We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to stay in Prague” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Duo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Duo to your Saves list
Hotel Duo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Teplicka 492, Prague 190 00, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #314 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Hotel to stay in Prague”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The Hotel Duo in Prague was a very good hotel to stay in. Although it is situated just outside the city it has a metro station outside the hotel which runs on time all day and evening. It is very cheap to travel. A ticket can be purchased which lasts for 75 mins and you can travel from the hotel to the centre, and also use the same ticket for the trams. The hotel itself is very comfortable the rooms were spacious and kept cool by the air con. The hotel dining areas were very good and the restaurant was not overpriced. The food was good and you could purchase snacks during the day from the bar if you wished. If you walk to the metro just opposite is a couple of blocks of flats between the flats is a bar very cheap for drinks. A large beer and small beer cost around a £1 much cheaper than the hotel or in town if you just want a drink. Used by the locals but very friendly. I would certainly go to the Duo again and have not hesitation to recommend to my friends.

  • Liked — The location to the city and the cleanliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — I like it all
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    266
    219
    92
    45
See reviews for
98
244
36
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

I have just spent 6 nights at the Duo.

First the good points:
The rooms are clean and quite nicely decorated. It's very close to the Line C underground. That really is about it. I really don't normally do moaning and being a bit trite, but honestly, this hotel and its staff makes you be that way. So,now for the bad points:

They are fitting new windows throughout the hotel, so every morning at between 750 and 8 o'clock you are woken up by huge work-baskets full of workmen clanking very noisily past your window. Honestly the noise is unbelieveable. The rubbish and detritus from this renovation work is scattered all over the hotels beer garden area, rendering this unusable. They are also ripping out and renovating on certain floors, very noisy and dusty.

No apologies for any of this, or any mention of it on the hotel website.

The 'hot' food in the breakfast room is lukewarm. There is actually a reasonable choice of cheeses, but they are presented on a filthy board with just 1 knife. The coffee pots, crockery, and cutlery are dirty. If you go for a late breakfast, the staff just clear all the food away 10 minutes before the advertised breakfast end time. The guy doing the fried eggs had a cold and was constantly blowing his nose and never made any effort to wash his hands. One morning there were fresh peas on the brakfast menu??? and the same guy was merrily shelling peas and eating them, stood behind the hot-plate.

The hotel's seems to charge top dollar for all its services. Internet over 4 pounds an hour, bowling 13 pounds an hour, swimming, very expensive, gym, expensive, etc,etc.

The Duo advertises a laundrette (only has a laundry service), tea and coffee in room (enough for 1 cup each, and not replaced), you have to leave a pledge/deposit at the reception in order to use the mini-bar, which is locked until you do so.

Tissues (not replaced), towels (tiny, and worn). Fruit basket in room, (over-ripe almost to point of being rotten.

When I spoke to anybody about any of these things I was told "that's just the way things are".

The final "straw", when paying for the balance owed for our room (we paid 1 days deposit of 75 euros in euros on the credit card, and were billed on our invoice in euros), but we were actually charged in Czech crowns which was the equivalent of 403 euros, not the 375 euros we owed.

Honestly people - do yourselves a favour - do not give your business to this place, you will truly be sorry. Penny pinching to a fault 2 star place, passing itself off as a 4 star. AVOID

  • Liked — clean room
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

We have just returned having a fantastic week-end break. having previously stayed at the Duo in 2005.

We pre-booked an airport transfer to and from the hotel and the driver was there on time, allow at least an hour to get to and from the airport as traffic is busy.

Prices have risen, as everywhere else, service as most ex eastern european cities varies, but the destination of Prague out-weighs this.

The Hotel Duo was nearing completion of a refurbishment when we returned in the last week of May 2008, the dull dark blue facia panels having been replaced with various shades of red and orange and new modern windows, workers did make a start at around 08:00 but the noisy part seemed done and did not disturb us.

There are 2 blocks that form the hotel "A" & "B" Block, block "A" where we stayed previously was mainly for coach tours, block "B" being for privately booked rooms and were of a higher quality finish - ours fully re-furbished.

Coach parties go to a seperate buffet breakfast room, those who self book go to another, ours was again fully re-furbished. The choice of food was simple but well presented and a good variety of hot and cold - 6 of us were happy with what was available.

Our rooms had "tea and coffee making facilities" - a kettle, 2 milks and as expected 2 tea bags and 2 coffees. The problem being this is a welcome gesture as reception confirmed only for day 1 - a bit pointless as you can not buy replacements other than from the new metro station shop 10 minute walk away.

Apart from that Duo is a good hotel, with comfortable rooms and facilities, lots of lounge seating and a good sized bar.
We found the staff informative and efficient, and did what they did to provide us with what we needed - generaly hotel staff become more ameniable if you don't whinge and moan, we had no problems

Duo is located approximatly 4-5 miles from the city centre, you no longer have to take the courtesy bus or bus to the nearest metro (Ladvi), the new station is 800mts from the reception, all tickets are available from the hotel info desk - its an obvious action but make sure you validate the ticket on first use at the platform barrier, over 3 days we had to show tickets to roaming inspectors 5 times - we saw a couple being escorted out to make an appointment with the police, they take dodging seriously. Six stops in and you are at the top of Wenselas Square, so being on the city outskirts is a balance of cost (hotels cheaper and more space), and time to being in the inner city.

