We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, Big, Big!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Constans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Constans Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bretislavova 309 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20%OFF & BENEFITS
Ranked #62 of 668 hotels in Prague
Osaka, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big, Big, Big!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Big room! Bathroom was as big as the room! Very good breakfast. Great location. The only the negative point was the heating in the room,,, was it working??? It was November. I didn't feel cold so it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    77
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
137
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Constans in June 2011 whilst we were on a trip looking at wedding venues in the Czech Republic.

The hotel was very well located on the Castle side of Prague just off the end of Mostecka (which leads directly on to Charles Bridge) but is on a quiet side street and with little traffic noise.

Upon arrival we had a warm welcome from the receptionist who booked us into the hotel swiftly. I made the mistake of leaving a bundle of documents and my passport on the counter when we went up to the room (eeek!) but the receptionist called up to the room to advise that it was there and that she would keep it safe until I came down for it. We did have a small issue during our stay with the swipe card required to gain access to the room in that it would not work; this happened twice which was a bit annoying when we had traipsed up the many staircases to our room but reception was again very helpful and provided us with new cards as requested.

We stayed in a room in the annex of the hotel on the top floor. The room was very warm in the evenings given that it was the beginning of the summer but there was a large air conditioning unit in the room; although this was a little noisy it worked well and the noise was not so intolerable that we could not sleep.

The room was large with a small seating area, beams and a private modern en suite bathroom. The room and bathroom were cleaned on a daily basis. We had no issues with the cleanliness of the hotel generally.

The room did have an element of charm, the bed was a little creaky but it was comfortable. Shower pressure was not very strong but it was sufficient.

There was a small kitchenette in the room - not a hot plate but there was a small sink and tap, kettle. Complimentary tea annd coffee were provided. There was a refridgerator and there was no problem with when we purchased our own water and drinks and stored them in the fridge.

The hotel breakfast was very good annd buffet style with a hotel selection as well as the usual continental meats, cheese and pastries.

There was free wifi in the hotel which worked very well.

The hotel was very accommodating as we had meetings in the restaurant/bar areas with wedding planners and the staff did not seem to mind this, providing drinks as requested. We did hire a car for one day and the hotel confirmed that they were happy for us to park at the rear of the hotel if required for a small charge - I think about 20 euros but in the end we did not require parking.

We are totally biased when it comes to the beautiful city of Prague - obviously, since we are getting married there! That said, in all, the hotel was clean, well-located and was very good value for the price that we paid. We would stay again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex did not have life access that we were aware of and we did have to climb steep sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel with my wife in the end of December 2011- beginning of January 2012. The hotel is located in a small street, the safe area and while coming by car you will be checked by police which is 7days/24 hours there. The hotel is located in rather small building, but our room was enormously big which is absolutely fantastic to have in central and western Europe! You could hardly reach the bathroom from the bed %-))
Everything was clean, douche and bath gel and shampoo are with Dead Sea minerals, breakfast was ok, but not more (variety is too poor for a 4* hotel), but the quality of food was no problem. Another small missing point was a good mattress – they must have change mattresses several month ago.
The city center could be reached from the hotel within 15-20 minutes walking which seems fair, but not too close.
Hotel got own garage, but with car size starting from D-class you could have problems with space – it is too narrow, so I would recommend to contact the hotel staff in advance to get the exact size of the parking space.
We had just a few contacts with hotels staff so can say nothing special, but they were rather friendly.
All in all I would surely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Located in a quiet area of prague, within about 10 min walk of either charles bridge or the castle. Hotel had loads of character. The reception staff were lovely and welcoming, we always found them to be very helpful. We found that the breakfast selection was better earlier during the breakfast period. Our balcony room was amazing - very spacious and comfortable (we were on the first floor, first one at the top of the stairs).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Very spacious room and large bathroom. Our room faced a garden and was very quiet. The staff was not too helpfull. When we arrived there were some painting going on and my husband got some white paint on his jacket. The staff didn't seem to bother when we showed them the jacket. There might be some language problems though.The hotel offered transfer from the airport but it was cheaper to order taxi on the internet. Breakfast was average - but not bad. Otherwise the hotel was nice and we would stay there again if the price is still good on our next visit. So much to see and do in Prague and the hotel is located near to the Castle and to Charles-bridge. Some good restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The room was very large as well as the bathroom. Bathroom seemed newly redone. Very clean and quaint room. It faced the street which was quite noisy at night. Also, the room did not have air nor a fan and it got rather warm. The mattress also needs to be replaces but we did get used to it.The temperature was in the 70's. Buffet breakfast we found to be more than expected. We always got there early so plenty of food. As others have said felt safe as American embassy was close and police checking cars.( it appeared to be routine). Front desk was helpful in arranging a cab for us when we arrived in Prague and answered all our emails about transportation to Vienna. We booked this hotel on a recommendation and we were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street. You will not hear the walking and car traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is well located close to the American Embassy and therefore the area is very secured and definitely quiet at night. Its close to Nerudova street which is the beautiful walk to the castle! The Charllesbridge is a very short walk! The room (Room 12) where we were was nice and quite big, but I saw other rooms on the its website even bigger. The only down side is that the bed mattress (where we were) was quite uncomfortable so they gave us another thicker blanket to ease a bit ( we tried the another room- 51 but the mattress were the same.). The breakfast could be better if they would have 2 servants to facilitate the refilling of food. The breakfast selection is good. The receptionists could perhaps be more "interested" with their clients. They seem distant and aloof. The person on duty in the evening is practically "glued" on the computer watching his soap-operas, he cant even greet a "hello" or a goodnight!

Room Tip: Room 12 is convenient to the dining/breakfast room as it is on the ground floor. Its quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Constans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constans Hotel

Address: Bretislavova 309 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#52 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#58 Business Hotel in Prague
#157 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Constans Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Constans is located in the historical center of Prague - directly under Prague Castle. There are 31 spacious luxuriously furnished rooms. Due to its location and larger than standard rooms, it is the ideal place not only for business clientele, who especially appreciate the quiet environment in the centre, but also for those, who wish to spend unforgettable moments in historic Prague’s romantic environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Constans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constans Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.