We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great site to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Synagogue (Spanelska Synagoga)

Spanish Synagogue (Spanelska Synagoga)
Vezenska 1, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Praha 1)
224-819-456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 277 Attractions in Prague
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built on the site where The Old Shul (oldest Jewish prayer house) once stood, the Moorish-style synagogue houses exhibitions retelling the history of the Bohemian and Moravian Jews from the end of the 18th century through World War II.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great site to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were not that interested in Jewish issues, but this synagogue was right across the street from where we ate lunch, so we peaked in. So beautiful and so rare to see the Moorish style in the center of Europe!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    371
    74
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boom, Belgium
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
216 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“ok, nothing more nothing less”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I visited the entire Jewisch museum (all buildings) and they are ok but the price (about 20 euro including the old new sinagoge) is too high. I would recommend to only visit the "real" museum and not bother about the old new sinagoge (saving about 6 euro).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Simply incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I don't know if it is so important, but being a Catholic, I was never been in a Synagogue.- Perhaps that was the fact that made me consider so important this sacred place for the Jews.- Incidentally, in the surrounding streets of the Synagogue you will find surprising buildings and good shops.-

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Synagogue wonderful...employees, not so much..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful and quite moving to be there....the employees were a little rude and didn't seem very happy to have tourists.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Jewish Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We got a ticket for the Jewish sites (old Jewish Cemetary, Maisel Synagogue, Pinkas Synagogue, Klausen Synagogue, Ceremonial hall and the Spanish) 300Kc (about $15). The Spanish was the most visually spectacular. It was an interesting and moving morning visiting the sites, and something I can recomend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanish Synagogue (Spanelska Synagoga) also viewed

 

Been to Spanish Synagogue (Spanelska Synagoga)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Synagogue (Spanelska Synagoga), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.