We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melantrich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Melantrich to your Saves list
Hotel Melantrich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melantrichova 5 | Praha 1 - Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location of the hotel was perfect!!! In the center of the old town of Prague, just a few minutes walking from everything! The rooms are a bit old but clean. However, the location worth everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    160
    46
    13
    4
See reviews for
28
152
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was a great little surprise! I was a little nervous since the price was very reasonable for a visit in December. However, I was very happy with the room. It is a little dated, but this is common in Europe. The size was nice for two of us with separate beds. Comfortable, warm (it was December) and had a very nice new bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only only thing that I would like to see on my next visit would be a second pillow on the bed. :)

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraPazoutova, Manažer at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

thank you so much that you have taken the time to share your kind comments about your recent stay at Hotel Melantrich with other Tripadvisor travellers.
I am very pleased to hear the hotel in general pleasantly suprised you and you were satisfied with your choice. It is great you enjoyed the spacious room with the brand new renovated bathroom and that you liked our unique location in the romantic Prague Old Town. Thank you for your nice words about the staff, they are the best reward and motivation for us and I'll certaintly pass on your kind comments to all the members of my team.
We are sorry that we didn't know about the fact you missed more pillows. We are always open to our guests needs and of course, we'd be happy to provide you more pillows, they are available on request at the reception. Hopefully, this information might be heplful for your next visits.
Thank you again for reviewing Hotel Melantrich and for the nice rating!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in not very distant future.

Kind Regards,

Petra Pazoutova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We had to change our first room since it was very small and old looking. Were given a room next door which was much more spacious and clean and with large window onto the main street. Good breakfast and very helpful receptionists. The best thing about this hotel is its location, couldn't be better situated right in the middle of all major attraction. Will recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraPazoutova, Manažer at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and the entire Tripadvisor community.

It is great to hear the hotel met your expectations and you enjoyed
the convenient Old Town location in the historical centre of Prague.

I am really delighted that you were satisfied with the services and amenities offered by our hotel and that you found the staff helpful and able to assist your needs to solve the problem with your previous room.

Your feedback is truly valued and very important to us, so we may try to exceed our guests' expectations constantly. Guest satisfaction is the most important to us and it is our goal to provide each guest with excellent service.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Hotel Melantrich soon again!

Kind Regards,

Petra Pazoutova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The best aspect of this hotel is the location. Located in Old Town, the hotel is immediately next to the main tourist square with the astronomical clock. The hotel is very old fashioned in appearance and style—you must leave your key at the desk every time you leave. Breakfast is included but disappointing; many of the bread items were stale. The room was large and very reasonable in price but it REEKED of cigarette smoke. For anyone with allergies this is not the place to stay. I would recommend only if you are a smoker or can tolerate decades worth of smoke smell.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraPazoutova, Manažer at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this review, October 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

we value your candidness and truly appreciate you took time to share your opinion about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear the hotel didn't meet your expectations.
Although the Hotel Melantrich is completely non-smoking hotel and major of our guests
request for the smoke-free environment, sometimes this may accidentally happen when some of our guests don't respect the fact that all our rooms are strictly non-smoking. Our highest goal is to provide a healthy place for our guests without any exposure of smoke and other unpleasant smells.
Therefore, most of the time is possible to change your room for another one in case
of need, and our receptionists are always ready to assist you anytime to solve your problem with the hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay.
I would love to invite you back to the Hotel Melantrich to complete your experience with us and I promise that we will do our best to make your stay perfect this time.

Yours sincerely,

Petra Pazoutova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Excellent location. 2 blocks to Astronomical Clock or 10 feet to the street market. Walkable to train station that departs for Krakow. Very accommodating. They stored our luggage for 4 days while in Krakow. There is no air conditioning. There are floor to ceiling windows. There is no elevator; very European. Yes, when I return, I will stay at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraPazoutova, Manažer at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Tiggy 1117,

let me thank you for choosing Hotel Melantrich for your recent stay in Prague and for taking the time to write this positive and very informative review.
I am glad to read you enjoyed the trip and found the hotel location in the heart of historical Prague excellent.
Indeed, our staff team was really happy to help you to store your luggage while you travelled to Poland.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor, we truly value your feedback and your kind words about the hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you and your friends back next time you arrive to Prague.

All the best,

Petra Pazoutova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

This hotel exceeds all expectations. Lenka and Tomas at the front desk helped me to no end; calling taxis and even escorting me to bus stops where I had to meet a tour. The rooms are clean and quiet, even though this hotel is in the center of old town. I was astonished when the hotel manager inspected the rooms to ascertain that the housekeeping staff cleaned it perfectly! As well, the breakfast buffet is authentic and plentiful. You will love it here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraPazoutova, Manažer at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Dear Kris,

thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review with reference about your stay at Hotel Melantrich.

I am very pleased to read you enjoyed the stay with us and that the hotel met or even surpassed all your expectations.

Your positive comments about the staff, room, breakfast and location made us so happy and excited!

I will pass on your kind compliments to our receptionists Lenka and Tomas. We work diligently to offer the best services to make our guests' stay unforgettable.

Thank you for recommending Hotel Melantrich to TripAdvisor users.

It was a true pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Petra Pažoutová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We travelled to Prague for a 3 night break from moment of arriving at out hotel the service was absolutely impeccable staff have the most beautiful manner..
This hotel would suit sight seers looking just a place to lay there heads.. Fresh clean private and tidy. Staff were always accommodating taxis for us,if required.. Only about 20mins from Airport..Hotel is centre of old town couldn't have asked for a better location.. Fabulous shops bars etc and markets also..a must see destination..
I can't wait to return to prague and YES it will definitely be here to stay..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraPazoutova, Manažer at Hotel Melantrich, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your amazing review which I was very delighted to read!

It is a pleasure to hear that you were contented with the Front desk staff services and your overall experience. Your feedback is very important for us to encourage ourselves to get better constantly, and your nice words about the staff and the hotel are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for recommending Prague and especially Prague Old Town to all the travellers. Indeed, the location is considered the highlight of the Hotel Melantrich.

I sincerely hope we will be honoured to welcome you back here soon again.

Kind Regards,

Petra Pažoutová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Melantrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melantrich

Address: Melantrichova 5 | Praha 1 - Old Town, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in Prague
#221 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melantrich 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Melantrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melantrich Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melantrich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.