We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location for tourists, strange pricing practices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel International Prague

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel International Prague to your Saves list
Hotel International Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koulova 15, Prague 160 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Prague) (Praha 6)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 663 Hotels in Prague
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor location for tourists, strange pricing practices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Pros:
- Nice toiletries
- A nice fruit plate and bottle of water were provide in the room upon check in.
- Some of the front desk staff can be very professional and helpful.

Cons:
- Location!
Very residential neighborhood, not a lot in way of restaurants or cafes or things to do.
If you are visiting Prague as a tourist, it is best to stay in districts 1 and 2.

- Almost slimy sales tactics:
1. Our room did not come with breakfast. So we were told that if we prepay for breakfast at check in, it's 10 Euros pp. If you go directly to restaurant in the mornings, it is 20 Euros pp. The logic beats me. Anyway, we ended up having breakfast outside for less than the equivalent of 5 Euros each.

2. The hotel cab service is a rip-off. 590 Krona to airport. We ended up booking a Fair Place taxi. Cost 380 Krona. Although, that was at 630am.

- Expect water on the bathroom floor after shower.

- Ragged carpeting and musty smell throughout the hall ways. Not sure these have been updated since 1970.

I would say that if you have to be in District 6 then it's ok. Else it's simply not worth it.

Room Tip: Higher than 8th floor may provide Prague castle views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel International Prague, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear StarvingActor,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We strive everyday to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret you were not satisfied with the overall condition of your bathroom. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    268
    131
    24
    14
See reviews for
92
200
39
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a room facing the garden and it was fairly quiet because we don't have the buses and cars. Getting into the main tourist areas was a 20 minute tram ride away. Since we stayed on this side of the city, it was also very convenient to get to bus/train stations for our excursions to Cesky Krumlov, Karlory Vary and Kutna Hora. I do have to agree with the other reviews that the rooms look dated, I haven't see a 14" CRT TV in a long time (see picture).

The price of dining at the hotel is ridiculous. We found a Chinese restaurant with an English menu south of the hotel (see picture) and the beer was only $1.30 USD. For coffee, there's a cafe even further south of this hotel, too bad they're not open on weekends (see picture).

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for Garden View room. Rooms with a view of the city will face the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent 3 nights there last week, Thanks to Priceline. Be careful getting hotels in Prague through priceline. You will get stock. We could have had better hotels in the center of Prague. This place needs to be remodeled big time. The carpets in our floor (6th floor) were 100 years old, smelly and old. They should have been replaced many years ago. All amenities were pretty old. The staff were very helpful though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel International Prague, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Payam M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Now I was in Prague for 2 nights and while the first I spent in Inter Continental which is next to the Old Sq., I got a great deal for the 2nd night on this Crowne Plaza which is a short tram ride from the city center. And considering that for most part of the 2nd day too I was in the city center only, I only took my bags from Inter Conti at 8 in the evening so worked out perfectly well and I dont feel much fuss in moving hotels when it means a good enough difference. So when I was all done with my Prague tour, I checked in to this hotel just for the night as had to leave for the airport next mrng. Still for the time I was here, I loved it all ends up. Nice exteriors to begin with, gives you a palace like feel, added to it is an expansive lobby. I got a nice upgrade to the Club Lounge which worked just well for the breakfast which had a very nice spread. Rooms were good sized too and had windows on 2 sides which provided a nice view of the vicinity. Prague looked to be one of the greenest cities and so was visible from this hotel's windows. Hotel is very close to the airprot and number 119 bus runs at 10 minute frequency from Dejvicks which is less than 10 mnts walk from the hotel or you can catch a tram right outside the hotel as well for a shrot 3-4 mnt ride to Dejvicka.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed on level 7 of the Crowne Plaza for 5 nights (business).Front desk service was attentive and prompt and is the reason I rated the hotel so highly. Lobby was quite grand in a late seventies Socialist kind of way. Elevators were functional but tended to be a bit of a puzzle. The main elevator lobby was only for used to go to the "executive" floor. The room, though small, was well equipped and comfortable. Good heat and pressure in the shower. AC worked well (don't try using the TV controls for this). Room was quiet even though it faced the street. My rate included breakfast; selection was good although the staff seemed overwhelmed at peak times. Several large tour groups use the hotels are are notorious for grabbing up on fruit and bread for later snacks. Wired internet in the room (charge); free wi-fi in the lobby and bar but can get jammed with users in the morning hours (until the tour buses depart). Overall a reasonable place to stay; close to the excellent metro/tram for access to key sights in Prague.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Crown Plaza building is incredible: a pure communism era styled building: tall, strong and tough...The furniture inside needs some renovations or refitting and expecially the moquette is sometimes in poor conditions. Despite that rooms are large and silent with a very good mattress that raise up sleeping quality. All the basic services are available, such bars, wifi (not everywhere), auto-climate, minibar, sat tv, safe and a wide wardrobe. The waiters are kind, english speaking and since the tourism high school is inside the hotel are often students. Breakfast, typically continental, is not bad and have a very good peak in pastries always fresh and tasty, but the fruit is poor quality just like espresso (cappuccino is better...) and is not so easy to find the cups to have a tea or coffee...The position is not so far from city centre since you need to catch tram nr. 8 or a taxi for more or less 180 or 300 kr (in the night). Going by feet is not adviceable overnight. Satying at crown plaza is a good experience with in line prices for comfort and services, so you can have a good choice in this hotel and axpecially a good quality of rest and sleep!

Room Tip: if you can choose 2nd or 3 rd floor 'cause levators are small and a few so you can enjoy .....st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Seeing that I'm used to American sized beds as well as 'settings' in general, I'd have to say that the sleeping arrangement was decent. The club lounge was 'fully' stocked to eurpoean standards and was equipped with a Mac computer. The hotel is big and has a lot of history behind it. The view from upstairs at the top was nice as well. The front desk staff did as much as they could to help us with our night life adventures as well as the bar staff was super friendly. WARNING: This is a smoking hotel, you are able to smoke in the lobby in the bar area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel International Prague, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear SMarie_21,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a great one.

Thank you again for choosing us, and taking the time to share your feedback. I hope you had a wonderful vacation, and should you have any future accommodation needs, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you home again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#278 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Lindner Hotel Prague Castle
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#176 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Panorama Hotel Prague
Panorama Hotel Prague
#213 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#157 of 663 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Pyramida Praha
Hotel Pyramida Praha
#368 of 663 in Prague
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel International Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel International Prague

Address: Koulova 15, Prague 160 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Prague)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#207 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel International Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel International Prague - The Place To Meet in Prague, the mysteriously magical city with One Hundred Spires! Hotel International Prague is located just a quick drive from the Prague Airport, local offices (SUN, Siemens, Canon, Uniqa, Olympus) and within a short distance of Prague Castle and the city centre. Dating back to 1950s it has a long history and shows elements of art deco style. Many of 254 luxurious and spacious rooms and suites have a breathtaking view of Prague. Hotel International Prague offers one of the largest conference facilities in Prague. With 15 meeting rooms and the Congress Hall for up to 380 guests, Hotel International Prague is a perfect convention location. All meeting rooms have a daylight and air-condition system. The Sky Lounge at the rooftop level of the Tower has been inspired by nature and designed as the 'hotel within a hotel.' It caters to all those who enjoy ultimate privacy and personalised service. Escort yourself to the magnificent 360 view across the city, including the Prague Castle area. The 'Harvest' Restaurant with Czech and international Cuisine pampers all gourmets with extraordinary culinary delights. The Armstrong Bar is the right place simply to relax. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel International Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Prague
Crowne Plaza Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel International Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.