We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad old hotel......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Evropa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prague
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Evropa
Save
You added Hotel Evropa to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vaclavske namesti, 25, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Nove Mesto (New Town))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #496 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sad old hotel......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Evropa was once a glorious Art Nouveau hotel. When we checked in for one night, 24/9, the girl informed us that it was closing on Monday. I hope someone will renovate it to it's former glory. Pretty shabby, small room, no TV, but a decent breakfast included. Great location, walking distance to just about everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    23
    21
    34
See reviews for
11
27
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zlin, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were supposed to organise a theme event for our client in this hotel. We have chosen this location mainly because of the Art Nouveau style of this place. The initial dealing with Mrs Volejníkova was great (well, when she was there..that means like 2 days a week - maybe). No problems at all, plenty of promises (like I'll send you a detailed catering offer till Friday and so on) and for the center of Prague they had an extremely good prices. However at the end we have found out that this lady is not supposed to quote any information she gave us at all.

The responsible person (I'm sorry I didn't get the name) was extremely rude. He wasn't willing to answer event the simpliest question. Moreover, when I was trying to sort out the accommodation for some of our customers with him, he quoted me prices twice as high as they usually have. I have found out later (from some other hotel) that this is because of some big conference that is coming to Prague in September. He somehow forgot the mention the reason why he put prices so high (event though we have agreed with Mrs Volejníková on sth else before). He even refused to send me some pictures of the current conditions of the equipment and as I said before, I have never met a person or a "business man" who would be so rude. Hence, we have decided to cancel our cooperation and we are never gonna organise there anything else. I would suggest to everyone who intend to organise there something to run away as quickly as they can.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After staying in this hotel for two nights, I would like to write a review to let others know about the hotel conditions and then decide to go to this hotel or not!
Firstly, let's talk about the room: Our room was on the third floor. It's bath was not clean at all (I don't mean that they hadn't cleaned it. No! I think it was not possible to clean it at all. There was dirt of many years there! It was obvious that the bath, tube and everything there was very old and never had been changed.). It was awful. Also, there was no air conditioning system in the room. We were there in June which was really hot and without a cooling system, it was not tolerable.
In addition, there was no internet and TV in the room. So, we didn't know what to do when we were at the hotel!
The place: The place of the building is very good and close to everything, especially shopping centers.
The people: The receptionist and staff there, were not friendly, but not too bad. They didn't smile at all! That was strange to me to see a receptionist without any sort of kindness in his/her face.
The breakfast: The breakfast was good.
Generally, I don't recommend this hotel at all. I think you can find better hotels in the same area, at least cleaner ones!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although quite cheap and very well located, this hotel was one of the worst I have visited. The hotel and the rooms seemed very old and very badly renovated. The bathroom didn't have any floor drains, but still the water kept disappearing somewhere. Also the beds were too small for my 195cm tall dad. The staff was ok but not particularly friendly. The breakfast was ok as well, but the breakfast room would also need some quick update.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you want a reasonably comfortable hotel in Prague, stay away from this place. From the outside and from the public interior spaces, the hotel shows a wonderfully preserved early 20th century face, but the rooms are terrible, or at least ours was. We booked a stay of 8 nights but were forced to find another hotel after the first night. There was no hot water in the bathroom, the lamps did not work, the bathroom lighting was poor, the tub was cracked and stained, the wifi did not work as advertised on the ground and first floors (forget about the rooms), there was no TV, and worst of all there was no light after sunset in the hallway on our (4th) floor. At night a flashlight would have been the best way to find our room but for 2000 Czech crowns a night ($100), we didn't think we should have to purchase one. When we pointed this out as a safety issue to the reception, there was indifference at best. To be fair, the breakfast was pretty good, but that is hardly a good enough reason to put up with staying in a hotel that the owners have allowed to go to seed. Very disappointing, to say the least, but the trip was salvaged when we did find a much better hotel right across the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent 4 days and 3 nights in the Hotel with 22 teenagers, we were happy with the hotel. During our stay we had difficulties with one of our students. She encountered some medical problems and had to go to the Hospital late at night. The receptionist staff was really helpful, they have helped dealing with the hospital, doctors and ambulance. We would like to specially thank Jane, the young blond girl at the reception. She was really a great support and help. Thank you!

The hotel, itself was nice, located at very central spot in Prague and the main areas are in nice shape and very beautiful, but the rooms and bathrooms couldn't meet the standarts of the main areas. The breakfast was very basic, though we don`t know about the other meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great hotel. My wife broke her wrist late at night and the night porter was fantastic in getting us to hospital. Faded grandeur is what people say and that's what gives it it's charm. Beautiful public rooms, Art Nouveau every where even two sphinx in the bar. Ok the bathrooms leave at bit to be desired. More 1970's than 1900's but everything clean and functional. Do ask for rooms with bathrooms there are some rooms that don't have them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front 105 has outside balcony. 203 a big bay window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Evropa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evropa

Address: Vaclavske namesti, 25, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Evropa 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Evropa Hotel Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Evropa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.