We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but let down by indifferent and unfriendly service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rott Hotel to your Saves list
Rott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Male namesti 138/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 661 Hotels in Prague
London, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location but let down by indifferent and unfriendly service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very centrally located right next to the Old Square so close to all the major attractions of Prague. We had an Executive Room which was beautiful and comfortable although somewhat overpriced.

The Hotel is badly let down by very indifferent and unfriendly staff and a lack of attention to detail. The room was not cleaned very well, dirty glasses left out and toiletries/tissues not replaced daily. The breakfast is adequate but the juice is insipid as it comes out of a machine and the fresh fruit is cut in half so it is brown by the time you get to breakfast.

We would not recommend staying here as there is a good choice of other hotels near this prime location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear madame, dear sir,

thank you very much for your review, although it is not an easy reading for me. The words you are writing about the staff are not a usual kind of words I am used to hear - most of our clients praise the staff and the services, and I feel really sorry to read you were not satisfied. I will certainly talk to everyone concerned and we will do our best to improve the points you mention.
For the fruit at breakfast, some other guests prefer having just pieces of fruits, as they want to taste a bit of several kinds, and would not eat the whole piece. But we can certainly and easily improve this point of your review and have the fruits prepared both ways- cut and whole.
Please, would you accept my deep apologies for the inconvenience you met in our hotel, and I do hope you might change your decision and come to hotel Rott again in the future. I would appreciate having the occasion to improve the image of our hotel in your eyes.
Nevertheless, thank you very much once more for your feed back.
Wishing you all the best,

with regards,

Jana Budinska, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    299
    68
    24
    11
See reviews for
148
316
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel has one of the best locations in Prague, next to Old Town Square with the famous clock and bustling stalls and artists. From Here you can take a tour bus or as we did, went on a Segway Tour which I think was the best way to see Prague in view of the cobbled streets and large area, we were able to view the castle up close and got an excellent optional summary by the guide. Two of our party had never been on them before but enjoyed the experience. The Hotel is very near the shopping mall and also the main shopping street where we went to The Railway Pub which has a miniature railway delivering drinks. The rooms were large and clean and next to the Hard Rock Cafe where we did most of our drinking. It was never packed and the food and drink was plentiful and cheap. The Staff at the hotel were very helpful and the breakfast was also of a high standard. We loved Budapest but Prague more and would definitely recommend and stay at this Hotel again. It was also near the Ice Bar which was well worth a visit

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor but all rooms seemed nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is our third time staying at Hotel Rott. We would not choose anywhere else. It is in a perfect location situated in Old Town which is one of the most central and beautiful parts of Prague. The staff at Rott were all friendly and paid particular attention to our 16 month old daughter, which she loved. The breakfast buffet had a large selection of food including pastries, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, fresh bread through to eggs, bacon and sausages. The restaurant at Rott is one of the best in Prague and very reasonably priced; we were also given three vouchers for 20% off for our stay. The rooms are spacious and are of a high quality with wooden floors. We stayed in an executive double and there was plenty of space for a cot which the hotel supplied. We will be going back to Hotel Rott again in the near future.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Ian, Charlotte and Mia,

I appreciate your kind words about hotel Rott, thank you for your valuable feedback! As the essential aim of our hospitality business is making people´s lives better, easier, and more enjoyable, we are really glad we succeed in doing so...
Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel soon again.
Wishing you luck into all of your journeys,

Jana Budinska, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Rott for three days and we had no complaints. It's round the corner from the main square (less than a 30 second walk) and just under five minutes from the Charles Bridge. The hotel is next door to the Hard Rock Cafe which was handy for a meal and you couldn't hear a sound from the restaurant in your room.
The rooms are spacious and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
There's loads to do near to the hotel as well as a bundle of restaurants.
I'd stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear madam, dear sir, our guests,

thank you for your kind review, and even if not within a heart beat, I hope we will have the occasion to welcome you very soon again!
With my heartfelt appreciation of your time and efforts,
sincerely,
Jana Budinska, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hotel Rott is located in the ideal spot in Prague. You can step out into the bustling atmosphere of the Old Town Square and can walk within 5 minutes to Charles Bridge. The room was comfortable and well supplied and the breakfast was one of the best I've had with plenty to choose from and keep you full until late afternoon! I would have no hesitation in staying again and friends of mine have already booked their stay here in a couple of months!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear sir,

thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel: it is always the most pleasant moment of our work to hear - or read - our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Which is the fact we all are striving for. Thank you once more, and we will be looking forward to meeting you here in Prague upon your next journey to our city. And I wish you all the best into all of your journeys!
With regards, Jana Budinska, GM, hotel Rott Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Rott is located in Old Town; 5 minutes from the Astronomical Clock one direction and 5 minutes from the Charles Bridge the other direction. The room was very clean and comfortable; nice warm showers with a view overlooking the square. The staff is very helpful and for Americans who are concerned with a language barrier there is always someone around who speaks English. The breakfast buffet is ample with several choices. Had a great meal in the evening for $12 which included a glass of wine. Really loved Prague and if I were to return I would stay at the Hotel Rott again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words about hotel Rott! I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Prague and do hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again upon your future stay in Prague.
All the best into all of your journeys,

with kind regards,

Jana Budinska, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Just back from the Rott Hotel, where we stayed for four nights to get married in Prague. The location was great, the room was very clean and fresh, the breakfast was abundant, and the staff was very helpful.
The hotel is right in the middle of the old town - 1 minute to the astronomical clock, 3 minutes to Tyn church, 5-10 minutes to the Jewish quarter or Carl's bridge.
Skip the executive room - some of us booked executive, got similarly sized rooms, with a fruit basket, and got charged 20 euros more PER NIGHT. Just get a regular room instead, and buy the fruits yourself :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rott Hotel

Address: Male namesti 138/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Prague at The Little Square (Male namesti), Hotel Rott is just a few steps from the famous Old Town Square and Old Town Astronomical Clock.Hotel Rott is on four floors, consisting of two buildings and offers 94 rooms, meeting facilities, café and a restaurant.One of the buildings proudly displays beautiful frescoes inspired by Mikolas Ales paintings.Our hotel provides the perfect starting point for all business and sightseeing locations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.