We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Salvator

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Salvator to your Saves list
Hotel Salvator
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Truhlarska 10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was a guest there from 13th Jan - 18th January 2013. This place is amazing. Its situated in the old town, just a few minutes walk from the old town square, around the corner from a metro station and the city's largest shopping center (if you're into malls and stuff). Its not so much the hotel itself that has me excited, its the combination of the hotel, its restaurant, its jazz bar and its recreation room. The rooms are large and warm, the beds are so comfortable and the duvets so warm and heavy in the morning, that i had trouble getting out of bed. My suggestion is get the inclusive breakfast!! The breakfast buffet is fantastic... includes freshly baked mini croissants, cakes, different types of bread rolls, pancakes, eggs, ham, bacon (real bacon) smoked cheese, salads, fruit, cereals, etc. The hotels restaurant is a very special place. They put a lot of work in the design of the place and in the creation of the menu. Not so much Czech cuisine, but Spanish with elements of other countries. The food is just orgasmically tasty, we spent almost every night there in a fit to try everything on the menu. I highly recommend anything from their grilled menu (yes i had it all).
There is a jazz bar in the cellar of the hotel, its cool, not my thing but it has a nice ambience and its relaxing. The staff is friendly and they all speak fluent English.
The only thing i would mention as a downer is the slow and sometimes low signal on the internet in the rooms. Besides that, its brilliant!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSalvator, Director of Sales at Hotel Salvator, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your kind review providing a wide description of our hotel. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us in every aspect. We will be pleased if you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Stana Dobra
sales manager
Hotel Salvator*** and Salvator Superior Apartments****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    236
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
154
192
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I reviewed the hotel beforehand and the amenities, however, when we got there they moved us to another building two blocks away, which had no WiFi. Having to walk two block in the morning to read e-mails or have breakfast is not what I signed up for. The new building is on a busy noisy street too. I cannot recommend this hotel. Very poor and I am a very dissatisfied customer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSalvator, General Manager at Hotel Salvator, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest ,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding our hotel.
Always it is easier respond to a positive review than to negative. First of all I would like to apologize for inconvenience caused by moving your reservation to our new property Salvator Superior Apartments **** two blocks away from Hotel Salvator.
20th of December we opened our new property after 3 years massive reconstruction. Often putting to operation new hotel brings things for the improvement,especially services and organization.
Misleading presentation at internet portals to sell the rooms for the end of the year and lack of Wi-Fi due to delay of our intenet provider was painfull for our clients and for us also.
All that has been changed now. Salvator Superior Apartments **** has own presentation at all major accommodation portals,Wi-Fi well cover whole place and is free of charge for our guests. No doubts brand new apartments designed with wooden floors,italian furniture,quality beds,ultramodern bathrooms features upgrade of former standard of accommodation. Together with unbeatable central location it is essential for having a pleasant stay in Prague.
I have to agree we should organize things different way to avoid this situation. Please accept my apologies. I do hope that you you’ll be coming to Prague soon . Don’t hesitate contact me directly to recieve offer for one night stay free of charge in our hotels as a compensation.
Kind regards from Prague,
Dominik Gerza
general manager
Hotel Salvator *** and Salvator Superior Apartments ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel really is a hidden gem. I've stayed here several times and the location is excellent - so close to the Metro and trams, making the entire city easily accessible. The entire hotel has character and the rooms are clean and spacious. There is plenty of choice at breakfast, though the more western style food can be a bit ropey. European food, however, is very good quality. The big secret is the main restaurant, La Boca. It has incredible character, and the food is absolutely delicious, and extremely reasonably priced. If you don't dine here, you will certainly miss out.

I would have given a five star rating without doubt, and the one star lost was only last because of errors and bad customer service. Having stayed at the hotel previously, I contacted them directly to agree a favourable rate. They are certainly willing to negotiate. I booked a double room for one person, breakfast, and return transfer from the airport. The agreed was actually excellent. On arrival however the driver didn't turn up, and when I called the hotel they did say he was on his way, but arrived 30 minutes late. Whilst at the hotel I overheard an incoming call from another guest having a similar problem. At check-in I was told that breakfast wasn't included, and when I stood my ground and produced emails, they sheepishly agreed, stating that there policy had changed from 1 January. When I confirmed my return transfer, I received a call later in the day advising me that I was only entitled to a transfer in and not back out. This was ludicrous, however they would not back down. In the end they gave me the return shuttle at half price. Whilst these niggles were very disappointing, I would still use this hotel again, but would suggest that anyone negotiating gets it in writing absolutely to the letter.

