We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Christmas stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elysee to your Saves list
Hotel Elysee
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaclavske Namesti 43 | Wenceslas Square 43, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Christmas stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Elysee for a Christmas break and for its type found it excellent. I am sure there are much more plush hotels in Prague with more facilities but this suited us fine. The location on Wenceslas Square is excellent, just a short walk from the shops and Old Town.

The daily beakfast was varied and exactly what we would expect to be served in the Czech Republic. Our room was large and the bathroom was spotlessly clean and we had all we needed.

I had read previous negative comments and I think it's a case of choosing something that ticks your own boxes. Yes, there is no view out of the window, but personally I have never spent any time looking out of hotel windows so this didn't bother me. If it does, choose elsewhere. There are not a lot of extra facilities, but again, even if they are there we never use them so it was no miss. The staff were efficient and helpful on the occasions we had to ask a question.

What we wanted was a nice clean city centre room and that's what we got at a very reasonable price. Bearing in mind what it is and how much it is I can find nothing to moan about.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your review.
We are very glad that you liked your stay at hotel Elysee.
We wish you all the best to the New Year and looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    170
    69
    23
    11
See reviews for
69
142
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wantage, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is right on Wencelas square which is brilliant. However you have to walk through a shopping mall to get to the hotel (which is well sign posted).Then you have to take the lift or stairs to the first floor to the reception. Some people might find this wrong but believe me it is a lovely place to stay.

The hotel reception said the room wouldn't be ready until 2pm, this was at 10.30am and we had caught an early flight so really needed to freshen up and have a rest. The reception staff couldn't have been more apologetic or helpful in letting us keep our luggage in a safe and locked luggage area. However we did have to leave the hotel and come back at 2pm.

There is so much wrong and right about the hotel room that I have decided that I would stay there again, more for the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room. Which brings me to the room, we wanted a double bed which they couldn't accomodate so we had twin beds which we pushed together. Not too much of a hardship. The bathroom was clean and had a bath with a shower attachment which you had to hold to have a shower ( I managed to flood the bathroom and use the towels to mop up my mess!). Bath was lovely and deep so I could submerge myself. One day the water ran cold which wasn't good. Tea and coffee available and a mini bar which we had to pay for. Quite well stocked and a little pricey but it is a hotel afterall.

Breakfast was served on the first floor next to reception. Plenty of choice with cheeses, hams, breads, danishes of sorts, bacon or sausages, beans, cereals,youghurts, fruits. Tea, coffee and various juices. Left feeling very full for the day.

You use your room key to gain entry into the hotel and to use in the lift to get to your rooms, very secure and well thought out.

If you look at the outside of this hotel you may well think not a chance, but remember how many books you might have read that the cover didn't do it justice for or even dvd's you've seen. If you want good friendly receptions staff, nicely decorated rooms and clean then this is the place for you.

I for one would come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure but all rooms have two sets of windows to keep the noise out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, General Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your review which is very valuable to us.
Friendly personell and cleanliness is our priority. We would like to apologize for the temporal shortage of hote water, which was caused by a technical problem.
We wish you all the best best to the New Year. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Convenient central location on Vaclav square which is the border between old town and new Prague. This puts you minutes to both main sights and shopping streets. The square is long, there are metro stations at the top and bottom of it, which makes it easily accessible. On the downside Vaclav square tends to attract groups of teenagers and criminal-looking people at nightfall, which does not make it save to walk alone. Beware of the small shops and especially exchange offices – some of them exchange money at the rate lower than average by 40%. The trick is they put proper exchange rates for big transactions and lower rates for small ones, which is very difficult to read from their tables. You understand this only after completing transaction.
Hotel is situated in the passage opening to the square. Looks like it was built during Soviet era and has been renovated recently. The décor of both public areas and rooms is nice – light parquet floors, cream-colored walls and red and gold draperies in the room. Rooms are spacious, with big windows, which gives a lot of light. On the down side windows open on a backyard of demolished building which is depressing view.
As said, hotel is newly renovated – very clean, bathroom appliances all new and shining. Too bad half of the appliances do not work. I could find only two functioning sockets out of ten in the room, which meant charging all my devices on the floor one by one. There is a boiler, cups and teabags provided, but making tea is problematic as none of the sockets under the table work. Same for the lights – there are several light switches on the wall and by the bed, however they are not connected with the lamps – they need to be switched on/off one by one, from their local switches. TV is very old and not working.
Bathroom is inconvenient as there is only bathtub and no shower. On top the shower lacks pressure (at least on top floors) and there is no hook to put it on the wall when taking a shower. As a result you need to hold shower cap all through your shower while freezing under meager trickle of warm water. Naturally there is no bath curtain, which means a lot of water on the floor.
The room is heated and windows open, so it’s easier to control the temperature in cold season. Heaters were turned off both in the room and bathroom on my arrival – something I do not expect from a 4 star hotel.
Breakfast provides variety and choice: cereals, breads, cheeses, sausage, eggs, some fruit and vegetables. Coffee is from the machine and mediocre, same for artificial juices. Staff is unfriendly and not very efficient at cleaning the tables and replenishing buffet.
The hotel seems to want to make money from even minor things. Internet is free in the lobby, but paid in the rooms. The idea seems to bring you to the lobby to browse and offer refreshments at double prices as anywhere in the town.
All in all it could be quite a comfortable hotel if all appliances were fixed and more thought put to guests’ comfort, like modern shower and free wi-fi. Would not stay here as tourist – there are similar level hotels in the historical part 5 minutes away, which have more atmosphere and are in safer location. For business too many things are not working to provide comfort and needed rest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here for a weekend and found the Hotel ideal. Reception Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good with quite a few choices. All in all a good Hotel and a very good location. Would we stay here again? Yes!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I shared an appartment with a friend, so she took the bedroom and I had the bed-settee in the main sitting/dining room, but we were both very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and were very patient with my limited Czech, which I insisted on practising even though they spoke excellent English. The kitchen was very well-equipped except for not having a cafetiere or coffee pot. I would very happily stay here again; it was excellent value for money and so central, yet quiet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We were waiting for this trip to Prague forever. After a long and exhausting journey from Sydney, we arrived to Hotel Elysee, located right in the city centre (Wenceslas Square). We've booked a triple room, however, when checking-in we were actually given a luxurious apartment instead.
It was a very pleasant surprise considering the three of us would stay for the whole week.
The apartment was spacious and immaculate, featuring elegant decoration. We had a large beautifully furnished living room with a fully equipped kitchen, and a lovely bathroom, including bath and a shower.
All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would totally recommend this hotel, especially to those seeking a top quality for affordable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I had a great stay in this beautiful cute hotel, directly downtown and I had one of the best suites I ever had in all my business career. From a perfect breakfast to very friendly staff and absolutely clean rooms I can recommend a stay to others and I hope you will enjoy your visit to Prague as I did.

Room Tip: Suites are fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ramada Prague City Centre
Ramada Prague City Centre
#250 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Rokoko
EA Hotel Rokoko
#160 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Adria Hotel Prague
Adria Hotel Prague
#280 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#98 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Meran
Hotel Meran
#326 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: Vaclavske Namesti 43 | Wenceslas Square 43, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#155 Family Hotel in Prague
#171 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#214 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elysee Hotel is situated in the heart of Prague – directly on Wenceslas Square. The hotel disposes of 78 elegantly and stylishly furnished rooms including 15 luxurious apartments with parquet flooring and free Wi-Fi Internet connection. Non smoking floor and room for disabled guests are available. The hotel features two lounges with the total capacity of 40 persons and spacious breakfast room which can be used for meetings, presentations, events or conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elysee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.