We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) to your Saves list
Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Hradcany & Letna)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 663 Hotels in Prague
Tulsa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

First; what it is not: If you are looking for a big name-brand hotel and spa, right by the hustle-bustle of Charles Bridge with a night-club and a bar – then this is not for you.

But, in terms of attention to detail and creating a wonderful and wonderfully intimate experience of and in Prague, this hotel is "it". I can say for myself and my wife that we have never stayed anywhere around the world in any hotel (more expensive, less expensive, in any country or on any continent) that delivered such a warm and welcoming experience.

For the location: You are right by the gardens, by the palace. Indeed, you cannot drive a large car to the front door, because it is nestled "into the wall", accessible through a very small street (of course, they will fetch your luggage from the car, etc.). From the hotel restaurant you have a "secret" pathway to the gardens, and up to the castle and the cathedral (this is closed in the winter). You are approximately 10 minutes walking (max) to Charles bridge, and 10 minutes (uphill..) to the palace and cathedral. The hotel is also right by the parliament and close to various (beautiful! Embassies), so you will feel extra safe even late at night because there is security around everywhere (not that we ever felt we needed it). You are also 10 minutes from the subway, and there are several small traditional bars and restaurants, and various small convenience stores nearby (ask the hotel staff; they may not be easy to find because they don't have big "shiny signs" [luckily!], but they are there). You are also minutes away from magnificent cathedrals and churches, concerts, and so on.

This is a historic building with many very interesting architectural details and treasures. So don't expect large shiny windows everywhere; but of course the inside is fully updated and impeccably clean. Most importantly, the views from the various balconies is nothing short of breathtaking. We will forever treasure the evenings on the small terrace below the restaurant which we had to ourselves practically every evening during our stay in the Spring. I am not exactly a "romantic guy", but this will bring the romance back into your live: It is sheer beauty and majesty to look down on the ancient city of Prague, enjoying a glass of wine (or Czech beer) and sitting on a comfortable couch with your loved one. These are experiences that are truly priceless.

And then there is the service. The crew at the Golden Well defines service-orientation. There isn't much else to say: Whatever you want or need, or have questions about: They are there for you, enthusiastically assisting you to guarantee you get the most out of your vacation or stay.

We personally also loved the "happy hour" from 4-5 in the "lounge". There is complimentary wine, snacks, seasonal sweets, etc. It is really fun, and because the hotel is small, you will actually get to know interesting fellow travelers from all over the world, and learn about their favorite cathedral, concerts, etc.

There are many other things I could add: The complimentary real-live Christmas tree and champagne in our room during our last stay; the wakeup coffee and croissant delivered to your room; the incredible breakfast buffet, the wonderful staff at breakfast, the incredible restaurant, etc. etc.

Anyway, we won't ever stay anywhere else, and it is because of this hotel that Prague will be a revolving destination for our travels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    54
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
170
1,001
43
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I cannot praise this hotel enough. Apart from the wonderful rooms, the views of the old town from the dining room, the outstanding breakfasts which include sparkling wine, the plates of biscuits on offer in reception, what makes it so special is the friendliness of the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make our 2 night stay special and nothing was too much trouble. I have stayed in many hotels and have rarely seen service levels like this!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

This hotel was worth every penny. It is an oasis of calm and luxury in a beautiful city. The view from our room was beautiful morning and night. We had lunch in the restaurant the first day and dinner there our last evening (we stayed three nights). Excellent food and service that was professional and very friendly. The staffngoesnout of their way to make guests comfortable. We wanted to finish our bottle of wine in the comfort of our room, and rather than having us take it, the waiter personally brought the wine to our room. The hotel also arranged transportation to the airport and was very helpful with tickets, advice about Prague, etc. we would definitely stay at the Golden Well again.

Room Tip: Go for a larger deluxe view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We booked this hotel to celebrate my 40th birthday. It was booked based on the fantastic reviews previously posted and I am pleased to say it both met and exceeded my expectations. I absolutely loved it. Everything you want from a hotel, particularly when celebrating a special occasion. The hotel was beautiful, it had a fabulous location and the lovely staff provided superb service. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My partner book this wonderful hotel for one week. The hotel and staff were fantastic. They were very knowledgeable about the area and helped plan day trips and events. The restaurant made us a tasters vegetarian dinner which was out of this world. The hotel is within the castle wall and has access to its own private castle gardens.

Room Tip: Save room for desert, they include a sweet snack at turn down every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

The staff at Golden Well are so friendly, attentive and helpful. As soon as you arrive they go out of their way to make you feel confortable and every little detail is thought of. The hotel is in the quiet side of Prague, but it's a short walk into the town centre and you are very near the castle. It's nice to come back here and chill.

I can't recommend this place highly enough - welcome drinks, drinks and nibbles every night, turn down service, amazing breakfast (that is worth the price) and a high quality restaurant that is is worth visiting if you feel like treating yourself.

Gorgeous hotel in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at the Golden Well for 10 nights in September and truly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is charming and in a perfect quiet location off the beaten path and away from the tourist traffic near Charles Bridge. Our room was large, quiet and well appointed with nightly turn down service complete with dessert and fresh bottled water. Breakfast was included in our room price and was a gourmet experience, with great service and the dining room had a terrific view of Prague. It was a very nice way to start each day. Dinner at the Hotel's rooftop restaurant offered wonderful cuisine, impeccable service with a magically breathtaking view of the Prague skyline - don't miss it! Be sure to ask about the shortcut to Prague Castle from the rooftop restaurant. You will avoid MANY uphill and then downhill steps walking the "long way" around by taking the short cut - and save LOTS of time when visiting Prague Castle or Lobkowicz castle, etc. We used the hotel airport transportation to and from the airport and found it to be reliable and punctual and recommend this service. We truly enjoyed our visit to Prague and loved the Golden Well. It's a very special hotel, conveniently located and perfect in every way!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Pod Vezi
Pod Vezi
#3 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel
Aria Hotel
#10 of 663 in Prague
5.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well (U Zlate Studne)

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Golden Well (U Zlate Studne) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.