Room Tip: Only certain rooms have a bathtub, so if you want this please be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSalvator, General Manager at Hotel Salvator, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest ,
thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. It‘s great to have customers which appreciate our job. It was hard work to built up restaurant La Boca on the ground floor of the hotel and I’m very glad you mentioned the restaurant in your review.
It’s neverending work to keep good level of the services offered by restaurant and hotel.
As written in the book of Murphy’s Law – When the things are going well,certainly you overlooked something.
I´m very sorry for the confusion regarding free transfer. Special offer includes only one free transfer and special package ( available from 2 people ) includes two free transfers.
December 2012 we opened new property Salvator Superior Apartments****, we created new web pages with special offers and special packages to attract tourist coming to Prague.
The Free Transfer Offer brings many clients to our pages and we don‘t want to disappoint them. I hope you’ll be back in Prague soon and I can guarantee again one free transfer for your stay.
Kind regards
Dominik Gerza,
general manager
Hotel Salvator *** and Salvator Superior Apartments****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had the pleasure of being a guest here December 14-17, 2012. The hotel has character & is within great or at least decent walking distance of all the city highlights (the metro is also very close). We had a standard room & it was very warm & large, with lots of natural light. The cleaning staff was very efficient & the rest of the hotel staff courteous. Good breakfast in the lovely restaurant. A nice atmosphere all around & well worth the cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSalvator, Director of Sales at Hotel Salvator, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear RebyB,
I would like to thank you for such a nice review ! It is very important for us to know our guests are feeling nice atmosphere all around.
Hope you will visit us again.
Have a nice day.
Sincerely yours,
Stana Dobra
sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My 2 brothers and I stayed here for a couple of nights in November, we stayed in a quad room which was larger than we were expecting based on some other accommodations during our trip. Price was very reasonable, location was an easy walking distance to attractions, free wifi, breakfast was included and we ate in the restaurant one night which was also very nice. Staff were very helpful and they also have a tourist office located on site.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights just before Christmas, the hotel is cosy, quirky and its location cannot be faulted. Our room was perfect, the bed was amazingly comfortable, bathroom of good standard. Breakfast was lovely, we loved the cosy feel of the restaurant in which we ate one evening also, the food was fantastic, and the portions are huge! If you like a non corporate feel to a hotel then this is for you, it is utterly charming. We will be returning and have recommended to our friends and family too. Wonderful :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It was bitterly cold when we visited in Febuary 2012 Minus 10 degrees but the hotel & bedroom were always warm .The decor was a bit dull & depressing in the bedroom but perhaps the normal for Prague? I don't know. Breakfast was good & also based at the hotel was atourist information office which was great for booking tours etc.Prague is the most beautiful city & this hotel ideally situated near the city centre & many places within walking distance . Unfortunately the builders were in when we were there soit was very noisy day times not doubt this is all finished now .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Atlantic
Atlantic
#235 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#99 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#159 of 662 in Prague
4.0 of 5 stars 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Dar
Hotel Dar
#199 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Grand Majestic Plaza
Grand Majestic Plaza
#92 of 662 in Prague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salvator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salvator

Address: Truhlarska 10, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Prague
#121 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salvator 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Salvator belongs amongst Prague’s Listed Historical Buildings. Therefore it represents true Prague Town life with all the historical elements.The Czech architects have kept the character of the Old Town building by setting the rooms around the inner garden courtyard with labyrinthine restaurant extending along the ground floor and Gothic cellars.Direct access on foot to all the major parts of magic Prague together with the quality services offered by the hotel create an easygoing stay for both business and leisure travellers.Hotel Salvator is located directly in the historical city centre in quiet Truhlarska Street, which leads to Namesti Republiky (Republic Square). There are important historical monuments at Namesti Republiky; the Powder Tower (Medieval Gates to Prague’s Old Town) and the Municipal House (Art Nouveau Gallery House) from the balcony of which the independence of Czechoslovakia was announced in October of 1918.With the new spirit of the developers of the 21st century Prague’s biggest shopping mall “Palladium” opened in the neighbourhood of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Budget Places and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Salvator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvator Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Salvator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.