We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) to your Saves list
Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Lorraine65
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Prague where we stayed at The Golden Well. This is just a fabulous hotel, from the moment we booked our room we received first class service from the wonderful staff. Really nice position under the castle walls. After checking in, our bags were taken up to our room whilst we were given a tour of the hotel and a welcome drink on the terrace, where we were given a map and advice as to where each place of interest may be. Our room was very nice (25), a view over the gardens and over the rooftops down over the city..wonderful. An ipod and an ipad were included in the room, which we found very useful for mapping our days. The nightly turn-down service was topped off with a little snack - beautifully presented - left by the bed. Very large comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast in the restaurant was really good; such a wide choice for all tastes ... the yoghurt was just delicious! The staff at this hotel deserve all the praise lauded on them on Tripadvisor, they were all so nice, nothing was too much trouble, always polite..they make this hotel. We will definitely be returning to Prague and will be looking to rebook at The Golden Well.

Room Tip: Room 25 was very quiet...no traffic noise and hardly heard anyone else moving around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're delighted you felt completely welcome and content throughout your stay. We’ll be sure to pass along your sentiments to our team. We're glad you enjoy the breakfast on our property and hope you also explored the delicious cuisine options in the area. We are looking forward to your next visit at the Golden Well Hotel!

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    53
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
164
952
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Romantic, luxurious, centrally located, the best view in Prague -- what more could you ask for?

The Hotel Golden Well was home base for our destination wedding in late July. Our family and friends came from across America and stayed there all week. Good service can be tough to find in Prague, especially for picky Americans, but the staff went above and beyond expectations to cater to our every need. They arranged in-room massages, took care of transportation, found a great florists for bouquets (at the last minute!), and made fantastic restaurant recommendations. From the cool towel waiting for you in the lobby at check-in, to the sprawling tiled bath tubs and super comfy beds, this hotel has it all!

We celebrated our wedding on the breathtaking roof terrace restaurant. Situated just below the castle, it is the perfect setting for a romantic meal or wedding reception. The five-course tasting menu was inspired, and the wine was delightfully paired with it. The waitstaff were attentive, but not intrusive, and allowed us to stay as late as we wanted and even drink a bottle of scotch that one of the guests had brought.

We cannot thank the Golden Well enough for making our Prague wedding dreams come true! This is the best hotel in Prague!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a spectacular hotel, spotless, comfortable, the staff was courteous, remembered our names the entire stay (from front desk to restaurant). All the staff seemed to be strong in English. Blanka, whom we met on the internet before arriving and at the front desk when we walked in was overly helpful and pleasant. The food was tremendous, the wine list should suit most, the preparation expert. The restaurants were places to sit and admire the view of the city and the castle above. We have convinced two couples to book this hotel when they go to Prague. The location, while on a hill, is an easy walk when you learn to weave your way through the streets from St Nicholas and the Karluv Most. And Teresa, the restaurant on the top floor, was easily the best food we had during our entire trip, the selection was world class

Our room was clean and tastefully appointed, the soaps and additions first class, each room comes with its own iPad, very handy in planning tours and walks in this fascinating city.

We will be returning next summer, hopefully there will be room for us. This is a great find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had never been to Prague before and wanted to find comfortable, inviting accommodations. The Golden Well was the perfect choice. The room was charming. There was fruit in our room at the end of every day and cake left bedside at turn down. The staff was genuinely kind and helped us with travel arrangements and a tour. The location is hard to beat. The steps out of the hotel lead you to the entrance of the Prague Castle. It was an amazing trip and The Golden Well made it really special. Thank you to the staff....truly exceptional. The breakfast was delicious. - the homemade yogurt - you have never eaten anything so delicious. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronxville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Golden Well exceeded all our expectations. My husband was quite sick when we arrived. Within an hour, thanks to a lovely concierge, he was seeing an excellent doctor and on the road to recovery. Our room, the staff, the incredible location of the hotel just beneath Prague's Royal Palace, and, notably, the three dining levels atop the hotel providing both staggering views of this fabulous city and gourmet food, made for an unbelievable vacation experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Golden Well for our honeymoon. We had a beautiful room (no 15) with views over the terraced gardens and Prague. Our room had a beautiful painted wooden ceiling. There were so many unexpected special touches which enhanced our stay. When we were shown to our room the Ipod had been switched on and was playing classical music, All rooms were provided with an Ipad to use, gratis. Fresh fruit was put in our room each day and a good night pastry appeared on our bedside tables each night upon our return from our evenings out. Every day between 4 and 6 pm the hotel provided tasty appetizers and wine in their lounge, which gave an opportunity for guests to socialize, which we enjoyed. All the staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome, The location was perfect, tucked away from the noise and hubbub, but just a 5 minute walk to the busy local square and 10 or so minutes to Charles Bridge. The castle is accessed by a door at the far end of the top terrace restaurant. We had a breakfast at the hotel which was amazing. Start off with the home made yogurt, the best we have ever had. The eggs Benedict was superb. Based upon our room and our overall experience we recommend this classy, charming and serene hotel. One thing to be aware of in Prague is trying to buy tram tickets. As we had bought tickets for the 22 tram from a ticket machine we found by a tram stop, we assumed that all stops had a ticket machine. Not so, Locals told us we had to get a ticket from a Metro. We could not find a local Metro and ended up walking instead, which we had not planned to do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Golden Well in Prague for four nights, Aug 3-6 this year. it is perhaps the best hotel experience we have ever had. The room was perfect. The location is wonderful with remarkable views and easy access to the Prague Castle. The staff, however, are what make this hotel. They are helpful and pleasant. They seem to genuinely enjoy their work and make you feel completely at home. Prague is a wonderful city to visit and The Golden Well is one of the reasons to go there. The restaurant is also fantastic, wonderful food, service and a view that is the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest

We are really happy to hear that this has been one of the best hotels you have been to. We are even happier to hear that our staff and the location of the hotel contributed to ensure your stay was so memorable.

Thank you for having shared this experience and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#2 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#29 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.