We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Prague Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Prague Hotel to your Saves list
Old Prague Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skorepka 421/5 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00 , Czech Republic (Formerly Acc Nifos Expres Hotel) (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
-5% bestPriceBookDirectly
Ranked #230 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

Having just returned from our trip to Prague, I have to say we loved the hotel. The location is fantastic and it's a 5-10 minute walk away from Old Town Square, the market, Wenseslas square, and Charles Bridge. The Staff are very courteous and assisted us whenever we needed it. The breakfast is a lot of food, so there is ample left to make a sandwich for lunch and only buy dinner and the odd ice cream you're bound to get around town (I highly recommend the ice cream shop next to the hotel - larger portion size than what you'll get in Old Town Square). Our room was on the third floor, at the back of the hotel so I have no complaints about nighttime noise from the streets. We were awakened a number of times when the staff delivered breakfasts to other rooms (we slept until 8:30, but I suspect most guests left the hotel at that time). The Erotic City supermarket is quite harmless across the street and it actually helps you find the hotel during the first couple of days when you're not familiar with the city.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Very small elevator
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    88
    33
    10
    1
See reviews for
24
67
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

Prague is beautiful. Personally, I think it reminds me of a larger version of Venice but I think it's more beatiful. Anyway, the hotel location can't be beat. 7 minutes walk to Charles Bridde. 5 Minute walk to Old Town. My only complaint about the hotel is the street noise at night. We were there for 3 nights and each and every night, there were car alarms, car honking and general screaming from partying folks. Maybe it's better on the non-street side...but I doubt it. We were on the 4th floor. The elevator is really, really tiny and can fit myself and 2 bags. That's it. I usually walked up the stairs (102 steps) for the exercise. Normally, I don't care about noise as I consider it part of sleeping in the city. But, it was SOOO LOUD. I think the noise was due to the strip club near the hotel. but not sure.
We had a room with 2 beds (3 actually). Two beds are placed together to make a king bed and then one extra bed for my son. We paid 3000 CZK per night. Breakfast is served to your room. Expect standard euro food...ham, cheese, bread, yogurt, juice. If you have any leftover meat/cheese and bread, make a sandwich for yourself and take it up Nerudova Road up to the Prague Castle. At the top of the hill there is a sitting area of about 6 benches with an awe inspiring view of the city. Enjoy.
Here's some useful info (stuff I wish I knew before my trip) for those going there:

Getting There--Use your credit card to buy bus/train pass one-way into the city. 20CZK ($1 USA) will buy one adult ticket on Bus #100 to Dejvicka and then the Yellow line train to Narodni Trida. Catch the bus outside after baggage claim at the center island. Get off at Narodni Trida and exit. Once you get up the stairs, make a Right and you will see Tesco Market on your right side. At the corner of Tesco market, look straight ahead across the street and you'll see an orange colored store sign "Rock Point". Make a Right turn at that store and follow the small road for 3 minutes (the road only goes one way.) When you come upon Wolfgang Restaurant on your left, make a Left turn. You will see the hotel building on the right side about 200 feet on your right side. This is the quickest way to get to the hotel.
Currency-- We had no Czech money when we arrived, we used credit card to buy bus/train pass and then once we got to the hotel we went to a bank to get money. Most restaurants take credit card so we only changed a little money.
Walking-- Walk everywhere. No need to buy daily travel passes of any kind.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We really enjoyed this hotel! It is in great location and we got a nice, clean big (triple) room with modern spacious bathroom. The service was very good. Don´t look further, book this one if you are looking for a good value for your money and a central location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — little construction going on next door
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

Kay - West Yorkshire - England
Stayed at the above hotel for the weekend in December. The hotel is very central for old town, everything only a five / ten minutes walk away. The hotel was very clean, rooms were lovely and plenty off room. The breakfast was brought to your room at your request time and there was more than enough for the two of us - 4 bread rolls, meat, pate, jams, cereals, cakes, orange juice, tea & coffee. I have already recommended this hotel to a few people, they will also arrange transport too/from airport.

Prague was lovely at that time of year, all the Christmas decorations and market were absolutely fantastic, everyone very friendly and would definately visit again. 100% satisfied.

  • Liked — very clean and brilliant service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — definately stay here for a central holiday
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

Just returned from a fantastic weekend in this lovely city. was impressed by the reviews on here , and we were more than happy. lovely quiet room ( 8 ) Breakfast as mentioned more than adequate and bang on time , dont waste your time looking elsewhere, this will meet your needs, Very helpful lady and man on front desk, enjoy

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — dont let the sex shop opposite put you off, no need at all
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

The Expres Hotel is extremely well located in the Old Town, and is extremely well priced given its location. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms with a shared bathroom. The only complaint we had was that these rooms are located quite close to the staff quarters and the staff sit and chat in the courtyard which is adjacant to the room, so at times it was quite noisy. The breakfast was great, there is heaps of it, and it's delivered promptly at the time you requested. I would definately stay here again, but next time I might consider paying a bit more for another room which might be a bit quieter.

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

My mother and I stayed at the Prague Expres hotel for 24 nights in July (right in the middle of the Soccer World Cup). The Hotel is in the best position you can ask for in Prague. You have a metro station only 2-3 minutes walk away and an exeptionally easy walk to Wencelas square, old town square and charles bridge, obecni dum and narodni trida. Also Havel's markets which provides fresh fruit every day is just around the corner.

Tesco is just through a small walkway (about 2 mins walk) if you have a longer stay and wanted to pick something up for dinner/snacks etc, or there are heaps of restaurants everywhere.

The hotel itself is very clean, and the staff are very friendly and knowledgable. Based on earlier reviews, we asked for a room on a high floor with a view (this means you should get a room at the rear of the hotel looking over the school's courtyard, with views of a lot of roof tops over old town square - and if you poke your neck out the window to the left you can actually see hradcany castle). The room was very quite and had its own shower/toilet, closet, TV, phone and bed. The room at the rear of the hotel, with view, is smaller than those at the front of the hotel - however when faced with an option of a view over a street directly looking into other windows, I would take view!

The breakfast for two people is huge and we could never get through the whole lot, and the coffee portion for us was fine...some people say the sachet is too small, but for where we come from it is the same size. Also there are plenty of local coffee shops (like Odkolek, Kava Kava, Coffee Heaven etc.. which all serve beautiful espresso coffee)

It is true that there is an erotic shop across from the hotel and a strip bar next door, however these pose no trouble at all and for someone in their 20's I felt very very safe travelling in prague.

I would definitely stay at the Expres Hotel again as you cannot beat it for location and price!!!!!!! and David (at reception) is the perfect staff member for friendliness and service.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#200 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#199 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
Brewery Hotel U Medvidku
#203 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#158 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#123 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#67 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Prague Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Prague Hotel

Address: Skorepka 421/5 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Acc Nifos Expres Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Prague Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, clean and cosy hotel in the historical centre of Prague 5mins walking from the stone Charles Bridge. 14 Double rooms and 14 three-bed rooms with private bathrooms. The hotel offers breakfast, free internet and wi-fi connection,safe boxes, sightseeing tours, left luggage, transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Old Prague Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hotel Prague
Prague Old Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Prague Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.