We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star hotel at it best.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Praga 1

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Praga 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Praga 1
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zitna 5 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic (Praha 2)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 662 Hotels in Prague
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 star hotel at it best.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The hotel failed in nearly every possible way. Room we had was quite big but dated and needed redecoration, it had a big hole in the bedroom's wall and loads of stains on all the others. The toilet seat was broken and shower cabin dirty.In the middle of the night I was waken up by traffic noise as there is a busy junction outside. In the morning we quite enjoyed our breakfast although I missed my beacon. We only stayed there for one night otherwise all the city break in Prague would be ruined for us. Overall I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone this is 2 star place and a very poor value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear traveler,
thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion with us.
This is important for us to improve our services.
We are sorry you did not contact any of our professional employees
regarding your complains during your stay.
We are always able to help changing the room as we have diferent room types
and our company has 4 hotels in the city center of Prague.
We are happy you have enjoyed the location of our hotel.
Wish you all the best.
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    170
    62
    15
    4
See reviews for
59
169
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beersheba, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband went there earlier this month, and it was very good. We couldn't ask for a better location. The trams and subways are in a very short walking distance, and we practecly walked to the main attraction since they were very close. The room was very big, and thanks to the double windows you couldn't hear anything outside.the breakfast is very simple but nice. I would reccomand it to my friends, and probably go back there next time I'm in Prague.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Traveler,
We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our services.
It is very important for us to hear that you have been satisfied with us
and our perfect location.
Hope to see you next time in Your Prague Hotels.
With kind regards,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel Praga1 is located in the new town, a decent walk from the major attractions like the astronomical clock and the St Charles bridge, but still walkable.

The view from the balcony in our 4th floor room was great, you could see out over the city to the castle.

The highlight of this hotel was the amount of space in the room - it was excellent! Plenty of room for belongings without cutting down useful space for sitting etc - bit something that is guaranteed in a European hotel!

I also felt like the hotel was very good value - at 80GBP/night I felt like we were well taken care of.

There were only two minor downsides, one was the shower, which oscillated between hot and cold, mashing it hard to enjoy, and the breakfast, which was free, but nothing to write home about.

Overall, however, a great place to stay in a great city at a fair price - recommend if you are looking to visit Prague.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying at the hotel Praga 1 during your visit of Prague and posting a positive review.
Looking forward to welcome you back in the future and sending you my best regards.
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We got to Prague in the evening. On the site there was mention of free shuttle so we trodded along and waiting. There was no sign to say that the vehicle was for that hotel. So one has to be alert. The driver just called out. Once we got near it there was too many travellers waiting as the shuttle catered for four hotels. The driver made a call and told us and a few other travellers to wait and transport will arrive in 20 minutes. We waited an hour and was about to give up when a man came from inside the airport and said transport is coming, which gave us hope and the same driver picked us up - Typical. Once at the hotel we checked in and went to our room. It was spacious and clean. The wifi was working (ask for the code) as I am a tea drinker I realised there was no if for the kettle so I had to move it about to boil water and keep an eye on the kettle as it would boil and not stop (a hazard) other than this there was a safe and tv. Shower was small but powerful. As it is on the main road if you open the windows one can hear the hustle and bustle. The air con was working too so overall we were happy. The best thing was it was central to everything. We didn't buy a Prague card we could walk to see sites. We did do the hop on hop off which is definately worth it. The Jewish quarters tour was intriguing. The castle was not all that so we didn't go inside. We had three days and felt that was more than enough to see everything. Side streets are much cheaper thn the main shops. Especially the stalls. Also beer is cheaper than water :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Praga 1...Staff were very helpful and very friendly..Only a short walk from all the sights..The castle is a fair walk and not for the faint hearted..But well worth it...All in all i would recommend Hotel praga 1.. :-))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience of your recent stay at the hotel Praga 1.
I was pleased reading, that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you in our hotel in the future.
With best regards
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

traveled here over new years 2012. hotel was adequate but nothing spectacular. overall i'd say it was a good value if nothing else because of its proximity to wenceslaus square and other sites. biggest complaint was bed was hard as a rock

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We deliberated long and hard over our Prague accommodation before finally selecting Praga 1. We were incredibly happy with the choice. The rooms were of a good size with a good bed. The breakfast was also a great way to start the day. In terms of location we really liked where it was situated. It was a comfortable 20min walk to the Old Town. In many ways this was a benefit as a lot of the restaurants in proximity to the hotel were of better value and were attended by locals (unlike the over-priced touristy places near the square). There is also a train station and tram stop within 300m of the hotel. Part of the deal is you can also get a complimentary bus from the airport top your hotel (not the return however). The staff were really quite helpful and my only negative was the fact that the shower was too small. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Praga 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1

Address: Zitna 5 | Praha 1, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Praga 1The Hotel & Residence PRAGA 1 is situated in the centre of Prague at 5 Zitna Street.There is an underground and tram station nearby (approx. 100 m) named ″Karlovo náměstí″, from where you can get anywhere you need to go. The famous Wenceslas square is only 5 minutes' walk from our residence. We look forward to your visit and we wish you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Praga 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga 1 Hotel
Praga 1 Prague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Praga 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.