We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great food and beautiful decor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Imperial Hotel

Save Saved
You added Art Deco Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Deco Imperial Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Porici 15 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% OFF ON HOTEL WEBSITE
Ranked #40 of 668 hotels in Prague
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great food and beautiful decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights and had a great time! The room was comfortable, the bathroom to die for and the food in the restaurant was amazing!! We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night as we arrived quite late by train. Our food was delicious and very reasonably priced (compared to the rest of Europe). Breakfast each day was great (although Eggs Benedict isn't in the buffet menu). We took the limo service to a local restaurant and that too was good and well priced. Conciege was very helpful. The hotel was a little bit away from the main tourist spots but we enjoyed the walk (and it was almost winter). Only drawback was that there was only one bedside table so my stuff had to go on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    895
    279
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
135
756
48
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Art Deco Imperial for 3 nights in September. First off, many hotels seem quiet expensive in Prague as there are a lot of high-end hotels that would easily blow your budget (though once there, the prices are not bad), but this hotel was priced relatively reasonably and met all of our expectations for our Prague visit. The hotel itself is beautiful, especially the restaurant with the art deco mosaic throughout. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and fit in well with the feel of Prague, have updated bathrooms and comfy beds. The staff was friendly in general, though we did find the concierge to not be very helpful with restaurant recommendations, so I would do your research ahead of time. The breakfast was excellent and though we did not eat dinner there, the dinner menu also looked good.

The location is decent, about a 10 minute walk from the old town square. There are hotels closer with this one being on the north edge of old town, but it's a perfectly good location for exploring. I would recommend doing a bike tour with City Bikes, and also exploring the Lesser Town on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed 5 days at the Art Deco Imperial. I received a very warm welcome by the reception staff. I had requested a large bed with one single mattress which they were unable to provide because of high occupancy during the weekend (twin beds are put together to make larger beds with uncomfortable hole in the middle). They offered me a larger room and the manager immediately sent a bottle of wine to apologize for this and indicated I could change room the following day. I did not have to in light of the fact that the housekeeping staff redid the bed adequately and comfortably. The breakfast is very good but be aware that any special coffee (expresso, cappuccino etc) are charged separately at quite high prices. The restaurant is splendid but ones need to arrive early on weekends as we had to wait 20mn to be seated. . The gym in the basement is small. Overall a good experience at the Art Deco compliments to the very competent staff at the front office.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors have higher ceilings, best is to take a prestige room larger and internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived in Prague a day before our riverboat cruise tour started. I booked the Romantic Package, which included pickup at the airport. It also included a free dinner in the hotel dining room, champagne in the room on arrival, and a room upgrade if possible. The service at the hotel was excellent, the dining room served food to die for and the room was spacious and comfortable.
All in all the Imperial is an experience that you will not find anywhere else.All of the ceramics in the dining room have been restored, by the company that originally installed them. You can find cheaper hotels in Prague, and I am certain they will be adequate, but for the experience of a lifetime try the Imperial..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We returned today from a 4 day stay at the Imperial. The hotel is lovely, staff friendly and helpful especially the concierge. Restaurant staff were fantastic and the service was excellent.
We had a few niggles, hair dryer didn't work, maid didn't replenish tea/milks in room or clean it thoroughly to be honest.
I would say this is 4*, after popping into some other hotels that were truly 5*.
The bar was disappointing and was very very expensive.... I know hotel bars generally are but this was over the top!
We used the hotel car service for our transport and for a little extra than other taxis it was very much worth every penny!!
We enjoyed our stay overall and had a wonderful time in Prague

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The Imperial is located close to the old town and walking distance to everything. The hotel is just superb, clean, quite and so Art Deco. The staff helpful and friendly. The best breakfast in the cafe you can imagine. We stayed 4 nights and saw all the five districts in detail. The hotel was excellent in every way.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Something really quite different from the usual chain hotels - decor is very deco throughout, not just in the public areas. Room was spacious, well appointed and well cared for. We were upgraded to an executive room which was very large, very comfortable and with a lovely bathroom. All completely spotless. Nice touches in the room including nespresso machine very welcome. Restaurant was excellent for breakfast and we also had dinner there one night which was superb. The staff were helpful and friendly. We arranged a few extras before our visit such as airport transfer which was all handled very efficiently (and the luxury of a private Merc transfer into the city was much appreciated!). Recommended - we would stay there again. We booked a package with flight/hotel from British Airways and got an excellent deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Deco Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Imperial Hotel

Address: Na Porici 15 | Praha 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Prague
#30 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#34 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#38 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Deco Imperial Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial Hotel is a luxurious choice of Art Deco accommodation. Centrally located 5* property in historic ambiance of an original building from 1914. The magnificent rooms of Cafe Imperial boast exquisite ceramic mosaics, the tile-decorated walls and pillars overflowing with rich floral and animal ornamentation. All 126 elegant rooms with historic high ceilings offer high-speed internet, safe, mini-bar, flat screens and marble bathrooms with heated mirrors and floors, bathrobes & slippers. Complimentary Internet, Fitness & Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Agoda so you can book your Art Deco Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Imperial Prague
Hotel Art Deco Imperial

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Deco Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.