We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Orion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Americka 9, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 668 hotels in Prague
MONTREAL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Very well located. Very convenient to reach downtown via the tramway.

Excellent value for the price.

Very large, clean and comfortable rooms.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
27
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
anywhere in the world
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very large living space - entrance hall, bathroom, kitchen and very large bedroom (with sofa, chairs, coffee table. 24 hr reception at the hotel, very helpful. They have a lift too. Nice breakfast, good selection.

Short walk to Náměstí Míru metro station, even shorter to Jana Masaryka tram stop (22 will take you all the way to the castle). Quite a few bars and restaurants nearby if you need them.

Overall great value for money, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel is located in a residential area only a couple of blocks from the trams and Metro station, but it is actually close enough to walk to Wenceslas Square. We had an attic room with a mini kitchen, and it was very comfortable. The breakfasts were very good, with a wide selection of bread, fruit, veggies and meats. The hotel is just far enough away from downtown that the restaurants in the vicinity were non-touristy and priced much lower than those closer in.
Our attic room did not have blackout shades on the dormer windows, so we were awakened very early by the sun each morning. It didn't bother us enough to change rooms, but it might be a consideration next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

An amazing hotel, especially when you consider the price! Located a 10 min walk from the metro, but then it is only 10 mins to the centre. And these are apartments not hotel rooms, so there is a kitchen, and heaps of room. I remember someone complained about the breakfast - can not see why as there is every possible choice, and it is included in the price. I can not recommend this strongly enough, safe, pleasant, HUGE rooms....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Great location, not in the fast busy part of the city but close enough that you can walk to a subway station (Namesti Miru) in about five minutes. Free internet, great security, breakfast is filling and generous. Very accomodation staff, very clean, and all around this hotel encouraged a relaxing time. I would absolutley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

The rooms are spacious and clean, and seemed excellent value for money. Couldn't really ask for any more for what we paid. However, one small improvement that would definitely be worthwhile are some better pillows, the hotel pillows were so flat I barely knew I had a pillow.

The reception staff were generally helpful, though some spoke better english than others. Helpfully, they sell metro tickets at the reception, so you can buy them and have them ready to use whenever you need them. We bought the 26 Kc tickets that last 75 minutes, these worked out best for us. You can buy a 100Kc 24 hour ticket, but we didnt have the need to make four journeys in one day, the most we did was three. There is a metro station and tram stop at the top of the road, less than 10 minutes away, which makes it easy to get to the center of prague. So although this hotel is away from the center, this is more of a slight inconvenience than a problem, as a £1 metro ticket and a few minutes walk gets you wherever you want to be.

Breakfast is fairly standard, nothing special, but sufficient. After the fourth day though, it was starting to seem a little bland, the usual cold meats, cheeses, fruit, etc. The only hot food was the bulk standard hot dog sold everywhere in prague which is made from processed chicken meat.

Overall, cheep, clean, quiet, loads of space - but nott very much to do nearby. Some of the local bars/restaurants didnt seem that friendly/inviting and many were full of chain-smoking locals. If I came to Prague again, I would consider staying somewhere a bit closer, but I think Ive done Prague now, so probably first and last visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

The Orion is in a very quiet area with lots of restaurants and little grocery stores close by. The Namesti Miru subway station is ten minutes walk away and there was an ATM there. The hotel has a secure entrance and the receptionists were all helpful and spoke English. There is an elevator and a computer for guests' use. It was not air-conditioned. The accommodation was a self-contained flat, adequately furnished but not luxurious. The bathroom was fine but the kitchen didn't have a kettle so we had to make a cup of tea by boiling water in a pan on the stove. The breakfast was better than average. It was cheap, comfortable and convenient which is all we wanted for 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Address: Americka 9, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 668 hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orion 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Orion is ideally situated in the most prestigious and beautiful part of Prague called Královské Vinohrady, next to Náměstí Míru metro station, on the edge of Prague city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.