We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rott Hotel to your Saves list
Rott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Male Namesti 138/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Stare Mesto (Old Town))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
North yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have just returned from a trip to Prague and stayed at the Hotel Rott, good location handy for all the places of interest. Friendly staff and clean bedrooms. Food at breakfast was good never had any other meals in the hotel as we ate out would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room over the Hard Rock cafe could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear guest,

it´s a pleasure to read your review, thank you for your time and efforts! And: it would be a pleasure to have you in hotel Rott again.

Best luck into all of your journeys,

Jana Budinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    357
    81
    28
    11
See reviews for
178
396
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed in April for 5 nights and we had two rooms. The one had view on the little square and the next the triple was looking at the side street and it was very large! Perfectly clean!!!
Check in was very fast, one room was available at 11 am and the other couple hours later, so we left our suitcases at once and had all the day to explore the city. We' ve been provided with a city map, suggestions on sightseeing and advises for transportation! We had also given discount vouchers for the hotel's restaurant but didn't used them, as Prague had many restaurants in different areas and we wanted to explore! . But the restaurant was looking cosy and elegant.
Breakfast was very good and the sweets were different each day, and also great coffee!
As for the location, its just perfect! Right in the old town square and using a quit side street 4 minutes walk to the Charles Bridge!
Easy check out, too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear guest,

there is not much to tell except for the thanks: thank you for your kind words. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to meeting you in our hotel again!

With best regards,

Jana Budinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, MA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April, and it was a great stay for all of us except one. We asked for rooms on the Little Square, which should be more expensive, but we were granted our request (without extra charge), since the rooms were available. Three of our four rooms were in the main building (where Reception is), but the fourth was in the other building (attached - the one with the frescos when looking from the outside), which is above the Hard Rock Cafe. That room was directly above the Cafe, and it was unbearably loud. That room was changed after the first night, so it turned out OK. But, be aware of the noise from the Hard Rock Cafe.

The rooms were great, nice size, and the location was phenomenal! And breakfast (included in our rate) was very good and in a beautiful room in the basement.

The service was excellent, and overall we were extremely pleased. If I return to Prague, I will definitely stay at the Rott Hotel again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the Hard Rock Cafe, but views of the Little Square are desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear reviewer,

thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel, despite the unconvenience with the noise.
We look forward to meeting you here again, and wish you to enjoy all your journeys.

Jana Budinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

this hotel has the best location for many of the tourist sights in prague. if you stay any closer to old town square you have to walk and drag your bags across the cobbled pedestrianised area as no taxis can get in. we were dropped right at the hotel entrance.
the staff are really helpful and speak excellent English. the reception area is bright and clean, there are a couple of lifts and we never had to wait long for one.
our room looked over the small square outside and wasn't noisy at night as the double glazing worked really well. only when we opened the windows could we could hear the revellers outside. we slept without any problem unlike some other reviewers.
good, filling and varied breakfast and there is a café and restaurant attached. 15% discount for guests. try the goulash or the veal cheeks, v. good.
literally 60 seconds walk from astronomical clock and old town square with its markets and street entertainers. coyotes bar a few doors down is a great night out.
a great choice for a romantic weekend in prague, go visit!

Room Tip: facing the square was perfect. we were on floor 1. secret tip, put the discount code ROTT10 in when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the worst situations I've had in a long time. I'm writing this at 2am from my very loud hotel room. I was given room 220 which is a lovely room with hard wood floors and a nice view of the small square- but as I returned this evening from dinner, the room was filled with music from the hard rock cafe next door. I waited until 1am and finally went down to the reception to ask for another room where I was told the hotel is booked except for an apartment, for which they would have to add a surcharge... Which is ridiculous because it's empty and nobody will come into the hotel after 1am asking for the apartment for one night. The reception told me I might have better luck tomorrow- needless to say, I'm looking for hotel alternatives for my remaining stay. Hotels are *surprise surprise* for sleeping - if you plan on getting any sleep, stay clear of this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Ms.Hermine,

thank you for your review, and I deeply regret your unpleasant night in our hotel. My colleague from the reception was right telling you she did not have any alternative to offer you. She did not dare to move you to our suite, as the price of the suite is usually triple of the price you pay for the standard hotel room.
My colleagues reacted in the very morning and provided you with an alternative room for the rest of your stay in our hotel. So I do hope you will enjoy at least a bit the remaining days of your stay with us.
Please, accept my apologies for this inconvenience.
Thank you.
Jana Budinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Me & my wife stayed at the hotel for 4 quite pleasant nights, since April 4. The hotel is situated right to the old town square and most of the city's attractions are by walk distance. Mrs Jana runs the hotel efficiently and the stuff is quite helpful. Breakfast was tasty and included a large variety of food. We'll surely recommend about the hotel. Irit & Abraham, Israel

Room Tip: New bathroom in our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Irit and Abraham,

thank you for your kindness and efforts to write your review: I certainly appreciate it enormously and we all are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to meeting you in hotel Rott again!
May all your journeys be peaceful and enjoyable!
With personal regards,

Jana Budinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Decent hotel next to the Old Town Square and two doors away from the Hard Rock Cafe, excellent location near to Staromeska metro station.
Decent buffet breakfast and rooms are adequate, might get noisy at times with holidaymakers amnd young couples returning at all hours half drunk, but hey we have all been there I guess at some time. Friendly staff who are willing to help you if you have a problem with things to do and see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear sir,

thank you for your benevolent review, your time and efforts are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you soon with us again and wish you pleasant and enjoyable days and journeys.
With kind regards,

Jana Budinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#71 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#114 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#125 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#29 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,808 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#41 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#76 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rott Hotel

Address: Male Namesti 138/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Prague at The Little Square (Male namesti), Hotel Rott is just a few steps from the famous Old Town Square and Old Town Astronomical Clock.Hotel Rott is on four floors, consisting of two buildings and offers 94 rooms, meeting facilities, café and a restaurant.One of the buildings proudly displays beautiful frescoes inspired by Mikolas Ales paintings.Our hotel provides the perfect starting point for all business and sightseeing locations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Rott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.