We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as I was led to believe!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OREA Hotel Pyramida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added OREA Hotel Pyramida to your Saves list
OREA Hotel Pyramida
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belohorska 24, Prague 169 01, Czech Republic (Praha 6)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #383 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not as bad as I was led to believe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here I was rather anxious about how bad this hotel was going to be. I am guessing most of the reviewers stayed here because they got a good deal, just like we did. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this place - you simply get what you pay for! Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was more than adequate, it sells tram tickets right outside the front door, the tram stop is a 30 second walk away and a bottle of wine in the hotel bar is approx £10. Job done.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdenek_Hlinsky_GM, General Manager at OREA Hotel Pyramida, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comments on your experience at OREA Hotel Pyramida Prague Castle. We value your opinion which helps us to identify areas for improvements as well as guiding us in improving our service.

Many thanks and best regards.

Zdeněk Hlinský
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    154
    102
    52
    43
See reviews for
53
130
22
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Really nice stay although had noisy neighbours. Hotel staff was helpful with directions. Only thing is pool is expensive and only allowed to use for an hour it is just a basic pool not that big. And room for a 4 star hotel the room was out dated needs a lick of paint other then that good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdenek_Hlinsky_GM, General Manager at OREA Hotel Pyramida, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We very happy that you enjoyed your stay at OREA Hotel Pyramida Prague Castle.

Fee for entrance to the pool is 4 eur. Unfortunately as the pool not belongs to the hotel we are not able to provide free entrance to all guests. Guests with reserved higher category Superior of Business has this included in the room price, also with Free Wi-Fi. We recommend enjoying these categories. These are also newly reconstructed and renovated.

Many thanks and best regards.

Zdeněk Hlinský
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I agree with the following review by member "mrirotator". "From the outside it makes you wonder what you have booked and when you get in you can really feel the "good" old days. The place looks very out dated, not up to today's standards. The rooms are ok but the beds were like sleeping on a rock. The bathroom had a terrible odor, like you were next to a sewage! The rooms could have been a little cleaner also. Breakfast had a lot of options, but the quality of the food was mediocre. I would advise you to pick something else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdenek_Hlinsky_GM, General Manager at OREA Hotel Pyramida, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the feedback on your stay in our Hotel. We very appreciate your comments to an accommodation in OREA Hotel Pyramida Prague Castle. We would like to apology that the accommodation not met your expectations. Your opinion is very helpful and valuable for us to identify areas for improvements in our services.

am more than willing to involve myself fully in understanding your comments. If you have any questions or suggestions for improvement of our services please don´t hesitate to contact me directly on my e-mail zdenek.hlinsky@hotelpyramida.cz or phone number +420 233 102 370. We understand how precious your time is and we thank you in advance for your considerations.

Would be great to have an opportunity to invite you for a cup of coffee with your next visit of Prague and personally discuss all the initiatives.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Your sincerely,

Zdenek Hlinský
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Want to feel like the old times again? This is the hotel for you. From the outside it makes you wonder what you have booked and when you get in you can really feel the "good" old days. The place looks like an old Soviet time top hotel, not up to todays standards. Greeting the staff made me feel like I was talking to zombies, no friendliness what so ever. The rooms itself were ok but the beds were like sleeping on a rock. The rooms could have been a little cleaner also. Breakfast had a lot of options, but the quality of the food was not up to the normal Checz standards. Wifi charged 16€/24h! The restaurant and bar downstairs looked ok, but I didn't have a chance to visit them. I read through the other reviews and I think many people are correct. There are so many great hotels in the area that I would advise you to pick something else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdenek_Hlinsky_GM, General Manager at OREA Hotel Pyramida, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comments on your experience at OREA Hotel Pyramida Prague Castle.

We value your opinion which helps us to identify areas for improvements as well as guiding us in improving our service. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our wide breakfast choice. We are soory that You feel uncomfortable in your room. We would like to suggest reserve one of our newly reconstructed Business rooms. There are new beds with 25 cm high matracess. Guests are really commends them. As one of room amenities in this category guests has free wifi in the room. So you do not have to pay for internet as in standart category.

Many thanks and best regards.

