We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vALUE FOR MONEY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Botel Albatros

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Botel Albatros to your Saves list
Botel Albatros
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nabrezi Ludvika Svobody, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 662 Hotels in Prague
DAWLISH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“vALUE FOR MONEY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Room small but adequate very clean and comfortable. Great little boat next door for a late night night cap.Location great for sightseeing. Overall excellant value for money would definately return.Prague a fantastic place with many lovely places to eat and drink didnt eat on botel as to much to do in the city. this hotel great to stay on cheap budget more money to spend in prague itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    145
    119
    41
    25
See reviews for
42
176
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked this hotel hoping to have a quiet meal and a few drinks overlooking the river. However when we arrived (having prepaid) the restaurant and bar was closed for a private party. We were never told that this would be the case or we would have changed the booking. At 11.45pm the party was still going strong and we could sing along with all the songs in our room it was that loud. When I went to reception to ask (very politely because I was sooo mad I dared not be anything else) I was told that there was no stopping time because it was a private party. When I started to complain suddenly they could not speak any more English. We left the hotel at midnight to drive to the airport and stay at the Marriott because we were flying home the next day.

Room Tip: The only tip I can give is avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This botel is a perfect location to stay if you're coming to Prague. Though the rooms not big and not exactly up-to-date they are clean and the location is very good. You are within walking distance of all the touristic sites. The breakfast was fine and plenty stocked. The beds were fine and there even was a small tv with some german programms. They also have a shuttle service to the airport so transportation was not a problem.
In short a good stay were you get value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

For the price we paid, I cannot fault Botel Albatros at all. The rooms were comfortable with lots of storage for clothing and personal items. The bathroom and shower area although a bit on the small side was perfectly adequate. The buffet style breakfast was plentiful with as much tea and coffee as you could drink. Our room was pier side as we didn't request a river view, initially we were concerned about traffic noise, but to be fair we didn't really hear any. It also snowed whilst we were there so we had a lovely view from our window of the the pier covered in snow which was really pretty. All in all it was an enjoyable stay and I wouldn't hesitate to book the Botel Albatros again.
PS, I would also add that we found all of the staff both friendly and helpful during our stay

Room Tip: #Winter : Turn the radiators down low during the day and off at dinner time. #Summer : Turn them off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If your looking for luxury then this is not the place for you, however if you are looking for comfortable, clean basic accommodation which is handy for all the sights then book this, OK it could do with a bit of updating and the showers are an experience but overall great value for money. Staff are helpful and friendly good choice of continental breakfast, lovely and warm even though it was -5 outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about spending a week in Prague in February on a boat converted into a hotel (Botel, obviously), especially factoring in the amazingly low price which we paid for 5 days bed and breakfast.

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Albatros, to find that it is fitted out to a very high standard, with a large and welcoming reception area, leading to the rooms which are on two floors, with a smart restaurant/ bar area on the top floor.

The rooms are compact, being adapted cabins, presumably, but are perfectly adequate for two adults. There is plenty of storage space and we found the beds to be comfortable, a nice touch was that every morning when the beds were made (and clean towels supplied) the cleaners folded our towels into either swans or flower shapes, a nice touch. The bathrooms were neatly designed and fitted out, but the showers could be a problem for larger people as they were slightly on the small side and the water temperature varied when the system was being used by several people at once, but this is not unusual in our experience, and this was not really a problem for us.

We had a room facing out over the river which was nice as the other side faces a busy road and could maybe suffer the effects of traffic noise at night, also we were able to feed the swans, ducks and gulls which gathered outside our window in the mornings awaiting food! This is not a feature that you will find in any conventional hotel...

The breakfast as served is a buffet, with the usual cold meats and cheeses, also a lot of fresh fruit and some very nice yoghurt was served, along with toast and jam and endless supplies of coffee. I was a bit surprised that croissants and fresh juice were not offered, but at the price this was really not an issue.

All in all we had a really good stay at the Botel Albatros, and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river will be quieter, and you get to feed the swans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

For £10 a night each including breakfast and 10 minutes from the old town, 15 from the castle and new town, this place is well worth the £10 and generally recommended, budget or not.

Pros-
Cheap
Good breakfast
Location (also from the airport)
Tidy

Cons-
Staff - went out of their way to be unhelpful, refused point blank to give us a map or directions. The receptionist replied, 'not today' when asked for a map, whilst not looking us in the eye and a hand gesture as if to say 'p*ss off'. I must add, however, that this behaviour is not unique to Botel Albatros, it speaks for 90% of Czech's working in customer service. It's as if they are doing us a favour for paying to sit in their restaurants *rant over*
Smell - as you can smoke in the rooms there is a foul smell of rotten fags embedded in the mattress and curtains. Once you're over the initial nausea it's okay (windows were kept open as heating on full blast!)

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Botel Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Albatros

Address: Nabrezi Ludvika Svobody, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Albatros 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Botel Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Albatros Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botel Albatros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.