We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, affordably priced and in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Constans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Constans to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Constans
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bretislavova 309 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Mala Strana (Little Quarter))   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #80 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent, affordably priced and in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

At the last minute, we decided to drive to Prague for the weekend. A friend recommended this hotel and we were able to make a reservation while on the road. The hotel itself is near the US Embassy and cars entering the area are stopped and searched so be prepared. Once we arrived, we parked under the hotel and made our way to check-in. The room was HUGE for our family of four. The bathroom was equally as impressive. They was a nice set of toiletries on the counter and a coffee/tea maker in the room which was nice for a morning caffeine fix. Breakfast was fine and had the typical European breakfast fare. Location was great! It's near the castle and a short walk to the Charles Bridge. The neighborhood is more quaint than downtown and definitely quieter. In fact, we liked it enough to extend our stay to two nights. Unfortunately after we had confirmed with the night clerk a reservation for a second night, we were told the next morning, as we were heading out for sight seeing, that they in fact didn't have a room for us and we wouldn't be able to stay. So, we were left scrambling to pack up and get relocated. They were able to secure us a room at a hotel up the hill but it took a big part of our morning to move luggage, kids, car etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal F, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Constans, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for the nice respond and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Let me again apologize for the relocation and we hope that even with this complication you will choose our hotel again if you will come back to Czech.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    121
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
61
214
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent hotel in great location. Staff is friendly, helpful and skilled, breakfast is great and surrounding neighborhood is charming and close to main attractions. The room was large and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal F, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Constans, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that if you will visit Czech in future you will choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Positives: Great location near to Charles Bridge and Castle, though be warned it is up a steep cobbled hill if you are arriving by public transport with big cases! Junior suite 45 very large with lovely furniture, could have lived in as an apartment - would suit family more than a couple. Good bathroom and tea/coffee in room. Breakfast content okay and gave us a voucher for their restaurant, but see negatives below.
Negatives: Cleaning staff left our room door open while we were on a day trip; reception response was "sorry hope nothing's been stolen" - thankfully we'd used the safe so it hadn't been but doesn't fill you with confidence. Other reviews about beds are spot on - have never slept on this noisy a bed in 40 years! Breakfast staffing clearly needs 2 people not 1, as food and crockery/cutlery often ran out. Also watering down your fruit juice in front of breakfast diners is not a good idea! Would not recommend hotel restaurant for dinner - lumpy mashed potatoes and rock-like dumplings.
Details: Stayed 14-19/11/2012 (Europe Trip Hotel 15 of 15!); age range 35-40.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal F, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Constans, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for your commentary and as first we want to apologize that our cleaning lady went into your room when you were in city, but for this case there is the sign which you can hang on the door handle. We also hope you didn't have to wait long for breakfast refilling, but it sure takes some time to do it and from December we have a new chef in our restaurant so we hope if you will come next time you will try it again and you will be satisfied this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on business. It's a bit out of town, but in town enough to be near to the main stuff. The castle is around the corner and about 5 mins away. The room was huge, free internet (fast!), tea and coffee, international TV, nice and warm bathroom and a wardrobe with a safe.
Breakfast was alright, could be a bit better, but it was fine. Coffee was alright, although I've had better! This place is really nice to stay at though, friendly multilingual staff and a nice atmosphere. The only downside I would say is that the bed creeked a lot! Apart from that, a lovely stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal F, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Constans, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed the stay in our hotel and we hope that if you will travel to Czech in future you will choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is tucked away in a side street and is very unimposing from the outside. Inside however, the rooms are fabulous. We booked a deluxe room that was absolutely enormous (I would guess about 65 sq m) The room was quite palatial with wooden floors and a French style carved wooden bed. The mattress was a little lumpy, but not uncomfortable.
The breakfast was perhaps a little limited, but of decent quality. The hotel is centrally located, with a unique solution to secure underground parking. The cars are stored on rotating ramps.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal F, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Constans, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are glad you enjoeyd your stay and for the future we will try to improve our breakfasts so if you will come again there will be nothing to complain about. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel in an old building in the Lesser Town 5 minutes away from the Charles Bridge. Our double room was huge, clean and quiet. Friendly and service-minded staff and very reasonably pricewise. The drinks and food in the small hotel restaurant was very reasonable (as I found Prague in general). The bed matress was a bit to hard for my taste, but I have no hesitation about recommending this hotel to week-end tourists to Prague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal F, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel Constans, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your nice respond and also for all those recommends you will give. Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in room 35 (only gripe - very creaky bed!) - with a pull-out sofa for our 2 children. They said it was very comfortable. The room was huge, beautifully furnished and immaculate. The bathroom was the largest I've seen in any hotel I've stayed in, and again, was very clean. The cleaner even arranged my children's soft toys on the pillow with the duck in flight - they loved that! Would recommend the restaurant - easily the best meal we had in Prague, with great service and very reasonably priced wines. Good selection at breakfast, the hot drinks are from a machine and the hot chocolate is particularly good. However, no "english" tea - there was darjeeling the first day but only herbal, green or fruit teas after that. We bought our own and used the facilities in the room, so no real problem. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly due to it's location - lots of restaurants, coffee shops etc locally and a short walk up the hill to the castle or downhill to Charles Bridge - fantastic. The hotel arranged transport from/to the airport at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Creaky bed in room 35, but the quiet, spacious room more than made up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#35 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
#65 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Star (Zlata Hvezda)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#55 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#46 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Clement Praque
Hotel Clement Praque
#60 of 663 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Constans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Constans

Address: Bretislavova 309 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#69 Business Hotel in Prague
#70 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#102 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Constans 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Constans is located in the historical center of Prague - directly under Prague Castle. There are 31 spacious luxuriously furnished rooms. Due to its location and larger than standard rooms, it is the ideal place not only for business clientele, who especially appreciate the quiet environment in the centre, but also for those, who wish to spend unforgettable moments in historic Prague’s romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Boutique Hotel Constans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constans Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Constans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.