Zdeněk Hlinský
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I did read reviews before travelling to this hotel , and being in the travel industry I know not to beleive everything so thought I would give teh hotel a chance .. wish I never
I travelled to this hotel for 4 night with my partner and mum + stepdad .
upon arriving the hotel seemed very nice , rooms are very small badly needing decorated .
shower is a hazard ... the shower is over the bath and sides of the bath are very high which make this very difficult to go in and out shower .
breakfast was not bad ...didnt have much choice unless you wanted cake for breakfast .
service in this hotel was horrible, everyone was very rude , not helpful .
I would never recommened this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdenek_Hlinsky_GM, General Manager at OREA Hotel Pyramida, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comments on your experience at OREA Hotel Pyramida Prague Castle.

We would like You assure that we are still working on trainings for improving staff behaviour as our priority.

Many thanks and best regards.

Zdeněk Hlinský
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have now travelled around the globe this last year and this is by far the worst service I have ever experienced. The rooms are nice enough and the breakfast buffet is fine, but ABSOLUTELY NO ONE at the front desk wants you to be in their hotel.

To begin, they absolutely gouge you for internet-16 euros for 24 hours. I'm all for making a little profit, but when the Mountain Hostel in Gimmelwald can charge 5 euros for 5 days, this makes me feel ripped off. It's 2012, surely we internet is no longer a luxury item.

More importantly though is the caustic disdain the front desk staff have for you. At every request for our group (and we have brought over 100 people to this hotel each summer for years) their response was "It's not my part of the hotel." "May we have the air conditioning turned on in the conference room that is costing us 240 euros?"-"It's not my part of the hotel". "May we have some water for the conference room we payed 240 Euros for?"- "Ask the waiter. It's not my part of the hotel"

Absolutely brutal service. Go find a smaller, family run hotel and experience the pleasant side of Prague, because you won't find it here.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdenek_Hlinsky_GM, General Manager at OREA Hotel Pyramida, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We very much appreciate your comments on your experience at OREA Hotel Pyramida Prague Castle.

We would like to apology that the You was not satisfied with behaviour of our staff. We would like You assure that we are still working on trainings for improving staff behaviour as our priority.

For avoiding charging internet costs we would suggest to reserve Business or Superior room category where is internet for free.

Many thanks and best regards.

Zdeněk Hlinský
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We used a Grupon voucher to stay in this hotel and were really pleased.
Our room (superior) was exactly the same as you see presented as the main picture. Very clean, very cozy. Furniture not shinning new - only new ;-) There's a water cooker and a selection of coffee and tea which is topped up daily.
Bathroom was clean, averange in size.
Staff in friendly, helpfull and speaks fluent English, German and Russian.
Breakfeast are served from 06:30 to 10:00 in buffet form. Food (good quality) selection is not the biggest, but not small also - two soups, six kinds of bread, scrambled eggs, beacon, two kind of sausages, cereal and more. Buffet was about 6 meters long. Coffee is not bad, but there is the room for improvement.
We had free Wi-Fi access which speed was not astonising, but enough to check e-mail, maps, city info and so on.

Location is very good, 10 - 15 minutes walk and you are standing at the Prague castle gate.
I recommend to discover Malá Strana - area beetwen the hotel and the castle. Many great places to visit and not so crowded as the Old Town.

Overall - you will have a good time staying there.

Room Tip: Rooms in hotel front overlook busy, noisy street. Check your A/C and report to reception if not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zdenek_Hlinsky_GM, General Manager at OREA Hotel Pyramida, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We very happy that you enjoyed your stay at OREA Hotel Pyramida Prague Castle especially breakfast which is improved to meet all guest needs.

Many thanks and best regards.

Zdeněk Hlinský
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to OREA Hotel Pyramida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OREA Hotel Pyramida

Address: Belohorska 24, Prague 169 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 6
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 661 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — OREA Hotel Pyramida 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OREA Hotel Pyramida ****, member of the Czech largest hotel chain OREA HOTELS, welcomes you to Prague.All our employees are prepared to do their best for the most successful outcome of your conference, business meeting, teambuilding or social event and also for your peaceful and pleasant stay in Prague.Your satisfaction is our priority. OREA Hotel Pyramida is simply the best choice for your accommodation in Prague.Superb location in a walking distance to Prague Castle (15 minutes) The hotel is quite close to the town and that is very easy to join the Prague Castle, and the Old town and New town just with few stops of a tram 22Easy access from Ruzyně International AirportConference spaces for up to 1100 people Indoor swimming pool, fitness, sauna and solarium Beauty services Parking lotWi-Fi Internet access Restaurant Koppernik ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your OREA Hotel Pyramida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OREA Hotel Pyramida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.