We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) to your Saves list
Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 662 Hotels in Prague
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for five nights in September and the whole experience was faultless. It is a beautiful property in a quiet location, but still an easy walking distance to all the major sights.
Breakfast was really gorgeous, so much choice and all freshly prepared. I particularly enjoyed their home-made yoghurts with fruit compote - yum!
Also loved the espresso machine in the guest lounge, as well as the wine and nibbles every afternoon - once again, all freshly made in the hotel.
Our room was comfortable and well-equipped, we were even provided with our own personal iPad, something which I have never known before - and believe me I stay in a LOT of hotels.
What really made our stay special, however, was the service. All the staff that we encountered were, without fail, courteous and efficient, yet managed to be warm and friendly at the same time.
We may well return to Prague one day, as we would like to see some more of this lovely city, but we would also like to return to Prague just so that we can stay at this hotel again.
A big thank you to all the staff - you are the ones who really make the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    53
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
164
954
42
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Private gate to palace grounds. Open-air restaurant with heat lamps on top floor with amazing view of Prague. Small, personalised, friendly service. Scented washcloths offered upon arrival at reception, and before dinner. Little cakes under a glass dome on the bedside at bedtime. Fresh fruit in the room, truffles as well on the first day. They ask, "Is there anything we can do to make you feel good, or better, or satisfied?" 400 complimentary DVDs, including ones filmed in Prague (e.g. Mission Impossible 1 & 4). Depending on room, iPad & iPod in room. Wonderful bath products. Lots of pillows, plus pillow menu... A short walk to Charles Bridge, St. Nicholas Square, Prague Palace... Interesting maze of hallways and lounges (indoor & out)... an awesome place to come if it fits in your budget.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The sum total of staff attention, location, atmosphere, food, and generous attention to detail results in our high recommendation of the Golden Well.
No sounds of traffic could be heard from our spacious room, just the incredible view of Prague. After a lovely day walking around the Prague Castle & St. Vitus’ Cathedral, we walked through the castle gardens, through the hotel gate, into THE BEST RESTURANT in Prague, “Terasa” at U Zlaté Studné, at the top of the Golden Well hotel. Dining here was an experience in decadence. For dinner, we selected the “Menu de Dégustation”, the food & wine pairing, which we highly recommend and will remember forever with much pleasure. Each morning’s breakfast presented fresh, delicious and varied selections (truffle eggs!), afternoon “tea” brought wine and cheese, and each night ended with selections of pastries or chocolates. Both the hotel and restaurant staff were gracious and thoughtful, spoke perfect English, and gladly arranged theatre and opera tickets and all our other requests. We will look for reasons to return to the Golden Well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Fantastic location, we were able to walk to every major tourist attraction. Personal espresso machine in room was a great touch. We especially enjoyed the complimentary afternoon drinks and nibbles. The terrace restaurant had a fantastic view and service. The restaurant is world class. Last year it was voted #1 in Prague When in Prague this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The greeting, the room, the staff, the turn down service, the espresso machine, the fabulous breakfast all led to one of our favorite hotel stays. We were tired after two weeks of traveling and the Goldenwell was a perfect match for tired torist needing to be spoiled. A must!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed at a lot of "world class" hotels and I can not remember being treated as nicely as my experience at The Golden Well. From the moment we arrived on the property we were warmly greeted, provided a brief tour of the key features of the hotel, given a glass of champagne, and finally escorted to our room. The service and attention from all staff members was outstanding. All staff members were warm and friendly in attending to our requests.
Other hotel staffs should visit the Golden Well to see how a truly customer focused hotel is operated.
The location is excellent. It is near the castle with it's own entrance. Just minutes from a tram stop and a 10 minute walk to the Charles Bridge.
Breakfast is a treat as you look over the Old City - the view is magnificent. The food and service at breakfast in a word was - superb.
The restaurant is the best in town. The food and service again is impeccable. The view at night from the terrace memorable.
This was one of our best hotel experiences in a long, long time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Goldenwell was a truly remarkable experience. I don't believe we have ever been treated so well. The staff spent a great amount of time showing us the hotel, pointing out that all the art-work is original, and showing us the restaurant, instead of merely telling us where it is. The views are spectacular and the room cozy. Every night, there was a sweet treat awaiting us! I believe we were upgraded because it was our wedding anniversary, we had 3 windows that looked upon the beauty that is Prague. The hand written note wishing us well was a special touch and it meant a great deal to us, along with a grand dessert and wine. The morning breakfast was pleasurable as was the very wonderful staff. I would not stay any place else in Prague other than The Golden Well. It was by far the best hotel experience we've ever had.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the city or gardens. We had both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#29 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.