We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Imperial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art Deco Imperial to your Saves list
Art Deco Imperial
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% OFF ON HOTEL WEBSITE
Ranked #36 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very good impression, front desk staff were very professional and friendly. Although our room was small and certainly not luxurious, it was more than adequate and the bed was also comfortable. Bathroom facilities were of a very good standard although the sides od the bath, in our case were very high and great care had to be taken when getting in or out. Staff were friendly and the service was good at all times. We had breakfast and dinner in the very impressive Art Deco Cafe and although the restaurant was full, and again the service and the food was excellent.

Location is important to us and the hotel does not disappoint being near the centre and many of the interesting venues on offer. All in all, a pleasant stress free stay which we would be more than happy to repeat next time we are in Prague.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    339
    62
    17
    7
See reviews for
171
910
55
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The Imperial Cafe has been one of my favourite landmarks in Prague for a long time and this time was my 1st staying in the hotel (with an infant also). It was fantastic. the staff were exceptional in every area going out of their way to help us. I had high expectations and was not disappointed. it really is an amazing building that has been renovated true to the original form creating a true art deco hotel/dining experience of a boutique hotel with all the personal touches. Highly recommended. Just loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Another great time in Prague. The hotel is great, akthough it can be argued that it is not a 5stars. But the service, the rooms, everything it was perfect. Enjoyed the spa greatly, a perfect place to rest after a day in town. We mixed with locals in Cafe which it was great. Perfect hotel for a short break before Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first holiday in four years and we chose to go to Prague for a short break for Christmas. The Art Deco Imperial seemed like a great hotel, good reviews, and not far from the city centre or the sights. I had arranged something special for my partner at the hotel which they organised perfectly (David the Concierge sorted it out -Thanks!) The hotel organised collection and return journey to and from airport to hotel, the prices were very reasonable! The hotel lives up to its name with its beautiful art deco decor, the food at breakfast and dinner was fantastic and the room was very good. To get to most of the main tourist sights in Prague is no more than a 10-15 min walk. Prague is a beautiful city and more accentuated at Christmas with the markets and the lights.

Thank you to all the staff at The Art Deco Imperial Hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlankaAtImperial, Director of Sales at Art Deco Imperial, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest I am very glad we made your recent city break a memorable one! We are hoping to have you back one day! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel over new year. As with all hotels in Prague a premium was charged to stay over new year, so I guess this review is in the context of paying 200 euro per night for a room . My initial impressions were disappointment. My room on the sixth floor was small and not luxurious - peeling wallpaper, a poor mattress and cheap toiletries attached to the wall - very poor for a 'luxury' hotel. The worst thing about the room was the proximity to the lift which kept me awake all night. When I complained the next morning at reception they allocated me a superior room on the third floor which was much better- a nice room, high ceilings and very quiet. However the bed was still poor quality, as was the bedding and toiletries. there was also no turn durn service or free wifi in the room.
breakfast each morning was served in the impressive surroundings of the imperial cafe. This was the biggest asset of the hotel. Breakfast was a comprehensive and good quality buffet, but again for a five star hotel it was disappointing that there were no a la carte breakfast menu. We ate in the hotel on both our first night and on news years eve. the food quality and service was good, especially on New Year's Eve when the service we received was fantastic. However, the food, as appears with a lot of Czech food was well cooked rather than anything to get excited about. DAVid the concierge was very helpful and gave good dinner recommendations. Was disappointed when ordering a taxi from reception that they assumed I wanted the hotel car rather than a regular taxi at half the price, and I got a frosty reception when correcting them. On checking out again the reception was some what cold, not even inquiring if everything was ok with our stay.
Over all this is a nice hotel if you get the right room, however it could be so much better with a little more attention to detail and if all of the staff were committed to providing five star service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sixth floor very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codicote, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

For our 25th anniversary celebration we chose Prague due to its history & good reviews as a pre Christmas location for a weekend break. We were not disappointed; Prague old town is full of character & a great place to visit despite the freezing temperatures we experienced during our break.

We chose the Art Deco Imperial Hotel again due to good reviews & its location & this all proved accurate. We arrived on a clear cold Friday afternoon, using the Airport Express bus, a five minute walk from the station bus stop to hotel. As it was our anniversary we were checked in to a nice room, 5th floor, with champagne & strawberries waiting for us. The room/bathroom were suitably sized, not large, but more than okay for the long weekend stay. The bed was large & comfy, the decor very tasteful & therefore this provided a nice warm base before braving the elements outside.

The breakfast was superb, hot or cold dishes, all served in a beautiful restaurant at the front of the hotel. Other amenities included a gym & spa, but more importantly a bar with free wifi.

Location wise, the hotel was located initially near the main shopping mall, but also only a short walk to the the Old town square & the numerous excellent restaurants & bars Prague has to offer. Wencelas Square, Charles Bridge & Prague castle are all a bit further but still in easy reach & well worth visiting.

Our only minor gripe was we didn't have free wifi in our room but this wasn't a major issue as wifi was available in the hotel bar.

Therefore to sum up, we had a superb pre Christmas break in Prague, chose an excellent hotel for location & quality. I'm sure there are cheaper hotels in the area, possibly better value, but for that special weekend when you want a bit extra the Art Deco Imperial ticks all the boxes

Room Tip: If you are celebrating a special event, birthday or anniversary, tell the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I suppose the reason why Tripadvisor is so useful is that you can get such a wide perspective from it. However sometimes this means that I genuinely do not recognise some of the places I've just visited from the reviews here.

I liked this particular hotel - and although in my early 40s I'm not quite ready to jump into my box yet, I travel a fair bit and stay in a wide range of hotels. This is not a "design" hotel - it's style is not slavishly contemporary, nor does it attempt to market itself as an "urban resort", but it is very very comfortable, spotlessly clean and I experienced excellent service. I would have thought that this was apparent from the hotel's website. I stayed in a executive room and the wifi was free and unlimited - and faultless.

The breakfast was very good, and the restaurant's evening incarnation is even better, there is a very different feel (and staff) in the evening and the food and service again was very good. The Cafe Imperial is rated currently at around 28 out of 1200 in Prague.

I was happy with the location which is no more than an interesting 10 minutes from the Old Town Square - the Old Town proper is really tourist central and a bit too much to be frank. The hotel is no more than 2 minutes from the metro. We were on the side of the building and could hear the tram although we were not put out by this.

We used the car service to and from the airport - again this was excellent.

The only gripe I would have (and this really is pedantic) is that the hotel is not art deco. It is art nouveau!

Room Tip: You would definitely hear the tram at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Imperial

Address: Na Porici 1072/15, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Prague
#25 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#28 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#32 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Deco Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.