We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip with Friends.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mucha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mucha to your Saves list
Hotel Mucha
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sokolovska 26, Prague 180 00 , Czech Republic (Praha 8)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #323 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Trip with Friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very good location near the subway st. Florenc within easy reach of the Old Town. Nice and quiet room with continental self service breakfast and restaurant in the building. Whole building is decorated by Alfons Mucha's posters and paintings. Very nice and polite staff. The price/value ratio was very good. Even without AC the room was cool. We didn't need to use a fan. Breakfast bufet was good. The room service as well. Like this place.

Room Tip: We took an exclusive room named Karel Čapek. 1st floor. Courtyard oriented windows. No aircondtion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    142
    63
    30
    22
See reviews for
49
133
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed at this "4 star" hotel with some friends on our trip to Prague. We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Mucha and was far than ready to depart. The staff was accommodating, but the accommodations were not what we were looking for. There is no air conditioning, and during the summer when it reaches high temperatures, the rooms were even hotter than the air temperature outside. It was extremely difficult to get a good night's rest, even with the small floor fan we requested. The walk to Old Town was about 15 minutes, which wasn't bad, but there are a lot more hotels closer to town with air conditioning. The hotel's furniture and room was outdated. The shower in a room was basically a hose at my waist and I had to "hose" myself down to bathe. The walls in the room desperately needed painting. I just did not feel clean here. I would not recommend this hotel to others, and maybe in the winter months this hotel would be more realistic. "You get what you pay for" at Hotel Mucha.

Room Tip: Don't get a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Mucha. We could walk to the Old Town but transportation was excellent with the Metro, trams & buses nearby. We had a large room at the front with plenty of storage space, it was clean but "jaded" & could do with some refurbishment. The big downside was no air conditioning & a not too good fan. Although we were on the main street there was no noise with the windows closed but the room was then airless. The buffet breakfast was adequate & the staff in the hotel were very pleasant & helpful. Not a bad stay but not my idea of four star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurrieq, Malta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just been for a visit in Prague and lodged at hotel Mucha. The hotel is very good situated near Metro, staff behind desk was very friendly and breakfast good as well.
The only con is no airconditioning in the room. However with an open window, the room cooled up as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is very antique design with antique furniture and i liked it !!!!
When we was a dinning room and sauna flood by the river :) The hotel moved a dinning room to a restaurant ,very good breakfast , at least for vegetarians.

Room Tip: Ask room to a courtyard .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We pulled up to the hotel and I was a bit nervous because it didn't seem to be right up in town and almost seemed a bit seedy. But once we got settled in our very comfortable and large room I realized that it was only about a 10 minute walk (if that) to the main square. Even closer to get to the Paladium and it's on a main road in Prague.

I really enjoyed this hotel for the size and the location (at that price) was very fair. The breakfast in the morning was also a nice addition to get you going.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I suppose the old adage of buyer beware should be a personal mantra when shopping for a hotel online. I purchased two nights through Hot Wire under the guise of a 4 star hotel at a significant savings. Well, it turns out that it was not either. To be fair, I did not see other rooms. However, the space on my top floor single was impacted by the angle of the roof/ceiling, limiting the usable floor space. The bathroom had a rotting door jamb, no shower and a hand held sprayer with very low water pressure. All of this would be perfectly acceptable for a 2 star rating, not a 4 star. The front desk staff was excellent, but that doesn't overcome being sold the worst room in the place under false pretences.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 71.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mucha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mucha

Address: Sokolovska 26, Prague 180 00 , Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in Prague
#207 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#220 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mucha 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers an excellent location just walking distance from the Old Town Square, shopping area Na Poici and Wenceslas Square, the main Prague boulevard with many shops, restaurants and open air markets. The Neo-Renaissance building, offer comfortable accommodation in 39 rooms and suite comfortably equipped with antique furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mucha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mucha Hotel Prague
Hotel Mucha Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mucha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.