We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mucha Hotel... not that much!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mucha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mucha to your Saves list
Hotel Mucha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sokolovska 26, Prague 180 00 , Czech Republic (Praha 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #323 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Mucha Hotel... not that much!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Definetelly not a 4 star hotel... It´s a great 2 star one!! But price & location not bad.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    142
    63
    30
    22
See reviews for
49
133
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Hotel reviews often say more about the reviewer than the hotel. That must be the reason for any really bad reviews of the Mucha.
For an amazingly low price, I got a big room with quaint antique-style furniture and loads of character, plus the largest hotel bathroom I've had in ages. The multi-lingual staff could not have been nicer. I had a great time in Prague, and the Hotel Mucha was a part of it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

The hotel looked very old and room was dirty: the furniture/beds were scratched, the carpet was with dirty stains, the walls in bathroom are dirty and there was spider's web at the lamps. The receptionist (the young man) was listening for something with headphones all time and did not pay any attention to the guests. but the worsest was breakfast! I have never seen such a terrible breakfast. The breakfast area was dark, not easy to find a table to seat and you had to take dirty dishes off yourself because the stuff was not around. The guests were stayed in a line waiting for coffe and milk. When I complained, the waitress replied very unfriendly and the explanation was that she had no time to bring food/coffe/milk in time because the kitchen was upstairs and that woman argued! And that lady was at work with the child who walked around all time! Next day we even did not go for such a horrible breakfast. I do not recomend this hotel. The servis is poor, the rooms are dirty, the stuff is unfriendly. It is a shame they call themselve Mucha hotel! I do not think this famous artist would be proud!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

I found the hotel on the internet and it was described asa 4 star hotel, with antique furniture. We stayed in room 13, the furniture was defnitely not antique, wardrobes were broken and the religious pictures on the wall was terrible. I don't know why the hotel is called Mucha, because there is hardly any trace of Mucha prints. The carpet in the room was filthy and although they offer room service, it was refused when we asked. The staff was very unfriendly and not helpfull at all, we seemed to be a nuisance to them. The dining room was the worst. Tables were not set and we were told to help ourselves and set our own table. I had to find sugar myself from the packet that was standing between the dirty dishes in the dining room. When other guests complained, the waitress started to scream to them and a huge argument broke out between guests and waitress,all this while we tried to eat the horrible breakfast. This is NOT a 4 star hotel, more like a 2 star. Please avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

The hotel seemed to have a religious attachment as every wall was adorned with pictures of Jesus in various poses. It was basic in style but clean and the breakfast was quite good. It boasted a sauna in the basement which we visited once. The area was in need of a paintbrush at the very least but it may have been attended to since then. It has it's own restaurant and whilst the food was quite basic it was well cooked and well presented and tasted very pleasant. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the main town. We would recomment the walking guided tour of which there are many. The one we went on only had us so we had the guides undivided attention. It included lunch and a boat ride.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

A lovely hotel,well run with friendly staff.Excellent restaurant at prices equivalent to anywhere else in the area. All rooms are individually furnished with antique furniture. rooms/bathrooms are very clean.Breakfast is of a good standard plenty of choice of hot & cold buffet which is kept topped up. Access is easy to all attractions via tram stop just a few yards up the road or by metro which is situated by the tram stop.Travel is cheap.The hotel can provide transport to & from the airport, a useful service. All in all a great place to stay. We highly recommend this hotel it was our second stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I went to this hotel as part of a round world holiday and so could compare it to other hotels all around the world but particularly other european hotels.

My wife and I had never been to Prague before and was so glad we stayed at this hotel. Not only did they help with transfers but really went out of their way to help and arrange anything we needed.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service was very personalised.

The location is a little bit out of the way but if you are street smart you won't have a problem.

Mainly though, the attitude and assistance of the staff who all spoke good english was superb. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone going to Prague without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mucha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mucha

Address: Sokolovska 26, Prague 180 00 , Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Family Hotel in Prague
#207 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#221 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mucha 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers an excellent location just walking distance from the Old Town Square, shopping area Na Poici and Wenceslas Square, the main Prague boulevard with many shops, restaurants and open air markets. The Neo-Renaissance building, offer comfortable accommodation in 39 rooms and suite comfortably equipped with antique furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mucha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mucha Hotel Prague
Hotel Mucha Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mucha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.