We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors) to your Saves list
U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Kampe 494/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Moscow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Central but quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Staying in Mala Strana was a right choice. Hotal is near Karlov bridge, but far away from touristic hordes. View from hotel windows is at bridge and a quiet pedestrian square.
Hotel itself is small and cozy, with 10 rooms, placing in historilac building. Extremely comfy beds, well sized room, big bathroom. Nice breakfasts. Staff are young and friendly people, speaking good English.
2 weak points: there is no elevator in hotel; it wasn't a problem for us, but still be aware. And hotel's restaurant didn't impress us. Well, life is not perfect ) All in all, we loved our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors), responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, especially the location, our rooms and staff. We are sorry for the absence of a lift, but it wouldn´t be in touch with the historic nature of the building. We hope to welcome you back one day soon!

With warm regards from Prague to Moscow,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    71
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
73
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel has on big benefit from the others, it is in the pest part of Prague, Kampa. The service is perfect, at the reception, in the restaurant. The hotel is quite cheap, so I like that. You can sleep perfectly, especially if you are in a high floor. Also the high floor rooms are the best, because they are the biggest and nicest (according to me). The hotel is clean.

Room Tip: The high-floor rooms are better, you will have lots of space and nice equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors), responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your review and recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased we were able to make your stay great, and appreciate you choosing us for your stay.

Kind regards,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is the staff that make this hotel special. We received personal assistance and suggestions on how best to enjoy Prague. They sincerely want you to enjoy the hotel and Prague. The room was good as was the full breakfast. The hotel is in a quiet, beautiful and romantic location in the hearth of Prague.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors), responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Lisa C,

We appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We will pass on your compliments to the team and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes from Prague to Liverpool,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

All was perfect for visiting prague with our two children (4 and6 years) - hotel is very well positioned with belle view :-) relation between price and quality is positive. Rich breakfast. You could feel home made food in your plate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors), responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with us. Thank you for your review, we hope you will be visiting again soon.

Sincerely,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel has an extraordinary location (on an island under the Charles (Karlov) Bridge, with a daily food market in front, a canal with a water wheel behind, views of the bridge, and quiet despite the site near all the major attractions). The price is very good for Prague in general and unbelievably good for its location and the size and quality of the rooms. My room was large, modern, and immaculate, with a double bed, a small seating area with table, a bath with tub and shower and windows that overlooked the square in front and the courtyard at back. I had thought I would stay for 2 nights, but ultimately stayed for 5, as Prague is a wonderful city for walking, with extremely friendly people and a seemingly infinite series of medieval to modern streets with great restaurants, museums, and pubs. The breakfast included in the room had some of the best pastries I have had in a hotel breakfast in Eastern Europe, with crisp croissants every day, unlike the usually slightly soggy ones that are all to common. Coffee was also freshly made to order, with espresso or capuccino available in addition to the standard variety. The staff were unfailingly helpful, professional, and polite, with excellent English language abiity, providing tourist advice about sites, trains, etc. as well as accommodating my on-going requests to extend my stay. I found the food in the restaurant to be quite good and the outdoor seating (with lap robes for chill evenings) to be a great place to watch the crowds strolling past. There are nearby artisan shops and abundant restaurants within a few hundred meters, and do not miss the "lock" bridge over the canal just a few blocks away where I happened on newlyweds adding their lock to the collection every day. The only drawback for some travelers with difficulty walking may be that there is no lift to the rooms on the upper floors and there are stairs from the street to bridge, although you can take a sloping street on the other side of the bridge to reach it as well. If you fly in and wish a taxi, definitely have the hotel arrange it. They have a very good rate, and the driver meets you inside the terminal. One other option I tried that I enjoyed was that they will provide a bottle of wine waiting for you in your room for a very modest amount. Mine was a red Moravian, 9 Euro - and it was quite good! The hotel services provide a wonderfully easy and comfortable stay in Prague. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors), responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel and time that you have spent for this wonderful review. It gives us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest and it became a part of your Prague experience. Rest assured that your kind words addressed to us, it is the best recognition of our hard work.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel U Zlatých nůžek.

Best wishes,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed there 5 night with our teenager daughter and we received the best room in the hotel # 10 (just a shame it was on he 4th floor without lift - on the other hand, it prepared us for the rest of our trip). The hotel is ideally situated, in the center of everything, have a great breakfast, and is very clean. And yes if you open the window, there is some noise, but it's part of the fun in this very alive city. Near, you have a very good choice of restaurants, and the hotel's one is always full - great price, 10% remiss for the hotel's guests and good food.The staff was very helpful and help us with free parking in their second hotel. I really recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can asked for a room on the first floor, the stairs are difficult to take
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors), responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent visit.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our staff take genuine interest in our guests to ensure that they are comfortable and have everything they may need and so it pleases us to read that this was noticed and that they were attentive, helpful and friendly. The absence of a lift is due to a historic nature of the building and unfortunatelly, it is not possible to built up the lift.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

We recommend to check out our webiste for the best rates and offers.

Kind regards,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

2 night stop over on a 16 day euro road trip. I had eaten in the restaurant here on a previous visit, and my son and his wife had stayed here on what they reported as an 'enchanting' break in Prague so I was excited about coming back and staying here for the first time. Parking is easy with their directions - you park up by the German wall (Lennon wall with grafitti) and walk through to the hotel and they give you a pass to pop on the dash - all sorted. The rooms are spacious (we had room 2 on 1st floor) and we had an amazing view straight out on to Na Kampa with the little market, and the Charles Bridge - couldn't be better. Food was great and service with a smile - clean rooms - great city and the best place to explore it from! Petrin and the funicular is right around the corner and a good place to start your exploration as you can see everything from up there and get your bearings.

Room Tip: Room 2 is actually advertised as a room with a 3rd bed (in the kitchen/dining area) but its also gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmporaHotels, Public Relations Manager at U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors), responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear StephnLee,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit. We are delighted that it is your son with his wife who recommended you to stay at our hotel. It pleases us that you had no problems with parking and enjoyed the spacious room with a lovely view of the Charles Bridge and Kampa Square. Yes, the locality is prefect, you can easily reach not just the Petrin tower, but all of the most prominent architectural sights are within walking distance.

We hope to welcome you back to the At the Golden Scissors soon.

Yours sincerely,

Zuzana Eislerová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#167 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#104 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#156 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#157 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors)

Address: Na Kampe 494/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#104 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#106 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors) 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U Zlatych nuzek**** is attractive for its exclusive location on Prague's island Kampa in the lesser town area. The hotel is situated close to the Charles Bridge – you will find quiet there, although you will be right in the heart of historical city centre. Enjoy your stay in one of 10 well-equipped rooms, which have parquet, satellite TV, WiFi, safe and other amenities which will provide a pleasant stay. Each room has a bathroom with hairdryer, shower and/or bath. Don´t miss tasting the excellent Bohemian specialties, international cuisine, first-class wines and traditional Czech beer served in our stylish restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Zlatych Nuzek (At The Golden Scissors) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U Zlatych Nuzek (At the Golden Scissors), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.