We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! What a wonderful experience! AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) to your Saves list
Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Oxford, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“WOW! What a wonderful experience! AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visited the Golden Well last week for a long weekend to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We chose the hotel because of the good reviews and following recommendations from many friends - both those from Prague and those from abroad - and we were not disappointed in any way.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel extremely special and welcome. On arrival, after being shown to our wonderful room, we were given a welcome drink and offered a map, walking tours and any other advice about the area that we wanted. From that moment on, every wish was taken care of to the utmost degree and we truly felt very special and pampered. The staff were amazing (Simon especially could not have been more helpful) and they happily and readily accommodated our every wish.

From the fruit and wine in our room to the the morning coffee and pastries, from the nightly turndown service with cake to the wonderful gifts for our anniversary and from the drinks and nibbles every afternoon to all the wonderful help and advice we were totally spoiled - not to mention the amazing new bathrooms and the new loos in particular - but you will have to discover those for yourself!

As for dinner, we took the hotel's recommendation and dined out at The Blue Duck one evening, which was superb, but the best thing about our trip was the dinner we took in the restaurant at the hotel - amazing food, fabulous service (Lukas our waiter was brilliant) and delicious wine, not to mention the unique view of Prague which is to die for. Our romatic evening was amazing - thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough - if you do not stay here during your stay in Prague, it is your loss. What a find - we will definately be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe room which was fantastic and could not have asked for more with a fantastic vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Golden Well Hotel and I believe that our service and staff helped you to make your 10th wedding anniversary most enjoyable and unforgettable.

We have just recently finished the renovation of bathrooms and regarding to your comment I can see that we did the good job - I am happy that you like it!

Thank you for review and I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcoming you back at the Golden Well.

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    53
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
164
952
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This small but luxurious hotel has a wonderful location, and service is just as expected.
Staff was friendly and helpful, even if sometimes accent was a bit hard to understand.
Room was very nice, bathroom and windows are a bit small, but considering european standards expecially in older buildings, that's normal.
Will return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 and couldn't be happier. The service was uniformly outstanding: From our initial inquiry to check-out, every detail was attended to. Every staff whom we encountered --at the reception desk, in the restaurant, housekeeping, and the hotel drivers-- was uniformly polite, friendly, and solicitous, and yet not overly so to the point where one begins to feel uneasy, as if things were scripted somehow. A few examples: We miscalculated and arrived at the Prague Castle just as it was closing; the hotel car had just left, so we had to call for it to come back to pick us up. Back at the hotel, while we were relaxing in their library, the Concierge came up to ask if there was a problem that prompted our earlier-than-expected return, and if there was something else she could have arranged. During our stay, their hugely popular restaurant Terasa was closed one night for a private function; the staff could not be more apologetic or helpful with our room service orders. We had to leave very early in the morning for our flight,so the staff offered to pack for us our abundant continental breakfasts, complete with hot coffee for us to enjoy during the ride to the airport!

We had asked for 2 Grand Deluxe rooms with a view, at a small additional charge. The bedrooms were not huge, but very comfortable with a separate writing desk and a small table with 2 armchairs. We found our bathrooms to be actually quite spacious. The decor is a litlle old-fashioned (it looks like that there is some refurbishing going on right now), but the room wifi worked like a charm, and the iPod and the iPad that came with the room were nice touches (as well as the sweets that come with the turndown service!). Breakfast in their restaurant Terasa is a beautiful and elegant affair: a full buffet spread and a very complete cook-to-order a la carte menu, all with a fabulous view of Prague!

We also liked the location, in a quieter and well-heeled section of Prague, close to several embassies as well as their Parliament, yet only about 10 minutes on foot to the Mala Strana Metro stop, and about 15-20 minutes of a leisurely walk to Charles Bridge. (BTW, we found the Metro system to be very efficient, inexpensive, and easy to use.) Having stayed in the Old Town section earlier in our visit, we enjoyed staying here, where we found a bit of a respite from the crowds,

Room Tip: The Grand Deluxe rooms are worth the small additional charge: they are a little more spacious, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Golden Well is a small but quaint hotel in the perfect location. My husband and I stayed here over a long weekend with two close friends. The rooms were very nice, but the bathrooms are absolutely tiny and not comfortable at all. When paying this much for a room, we are used to having a separate shower but had a bathtub with a sloping ceiling so we couldn't even stand up if we wanted to... That was our only disappointment with the hotel though (and why only 4 of 5 rating). The breakfast was fantastic with small buffet, excellent coffee/tea service and plenty of menu options. Tried something new each morning and everything was always delicious. We had our “welcome drink” for breakfast one morning (mimosa) on the terrace and the views are incredible! The afternoon hors d’oeuvres and wine definitely added to the 5-star feel along with the pastry treats in the room every night. The restaurant and hotel staff are superbly trained and made our stay very memorable. Parking is at a nearby sister hotel (same with the fitness center), but safe and not too far of a walk (expensive though!). I’d stay here again in a heartbeat (in a room with a real shower;) ).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel over the summer. Nice location and view from the restaurant is fantastic. I was a little disappointed with the small windows from the room, but the room was so comfortable, that I got over this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here in September 2012 with my husband for 3 nights. An adorable hotel that has me wanting to return to Prague simply to stay there again. It's expensive but you can see what you're paying for. A refreshing glass of bubbly and amuse-bouches on the terrace on arrival, and an overview of the city given by a very welcoming staff member. He was very happy to answer any questions and provide suggestions on where to start exploring this beautiful city. Before bed each night we were delighted to discover freshly made profiterles/chocolates/strawberry treats on our pillow.

Breakfast is a lavish feast, best breakfast I have had in any hotel worldwide, all served in their beautiful restaurant with a panaromic view of the city.

Bonus: they provide (unlimited) delicious czech wine every evening between 5-7pm in the library together with fresh juice/mineral water and nibbles. Its a genuinely nice aperitif, compared with other hotels which offer the same but dont deliver in terms of wine quality etc.

I think very fondly of this hotel and have no hesitation in saying it's the nicest place we have stayed in a long while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I'm not sure that my review will really do justice to our stay at the Golden Well, it was simply sublime! From the simple luxury of the room, to the delicious breakfast and wonderful service we felt like royalty throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderfully friendly staff; I even returned from a night at the opera on the my birthday to find a birthday cake (that looked like a work of art) left in our room, complementary of the hotel. The restaurant also arranged to open late for us to have room service when we returned from the opera that evening. I can not rate this hotel highly enough, I was just disappointed not to have had time to fit in a meal at the highly acclaimed hotel restaurant, there is simply too much to see in the evening in Prague.
To sum up our stay in one word; magical!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#29 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.