area. Check-in was done at the bar in the lounge. Any request regarding hotel services was done via the "bar folk". I called to be connected with the room of friends whose room number I did not know and the person in reception, a.k.a. the bar, did not know how to perform the function and we were never connected. This does not inspire confidence in the hotel's ability to provide service.

The lounge was very active and inviting. We enjoyed a drink there and the activity around us. We ate one night in the hotel and had a very good meal. The dinning area was chaotic however with very slow service. Perhaps these problems will subside over time and with more experience.

The breakfast selection was wonderful the first morning but as the hotel rooms filled the kitchen was not able to keep up with demand. When items were brought out they were gone in a manor of minutes due to pent-up demand.

The location of the hotel was not ideal but the tram stop was very near the hotel.

Room Tip: Make certain that you do not have a room on the first floor of rooms. According to friends whose ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentahotel_Prague, General Manager at pentahotel Prague, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on the pentahotel Prague which helps us to improve.
Since your visit we have taken snapshots on customer reviews and communicated those to our team. Your review has been one of them and was taken on board as professional criticism in order to realize in which areas we still need a lot and quick improvement. We have enforced training on customer focus as well on standards and believe that this work is starting being recognized positively. Once again we thank you for the time in writing a review and we would wish to welcome you again at the pentahotel Prague in order to present you our improvements.

Johannes A. Schuschu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

a perfect hotel with a big smile. rooms very nice and clean. perfect breakfast:great selection of different types of bread, juices, eggs, cheese (jummy) and soja products- this is more than perfect!!! staff very friendly. i like this modern and perfectly managed hotel and i come back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

a perfect hotel with a big smile. rooms very nice and clean. perfect breakfast:great selection of different types of bread, juices, eggs, cheese (jummy) and soja products- this is more than perfect!!! staff very friendly. i like this modern and perfectly managed hotel and i come back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to pentahotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Prague

Address: Sokolovska 112 | Praha 8, Karlin, Prague 18600, Czech Republic (Formerly Ibis Praha Karlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Prague
#55 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#62 Family Hotel in Prague
#64 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pentahotel Prague is the perfect place for you and not just because of its excellent location. With its clear, comfortable and relaxed style, it fits into the city perfectly. •227 generous rooms with a relaxed, stylish ambience designed by Matteo Thun •6 conference rooms with 266 m² floor space •Check-in: 3 pm, Check-out: 12 pm •35 underground parking spaces, 16 parking slots outside the hotel •tram and underground stations are located just a few steps from the hotel •Restaurant & Bar & pentalounge open 24 hours a day •Large and modern Gym open 24 hours a day •WIFI internet access in the conference rooms, lobby, restaurant and every room, High-speed, low-cost: broadband Internet access costs just €5.50 for 24 hours •Take it easy: Every Sunday breakfast with more time for relaxation until 11.00 am and free late check out until 3 pm •Business Station in the lobby with cost free Internet access •Pool table and Sony Playstation in the pentalounge (for evening activities with fun and entertainment) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your pentahotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Praha Karlin Hotel Prague
Ibis Hotel Praha Karlin
Ibis Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage pentahotel Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.