We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another socialistic relict - but great for budget and backpackers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Botel Vodnik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Botel Vodnik to your Saves list
Botel Vodnik
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strakonicka ulice, Prague 15000, Czech Republic (Praha 5)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #528 of 661 Hotels in Prague
'round the word
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Another socialistic relict - but great for budget and backpackers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel boat is quite big (bigger then other botels in Prague) and on very good position in city. Its very close on tube and also very close to bus station where starts and finish buses heading to south cities (Like Cesky Krumlov, etc). Twin room is significantly bigger then other botels in Prague but on everything you can feel and see that its original from socialism times. Room was clean, bathroom could be little bit cleaner, but its still on safe level. If you will be lucky and get room that is in direction of river you will experince genial calmness and very nice view in the middle of the city. And i personally love to be waken by ducks beneath the window which is very natural. Breakfast is nothing extra but if you need something special go to italian market over the street (i didnt notice unfortunatelly opening times) . Btw boat has very nice terrace with bar for afternoon beer etc..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
7
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this Botel when we visited Prague and I must say it was a novel experience - staying on a Botel. It was a very calm location and the views were very good.
They have a restaurant as well on the terrace deck which dishes out some very good Czech Food, my favorite was a Cutlet / Hash-brown kinda thing which was filled with molten cheese on the inside and crispy on the outside. Absolutely loved it. The spaghetti was good as well.
The complimentary breakfast that was served also had a pretty good spread. All in all, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Go for a room with views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed here with my boyfriend from Germany and it was really nice and enjoyable. I really liked breakfast buffet and the restaurant and terace area with unique view. Therefore we have spent a lot of time here, drinking, eating and just enjoying the area:) The staff on the reception and restaurant has obviously changed, they were really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 307 - Apartement is the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good location, nice people, great food (really satisfied with everything we got) ... I have been there before 2 years and many things changed ... ideal for young people and students, good value for money ...

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am Czech and I know Prague very well but this is definitely not something I would recommend to anyone. There are way more better places for a better rate.

This hotel is just smelly (starting at the reception), offers food you would not even give to your dog and the service is simply a catastrophe.

The manager is simply an arrogant person, who should seriously change his job as he doesn't do anything to satisfy or even welcome guests. Even though you would accept the miserable circumstances on this boat, he's the one who makes everything even worse with his completely inefficient, unfriendly and incapable presence.

Rooms are filthy, basically the whole boat smells and beside this, they're charging you for everything extra money.

Summed up simply a huge DISASTER!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My experience was less traumatic than some of the other reviewers on here. I went in with low expectations and they were met. The staff had my reservation, the room was reasonably clean if spartan, the location was convenient for me. The restaurant food was passable and cheap. The staff if not very friendly or efficient, answered my questions and requests. There was no room cleaning for the enitre week I was there and the hall lights had some weird timer that left you sprinting to get your door open before it went pitch black. I would say it was similar to a budget hotel in Serbia or Russia. If you are strapped for cash, you could probably do worse, but I would recommend going somewhere else if you can.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girne, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Only good thing is the location of the botel ! rest of them was nightmare for me.. we ordered 3 room, they only reserve us 2! luckily we found a one at least !! my room wasn't look like "clean" and smells like something bed besides of them there wasn't any blind !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Botel Vodnik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Vodnik

Address: Strakonicka ulice, Prague 15000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #528 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Vodnik 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Botel Vodnik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botel Vodnik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.