We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cable Car ride to room.. Enough said :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Prague

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Prague to your Saves list
NH Prague
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mozartova 261/1 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic (Formerly Moevenpick Hotel Prague)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #179 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cable Car ride to room.. Enough said :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I am not kidding about the title. To get to our room (traveled with the wife to Prague) we had to take a rope-way which gave a breathtaking panoramic view of the gorgeous city of Prague. That alone made the stay at Moevenpick a memorable experience. Another brilliant positive was the great breakfast spread with an assortment of meats, juices and breads, all of which tasted exquisite. The room was spacious and comfortable if not extraordinary and the staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The hotel is in a central part of the city with good accessibility by trams, buses and cabs as well as hop on hop off tours. All in all this hotel was a fantastic way to start our trip and I will definitely be looking out for Moevenpick properties wherever possible on our future travels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    354
    139
    37
    22
See reviews for
113
296
55
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice Hotel and good service with a few minors. The beds in the rooms was very bad - tryed 3 different rooms - back pain was the result of those beds. The breakfast was ok, but i can not be, that you have to go to the kitchen for getting fork and knive by your self. We rentet a limusine - 450 cz kroner - but they had not a limosonie at that time so they ordert a normal taxi that cost 180 cz kronor. They did not tell us, and it was very difficult to get the price difference back, in that moment it was about money - then there english changed from good to very bad!!! They want to betrade - so be carfull when You want to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. As our room was at the executive wing, we need to reach by cable car. It was a unique experience. Even if you have missed the only one cable car, it only takes a waiting time of few minutes.

The lady desk staff with a pony tail was very friendly and smily all the time. She made us feel welcomed.

Although the hotel is away from city center, but it was conveniently located near to Andel metro station or tram stop with approximately 10 minutes walk. Along the way, you can find one shopping mall -Novy Smichov, which houses few high street fashion brands boutique, Tesco, cafes and there is a food loft at the upper level.

The hotel breakfast was great with wider selection of food as compared to other european hotels. However, on a windy and rainy day, you could have difficulty getting yourself an indoor table. The service staff did take quite awhile to clean up the tables.

The hotel room was roomy and bright, with free wifi access. However, I have comment on the cleanliness as I found the bed side table and storage rack are quite dusty.

Recommend this hotel if you are looking for a big 4 star hotel with spacious room, essential amenities and yet near to metro & tram station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is one of the best I've stayed at in Europe. It was very grand, clean and tidy, and decorated nicely for Christmas. We had a room on the 8th or 9th floor, which had great views over Prague.

Breakfasts were fantastic, and the staff were super attentive. Had lunch there one day too, and was not disappointed.

Prague itself is a great city, and this hotel is a compliment to the city. Check in was smooth, and the price was good.

Well recommended!

Room Tip: Really good views over Prague from 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

It is a decent hotel.Nothing special but it is clean with spacious rooms and free wifi.The breakfast was good with wide selection of tasty food. The hotel is located close to Andel subway station.I liked the location -it was close to downtowan but in a quiet neighborhood.Overall it was a decent value for a very decent price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My fiance stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and he had a great stay so it was our first choice for our visit In Prague. After comparing the prices of this hotel with other hotels nearer the city centre we found out that Moevenpick was considerably cheaper. We booked 5 nights for a non-smoking standard room (incl. breakfast) with a free upgrade to a superior room upon availability and at the check in the receptionist informed us that they gave us the upgrade. Therefore, we stayed at the executive wing which you have to take the cable car to get there. We only had breakfast at the hotel since the rest of the time we were in town but I have to say that the breakfast buffet was of a 5 star hotel. Since we had breakfast at the executive part of the hotel, I don't know if the same buffet was served at the rest of the hotel. We even had omelettes made by a lady at the garden. Even though at first it seemed great to have the breakfast at the garden, we avoided it due to the bees that were flying around; we had breakfast inside which was also beautiful. The superior room had all the facilities that a 5-star hotel (Moevenpick is 4-star) would have with bath robes, shampoos, free newsparer upon request, coffee maker, free Wi-Fi. The only con we had was the 7 euro evian water but we bought our own water from kiosks. There were also free printing services at the business centre and free computer use with internet access. Metro and tram stops are a 15-min walk from the hotel. The tickets are very cheap and you can take them from the hotel or from the kiosks inside the metro station. The stop for the old town (Mustek) is only 2 metro stops away from Moevenpick (Andell) and we preferred it than the tram because it was much faster. Do have a drink at the Tower Lounge at the fourth floor of the executive building (you can have it even if you stay at the non-executive building), the view of Prague is exquisite especially at night time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights recently. We wanted to be in the Executive block up the hill and were not disappointed. It is certainly a novelty to ride up and down to the hotel building in a funicular railway (cable car on a rail).
Checking in and out was smooth with all the staff pleasant and helpful. Reception also sells one day transport tickets (110 C) which we took advantage of. They don’t sell the 3 day pass, but buying a one day pass for 3 days only cost us a little more. Worth it for the convenience.
The room was fine and very quiet being up the hill. We didn’t hear a car up there all week. Unluckily for us the tennis club opposite was having a party with a band and loud music which went on late one night but I’m sure that this is not a common occurrence. Probably their yearly party!
We didn’t eat in the restaurant as we found cheaper good places near Andel metro station, about 10 minutes’ walk away. One is a good Pizza place, opposite the metro, another a Mexican a little past the metro on the same side of the road. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, plenty of hot and cold options. The crispy bacon and freshly cooked scrambled eggs were my favourite. There is also a place to get omelettes made up which we didn’t use.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone on a break to Prague. It is so easy and cheap to get around by tram/metro/bus and we got all the way back to the airport on our day pass (metro and bus). I’m not sure where else you could achieve this!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Prague

Address: Mozartova 261/1 | Smichov, Prague 15000, Czech Republic (Formerly Moevenpick Hotel Prague)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Prague
#116 Family Hotel in Prague
#132 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#144 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Prague 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Prague hotel offers you modern and tastefully-designed accommodations in the heart of Prague, with 439 comfortable and spacious Superior and Executive rooms, including 28 Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Moevenpick Hotel
Movenpick Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Prague, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.