We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel pretending to be 4 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Na Porici 7 | Prague 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 1)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 1 night free
Ranked #72 of 661 Hotels in Prague
piedmont
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“3 star hotel pretending to be 4 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Life is all about expectations, and this hotel pretends to be a four star one. It is not. It's a perfectly fine three-star hotel, and if that's how they billed themselves, there wouldn't be any problems.

The rooms are extremely sparse, not even a clock radio. My room was festooned with cigarette burns in the carpet as well.

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and the location is quite nice. My room, facing the interior courtyard, was extremely quiet, which was surprising given the central location.

Bottom line: if you accept that this is a three star hotel and can get a good price commensurate with that ranking you'll enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the MGallery Praha Hotel Century Old Town. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, and mainly based on the missing clock radio.
On our modern satellite TV system, you can find a choice of radio. For the clock, most of our guests now are watching it on their cell phone that is why we don't have such equipment in our rooms.
Our hotel is an historical building classified. Build in 1895, it was a former insurance company where F.Kafka, the famous writer, was working. Due to that during the renovation we had to respect some architectural rules which are giving a unique charm to our hotel.
Thank you for mentioning the quality of the staff, the quietness of the room, the central position of the hotel, the quality of the breakfast, which is for us really important as a 4* hotel.
At M Gallery, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    466
    70
    16
    5
See reviews for
178
596
93
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I just got back from a long weekend in Prague and I really enjoyed our stay at the Century Old Town, which is located in a beautiful, historic building. The location is perfect, just next to the Palladium shopping mall and Namesti Republicky with several tram lines and metro. Also, very short walking distance to the Old town Square, St. Charles Bridge and many other sites.
The rooms, although a bit small, are quite nice and modern, with everything you might need, including toiletries, a minibar and a relatively large TV. The rooms only have showers (except for a suite I think), which is a bit unusual for a 4* hotel, but this did not have any negative impact on our stay. I had requested a quiet room on an upper floor and the silence was wonderful.
Breakfast, although not included with the room, is very substantial with an excellent selection of good quality breads, pastries, hot dishes, etc. However, breakfast finishes at 10:30 am which is not convenient, particularly on a weekend, which is why I only managed to have breakfast once, so an additional 30 minutes or even 1 hour would be a good idea. I had stayed at another 4* hotel in Prague a month before and breakfast was served until 11:30 am on weekdays and until 12:30 pm on weekends, which was really great. But again, this did not tarnish in anyway my opinion of the Century.
The staff, with very good English, couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. I saw several comments by French speakers here who were complaining that almost no one spoke French at the hotel, but then when you travel, especially to a country in Central Europe, you can't expect everyone to speak French even if it is a French hotel chain!! Mais bon, ça c'est les français...
Overall, an excellent hotel with very nice rooms and good service, which I highly recommend and would definitely return to without a moment's hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read these very nice comments on Tripadvisor and to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us!

For the shower in the room, our hotel is an historical building classified, and we had to respect some recommendation during the renovation, which is giving to the Century Old Town a unique charm.

Regarding breakfast, I’m very sorry if my staff didn'd respect the hours of opening because as you said, during the weekend the breakfast is until 11h in the restaurant and after it is in the bar. Please accept my sincere apologize. I will talk with the breakfast manager to be sure that such situation will not happen in the future.

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the french language. Anyway at the hotel for our fernch guest we are 3 of use speaking french including me as a french General Manager.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel already came with good reviews from tripadvisor which I can fully confirm. If I return to Prague I will definitely choose this hotel again. I would definitely recommend it to others. Super location, beautifully converted building, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these wonderful comments following your stay with us!

We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services were up to your expectations and I will certainly not fail to convey your remarks to the team.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Prague recently for 4 nights and have absolutely no complaints. It is a beautiful historic building which has been brilliantly renovated inside. The location is wonderful, located very close to the train station and also right next door to the huge Palladium shopping centre. The front desk staff are amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Their english is excellent and they are friendly and professional. The bellhop is just lovely. Rooms are lovely, not too big but scrupulously clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The wifi is free and works well. The breakfast is delicious with a wide range of foods available. Best to get to the Breakfast room a bit earlier as it can get very crowded, particularly on the weekends. The bar staff were also lovely. The hotel airport taxi is good value and certainly very handy, although the driver did rather drive very fast. We would thoroughly recommend this beautiful hotel to our friends and family and would most certainly stay here again on a return trip to Prague. One of the best hotels we stayed in on our trip through Europe.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room near the lifts as you can hear them during the night. Inner courtyard rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Your comments are truly appreciated.

I will share your message with all the team.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the Hotel Century Old Town

Sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on Business trip. Hotel is very conveniently located in the city centre only few meteres away form metro station in historical building where famous Franz Kafka was working. Check in and check out process was very smooth and efficient. Room with high celinigs is bright, good size with all standard amenties of 4 star hotel. Hotel is very clean. Breakfast has wide variety of products to choose from. Breakfast room is very nice and well appointed, in good weather you can eat in the inner courtyard. Did have drink in hotel's bar - was very good. Reception area is nice and welcoming. Hotel staff is very attentive and always ready to help. Hotel does provide very convenient limo transfer (on hotel's Skoda Superb) to airport at very reasonable rate. Definitely hotel can be recommended for both business and leisure stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and staff. Your comments are truly appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the team.

Regarding your picture, I can see that you were in our hotel before May because since the 29th of April the new breakfast area is open with much more space and new setup in the restaurant.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A collection hotel in a good locatation. Even though the original building is from Kafka time all hotel things are done not so long ago. All necessary things for 5 stars / collection hotel are present. Basic rooms are not so big but good european standard.Wifi-worked straight forward. We stayed twice and in different rooms; In the first room the room-service-info/ price list was missing, but all the things we needed was available nearby because we liked to go around.
Also it seems that the card readers in lifts are not trustworthy ( see also others comments).

Due to our group type the hotel was a hit. For the next visit (as a private trip) in Paraha I would consider also the Ibis next door.

Room Tip: Rooms with type 00x are in the enterance level; easy to enter for family or disabled. They are olso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Hôtel Century Old Town. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a conference I was attending, so was pleasantly suprised by the standard of the hotel.The room was a generous size & very clean. I was most impressed by the staff, and I mean every member of staff, they always greeted me in a friendly manner. the front desk staff were very helpful & nothing was ever too much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent.
If I return to Prague this will be the first hotel I try to book into in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor and to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for them.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you again!

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection

Address: Na Porici 7 | Prague 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Prague
#54 Business Hotel in Prague
#60 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#61 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Old Town surrounded by galleries, boutiques, cafes, the hotel makes for the perfect place to stay. This magical 4 star hotel is a neo baroque 19th century building elegantly decorated creating a unique ambience, combined with wonderful service ensuring your stay will be full of memories. Indulge in the upmost comfort and historical roots of the hotel where the famous Czech writer Franz Kafka spent 12 years of his life, we will make it to be unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.