We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerome House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jerome House to your Saves list
Jerome House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   V Jircharich 153/13 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #457 of 663 Hotels in Prague
North Carolina
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

I actually spent a semester here in 2004. Most of the folks writing about the large groups of students are half-right; Jerome House provides the lodging for a small study abroad program for American college students, so its dormlike rooms are not entirely coincidental. I wholeheartedly recommend this place to any kind of traveller. Yes, you may have some nights with noise issues, but try finding a budget friendly hotel in Europe that doesn't. For anyone who wants to get a taste of the real Prague, Jerome House is a great place to start.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    25
    9
    23
See reviews for
6
28
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

This hotel was great! Stayed here in summer 2006 with two friends for about 10 days and had an amazing trip. The hotel was everything we needed - the room was spacious enough, bathroom fine, everything comfortable, etc. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel, though it was in such a convenient location that we could stop by in the afternoon if we wanted a break from walking around, etc. There is a lovely bar right across the street (can't remember the name of it) and there are some good restaurants around. If I went back, this is definitely where I would stay!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast should've stayed open later! (but can't blame them - 10am is pretty late)
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

I stayed at the Jerome house with a university group in 2004. I made some lovely memories during my 4 week stay there! Some of the highlights: Sitting on the huge windowsill looking out onto the cobblestone streets; Renting a paddleboat and enjoying the views from the Vlatava River; taking in a show at the national theater which is just down the street; going to Kmotra Pizza on an almost daily basis - this is the best pizza I've ever had!

The hotel is a dormitory style hotel with two small beds in each room. There are also shared kitchenettes and a complimentary breakfast downstairs. This place is ideal for student travelers or longer stays. It is much better than staying at a hostel in Prague! And, the location is great.

  • Liked — Location, Price, Breakfast Included
  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

Booked through bahn.de and got a rate of 50 Euro a night for a double. The double was two separate bed, so if you want a larger bed you may have to request it.

The room was average size european room with a closet and bathroom. It was pretty clean, but the bathroom smelled really bad after running the shower for a while. I didn't complain about this to the staff, but thought I might mention it here. There is cable TV in the room with CNN world in english which was nice.

Staff was very accommodating, we came before 10 to drop off bags and they tried to check us in but were apologetic when the room was not ready yet. They gave us a good map and spoke english.

Breakfast buffet was pretty bad, I wouldn't have eaten there if it were not included. Some breads, cheese and meat and cereal selection. Bread and pastry were bad, but I think that's just how the food is in the area because I couldn't get any good bread in Prague.

The location was excellent, walking distance to everything you would want to see, and for people who don't want to walk, right next to public transportation.

The hotel doesn't advertise wireless internet so I didn't bring my computer, but I saw people in the dining area using their computers so I think that there is access.

  • Liked — Location is great!
  • Disliked — not much to complain about, average hotel, good for price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2006

I was with an adult seminar group and the hotel was booked for us by the seminar planners. It was a comfortable hotel --- not plush in any way, but quite adequate for my limited time in the room. It was an uncharacteristically warm summer, and my room was on the top floor. It was a bit warm but not intolerable with the nice European windows which can be opened completely. The room was small but had its own bath. It was fine for my needs: a place to study in the late evenings, and a good, though small, bed for a night's rest. I did not experience any of the noise issues mentioned in some of the other reviews, and my room was overlooking the courtyard. The breakfast was a typical European breakfast of breads, cold meats and cheeses, and coffee / tea. There is a lift which, unlike many, will hold several people and their luggage. The best thing about this hotel, though, is its central location. Everything is in easy walking distance, but the area retains its ungentrified charm. I recommend it for those who do not equate comfort with luxury.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2006

This hotel is still a student group destination.
We we traveling with a group, non-students, and found the hotel noisy. Noise from other guests partying in the courtyard, noise from the street.
Also, the "curtains" were very see through and we felt on display with the light on. If the curtains are thin enough to see out clearly, they are thin enough to to see in clearly.

Breakfast was cold meats, cheeses, cereal, indifferent coffee, juice.

Rooms were clean.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

I stayed here last month for several days. My room was quite small but very clean. The location is excellent. Close to everything. The staff was competent. A couple of the front desk guys were very helpful. My biggest complaint was noise. They tend to attract large groups of students who stay for extended periods and treat the hotel as a party dorm. I was frequently kept up at night.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#407 of 663 in Prague
3.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Theatre Residence Apartments
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlante Residence - Ai Quattro Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Andante
Andante
#226 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#538 of 663 in Prague
3.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#140 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerome House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerome House

Address: V Jircharich 153/13 | Stare Mesto, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerome House 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Jerome House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerome Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerome House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.