The city sights speak from themselves, eating and drinking is easy, prices vary on location - we only had one problem - service charges.
Some places clearly state that they are not included and give guidance thay 5-10% will be shown on the bill, most actually hand you a typed bill with the service charge hand written on a seperate sheet (it keeps it unofficial), this was fine for the most part as the service was mostly very good and we would tip anyway.
But we have one example where they let us down.

On the Castle side of the river to the left of the Charles Bridge lies the Charles Bridge Hotel and pub bar, it has a garden too.
We went there 3 years ago to eat and drink and wanted to go back there again. This time we had drinks in the garden during the day and it was fine, we returned later and sat inside and we each had 2 drinks (12 drinks), the prices were as stated, but the service charge was £12.00 to deliver 6 beers and 6 G&T's, we challanged the price but they would not back down, some Americans left disgruntled too so our complaint was reasonable. So our feeling was that because prices are still cheaper than UK the service charge in this place was doubled and they thought it would go un-noticed.

Check what will be added to your bill!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, We would not recommend going there, but 1 greedy barman did not spoil our break.

  • Liked — Lots of space
  • Disliked — Tea & Coffee - Hotel policy is they do not replace sachets in rooms - very odd!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Fantastic base to sightsee from as the new tube station had only been open a few weeks prior to our arrival. Buy a 3 day metro ticket they cover trams buses and the metro, these can be bought in the newsagents just inside the metro and make travelling around Prague so easy.
Don't go near taxis especially near any of the busy tourist areas (the Loreta, or the castle) they will try and con you!
The city is just amazing and you will find yourself constantly either gorping or saying oh my gosh look at that or both together constantly the place is that spectacular.
As for the hotel it is what it is and quite honestly it was fine, 4* it's not (3* max) but non the less it was clean safe comfortable and did not cost the earth, the staff were great and we found very polite and friendly, the food was fine a little expensive but ok be warned though they do seem to take in alot of coach partys, but if your like us really the hotel was just a base and the coach partys did not bother us because we spent very little time there to much sightseeing to be done!
We pre-booked transfers from the airport to the hotel and thank goodness we did as our flight out(easyjet) was delayed by almost 3 hours meaning we arrived in Prague airport around 11.30pm. Our taxi driver was there to meet us anyway, job done and cost us £18 one way, that might sound a little steep but we would of had problems at that time of night getting across the city with the luggage and not knowing what the transport would be like it being our first time to Prague we thought the taxi(www.prague-airport-transfers.co.uk) was fantastic.
Definatly recommend going and will go again, all in all just fantastic.
Would i do anything different next time we go, NO, the transfer from the airport was great the hotel was fine the city was amazing, travelling on the metro, trams and buses was fine, just an amazing experience.
GO AND ENJOY

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing of any relevance
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Negative
- The hotel safes are completely insecure. I hired a safe for a very steep price and had to pay the entire amount in advance. I set my code, tested the code and locked the safe. A few days later when I wanted to get something out of the safe, it just would not open. I am completely certain that the code was correct (I had written it down for reference). I told the reception and they sent someone with the master key who opened the safe. Nowhere in the process was my identity checked. It may not even have been my safe!
- Terrible staff: I complained to the receptionist about the safe. He started shouting loudly at me saying "Who changed the code, I did not, you must have". He was shouting so loudly many of the surrounding guests started staring.
- Horrible food, both at the buffet breakfast and the Italian restaurant.

Positive
- The location is very convenient to the Metro, right opposite Strizkov. It is far from the centre, but it takes very little time to reach there on the train.
- The rooms and bathrooms are adequate and functional. They do have individually controlled ACs, but mine did not seem to work.
- The hotel is wheelchair-accessible

Overall, I think the hotel is OK so long as you do not use the safe deposit boxes, avoid all contact with the reception staff and do not eat anything. However, since I expect safety to be the most important attribute of a hotel, I will rank "Hotel Duo" as terrible. I have stayed in many different hotels and have so far never faced any problems with the safe deposit box, not matter what other issues there may have been.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

Great location now that new metro stop right outside hotel.
Great helfpul staff
Fabulous breakfast
Value rooms
Even though from Canada booked through easy jet hotels for a bargain price deal

Overall a great location to visit Prague. Buy 24 hour transit passses and hop on off tram, subway, buses to get your best visit. A wonderful city. Ranks way up their on my 30+ countries visited.

People very helpful - particularly younger ones - we are older retired but they always came forward to help in any way they could

Watch out for pick pockets on subway. They are very active

  • Liked — price and location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

Me and a friend stayed here for three nights - the room was spacious, warm, clean and comfortable. The shower was really good. It was modern and recently refurbished. The buffet breakfast was a little on the stale side. The location wasn't great - they were still building the Metro station for that area, so you either had to get a bus/tram or an expensive scary taxi! One evening we decided to get the tram back from town, and then realised the next bus wasn't for at least another hour - the bus station was deserted and in darkness, we flagged a taxi down and agreed a price - when we got to the Hotel he'd increased the price and we didn't have enough cash on us - he started to argue with us - so we just left him with what we had! It really scared me! If I went back to Prague I would definitely pay more to stay more central. There was internet access but not after 10pm. As you walk into the Hotel it smells of cigarettes as it is a smoking Hotel! the decor has an interesting colour scheme.

  • Liked — The room.
  • Disliked — The Location.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Duo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duo

Address: Teplicka 492, Prague 190 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Prague
#147 Business Hotel in Prague
#192 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duo 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelClick, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Duo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duo Prague
Duo Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Duo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.